Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brief stop

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Food
The room itself was decent but the pool was absolutely gross, I guess because it's low season but it was dirty...food was so gross and the wifi or tv did not work and this was something that was advertised so that was disappointing. Heading back to Liberia to catch a flight and thought we would rebook but we definitely won't be coming back. I have to say the driver that picked us up at the airport was fantastic and efficient but was the only positive thing I can say of this experience.
3 out of 5
by GW from vancouver bc

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
Moved hotels as the fridge was very loud and they could not move us rooms. The hotel was not very well maintained. The outdoor patio door was broken and wouldn't slide, the patio chairs also ripped ! While sitting on them. Staff was very attentive and breakfast was good.Highlight of the stay was at least 25 Howler monkies just outside our Balcony.
5 out of 5
by terry & BJ from calif.

great quiet hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels
this place is the best oasis in the panama to coco beach area. very quiet,great views, a practicaly private beach,good food ,great staff. they helped us with a lot of small and large issues,info,massuesse etc..,shopping and dining tips,driving, snorkling and local tips about everything.great prices..this place is the best sanctuary in this area..terry and bj owe this staff a lot of heartful thanks..,will stay again
4 out of 5
by Albert Gardner from Adams, MA

Value for the price but accomidations need help.

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels
I knew booking this hotel it was out of the way which is what my friend and I wanted. The front desk staff was average, nothing special. The food was excellent as was the wait staff and the cook. Great price and great quality. The facility itself, including the rooms need updating. The mattress on the pullout couch was not useable, the sheets were torn. The pool was o.k, small but acceptable. The beach on the hotel property is only useful as a place to read, not swim. There is a nicer beach within walking distance a few feet away. Cab fare to Coco Beach, teh closest town, is $15 to $20 each way. Would I stay again, yes If I needed to be away from civilization. pure rest and relaxation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karen from Kelowna, BC

Feel the Real Costa Rica

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The eagerness of staff.
Cons: Room decor is sparse.
We felt like we were true guests experiencing Costa Rican hospitality. Staff went out of their way to respond to our wishes and make us feel comfortable. We chose the hotel for its proximity to the airport and it was an excellent conclusion to our vacation. Accommodations in the hotel are up hill from the restaurant, lounge and beach which was unexpected and disappointing for us, but the friendliness and eagerness of staff to enhance our stay gave us a great experience.
3 out of 5
by PmcT from Atlanta

A bit disappointed. Needs some TLC

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels
This property needs some work. In its day this place was probably gorgeous. It needs TLC. Seems like the owners are just trying to get by with out an investment to bring it up to par. Cleaning and some basic things lime clean towels would be great. Staff is great though.
3 out of 5
by Doug from NZ

Vista Bahia

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels
There were positives and negatives about out stay at Vista Bahia. Negatives were, 1) Exterior of units needed maintenance,2) Limited cutlery / crockery etc. 3) No dish wash liquid / tea towels / cleaning equipment 4) Bath / shower difficult to access 5) Bar had beer and very little else, 6) Web site shows a full menu but there were limited choices, 7) No laundry 8) Deck chairs around pool were broken which was very annoying, 9) a $16 taxi ride to Playa Coco and back to get supplies from Supermarket. Positives were 1) friendly staff, 2) the food we were served was very nice 3) the units were clean and comfortable, 4) The iguanas etc and birdlife around the units were excellent, 5) The pool was clean and nice, 6) the small beach was excellent, 7) we had hot water. In summary we had a very nice stay at Vista Bahia but there were things that disappointed. Would we stay again - No we would try elsehere. With a bit of care and attention this could be a lovely place to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good place to stay.

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Our room it was large and comfortable. The view was excellent, we could see the bay and beach. We liked the food.
Cons: Problems: One, there was never enough towels and no face cloths. Two, the condition of the lounges at the pool, they need to be replaced.
Location: This resort is remote unless you have a vehicle. Taxis are too expensive to take frequent trips. Otherwise, we liked being away from busy areas.
We stayed for 7 nights and enjoyed our stay in this quiet place. We are a couple in our sixties, we are both still in good shape so we were able to walk the hills around the resort. Each day we walked on the beach and around the surrounding area. We swam in the ocean and cooled off in the pool. The staff were friendly and polite; they tried to help us with whatever we needed. From our deck we had a view of the bay and beach. We were high enough to see into the tree tops. We saw lots of birds and iguanas. One night just before dark we observed some howler monkeys eating and then settling down for the night. On one of our walks we saw a tree full of howler monkeys. As we stood watching them we realized they were watching us but they didn't come down to us. For those looking for a quiet place to unwind and who don't need a fancy hotel this is an excellent place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by george from Long Island, NY

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The setting is really beautiful, the restaurant was very good, rooms were great.
Cons: The pool was cloudy, not so clean, I think maybe the equiptment was not working very well.
Location: It's a perfect location for a last day in Costa Rica before flying home.