Ratings based on 3,666 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great food. On the beach. Fun entertainment

Posted Jan 24, 2018
Pros: Convenience of restaurants and services
Great food. On the beach. Employees were very helpful. Always pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

It's Just Average

Posted Jan 24, 2018
Pros: The décor is nice. It is beachfront.
Cons: Dining model - I am not waiting in line for dinner. Take reservations. Staff Service Training - I can't stress this enough.
Location: The Atlantis is next door so you can go to the casino, shops, etc.
We had a four-night stay for a girlfriend trip Jan. 19-24. Here are the highlights: 1. Check-in/Lobby - everyone is right, it smells bad/weird in the lobby. The check in was quick, but there are a ton of rules and instructions you get right off the bat and that information is not available in writing in your room. 2. Room - Spacious enough. VERY limited mini-bar - just some beer and a few soft drinks, water and club soda. No juice or other mixers. The shower, however, is awesome! 3. Dining - it's average for a buffet but many items are picked over or serving platters are left empty. The specialty dining options are a just above average, but be aware that the seating is first-come, first-served. This means that you have to stand in line an hour before the seating time and if the room fills up, you don't eat. It's the strangest dining model I've ever seen. It's the biggest reason I would NOT recommend the hotel or the chain. 4. Drinks - the drinks are very watered down and you have to practically beg a serve to help you get one. 5. Staff - our experience with them was very disappointing. While not mean, the staff are not friendly. Rarely did anyone smile or offer to help us. If you ask for assistance, you'll get it but not with a cheerful face. 6. Overall - we had a great trip because we enjoyed just hanging out, not because of the experience the hotel offers. But if you are looking for service and quality, this is not your place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful bluest water and right on beach

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Very nice (affordable compared to Atlantis next door) resort with a great beach. Very nice dining areas with good food, different every day. Would return soon, best resort and beach in our 10 yr travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

GREAT hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2018
We absolutely loved this hotel. Every single staff member was so nice, polite and happy. There is not one bad egg in the bunch. The food was good (breakfast was our favorite). The beach was a little rough but we were told that its from the weather and the wind, but we still enjoyed it and swam. We will be back hopefully sooner than later. Next time we go we will take a taxi and explore the island. What I also love about the island is I feel safe, which is a big deal for me. A+++ trip. Can’t wait to come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Jan 23, 2018
It wasn’t great to be honest. The a la carte was the worst part, it was first come first serve so there was always a lineup. The beach, drinks and buffet were all average.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Hotel located on beautiful beach on Paradise Isle.

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Great choices of restaurants and friendly staff. Hotel was well decorated and clean.
Cons: Longer pillows instead of the small pillows. ATM Machine inside hotel would be convenient.
Location: Jet skiing nearby. Booze cruise nearby.
This was a great hotel. It was my first time staying at a Riu Palace hotel chain. I was pleased with the friendly and helpful staff. I would suggest for the hotel to include an ATM machine. The rooms would be more comfortable with bigger pillows. I had to use 5 of their small pillows to make one pillow in order to sleep comfortable. Great choices of restaurants. Food was good. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. louis MO

Modern hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Excellent staff, food & grounds. Needs new sound system for entertainment, new pillows & to get rid of sewage smell by the spa. It was chilly & windy during our trip but you can use the hot tub in the outdoor spa area. Food was delicious, beer was ok, absolute was best vodka Brand. Bartenders made special order drinks & all drinks were delicious. The entertainment staff were awesome! Great yoga, volleyball, dancing & many other fun activities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2018
The staff was always very friendly but the resort wasn’t what I thought it would be... if I had known, I would have chosen differently. You have to wait in line for an hour just to be able to have a nice dinner at each of the 5 restaurants at the resort. If you did not get in line before 5:30pm you were stuck at the buffet because otherwise you wouldn’t get in until 9:00pm or risk not getting dinner at all and during the day when sitting at the pool, you would have to get up and get your own drinks at bar becuase there wasn’t enough employees walking around to serve you. However, the beach was just a few steps away and there was a swim up bar which was very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

RIU Palace of Paradise Island

Posted Jan 17, 2018
The only issue we had staying at the RIU palace, was the weather. Everything else, was top notch and checked all of the boxes for us. Every one of the staff was overly friendly, and sincere. We had a blast! So many to thank, but let me say Wayne, Atlantic Room, O’Neil, pool bar, and Viviana, poolside, were over and above great service. We have stayed w RIU, in Cabo San Lucas, so we expected the hard beds. Thus my 4 rating on comfort, with every other category a 5. Everything about our trip here was positive. WE WILL BE BACK!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Hotel was modern and very clean. We had a beautiful view from our balcony. The hotel staff was excellent! It was such a pleasure meeting the friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience the Atlantis for a lot more affordable price. It was about 10 feet away from the resort so we enjoyed the night life there. We had a great trip, only complaint I have was the dinner situation. There are no reservations ahead of time so you have to sit and wait, wasting our precious vacation time. Not a good system at all and could be better. Other wise A+ for great service and awesome experience