Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

fabulous well run hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing may not be every persons style but thats there choice
Location: good location an easy walk via the perk to the nearest point in town
great location very well run a delightfull stay in this fabulous city
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Marvelous hotel ~ incompetent front desk staff.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location superb, breakfast sumptuous. Good room cleaning crew.
Cons: Dismiss the entire front desk staff and hire at least one professional adult.
Location: Quiet, very safe neighborhood, close to the Villa Borghese. Spanish steps an easy 20 minute stroll. Catch the sunset!
This is a lovely small hotel operated by a poorly trained, clueless front desk staff. Except for the bellboys, one wonders how any front desk employee passed a basic audition. A few examples. I provided the front desk with my credit card to charge a nighttime Rome tour, they later informed me that my card was rejected and demanded I pay them in cash. Whoops! The full charge went through on my card, so due to their complete incompetence I paid twice. The tour was good but not that good. Please keep in mind this double charge is AFTER me telling the children at the front desk that the charge must have gone through. They booked another tour for me but forgot to inform the tour was cash only! Whoops! Had to make a furious, last second dash to the ATM. Sad a property of this outstanding caliber has been entrusted to toddlers. On the morning I left, the front desk employees were supposed to have a breakfast box prepared as I had paid paid for same and they had agreed the night before to provide, but nope! I could continue but I am certain that any discerning traveler understands the core issue. Poor staff=poor results. If a visitor lodges here, depend on the front desk at personal peril. All these children do is smile, nod, and screw up. Endlessly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Michela De Martino, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, what usually distinguish us from other beautiful and luxurious properties in Rome is the Team. I am therefore quite dazed from your review. All our team at front desk is professional, and smiling and young. Yes we are all quite young at the Lord Byron. All the Team is well trained and happy to assist. The age is not an issue. The owner, an 82 years old gentlemen who passed away a few month ago, personally chose all the team members appreciating the fresh and careful attention of all this young and enthusiast people. I was among the team; I helped you, offering assistance with a free call to US to clear the situation with your credit card company. Yes, you treated me as a toddler, despite my 23 years experience in the Hotel industry. I would like to inform you one more time that the card was not rejected; the website asked for an additional security password and you was not at the Hotel. So instead of waiting for your return, I have used my own credit card to make the purchase on your behalf and have asked the money to be returned in cash. You can’t have any double charge on your credit card, as the transaction did not go through. For the other tours we waited a few days to collect the money on behalf of the tour company. Nobody asked for furious last minute payment, but we waited 2 days. We were able to assist you with massage, haircut, tours, train tickets; we allowed your son to use our piano at the bar. We also appreciated a lot your nice compliments for the smiles we have always dedicated to you; and that you said made the difference from other 5 stars hotels you have stayed in Rome. I definitely remain surprised from your words. Best regards, Michela De Martino Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Relaxation

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We werw upgraded to a beUtiful suite. Tbe staff was very courteous and helpful. We liked bei g away from all the crowds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Lord Byron Team, Hotel Management
Dear Trudy, thank you for your kind words and for ranking us highly! We are happy that you appreciated our dedicated Staff and our location far from the chaos of a big city like Rome but not from the art beauties it has to offer, starting from stunning Villa Borghese to the city centre. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! Kind regards Lord Byron Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milford, CT

Beautiful hotel with great hospitality!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We stayed for two nights. Complimentary breakfast buffet was amazing! Turndown service and nice size toiletries was a nice surprise. Walking distance or a short cab ride to many sights. Would definitely recommend and stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Lord Byron Team, Hotel Management
Dear Carole, Thank you for the time you took to write this review and for praising our dedicated employees, the whole team works very hard to assure all our guests the best service. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and the quality of the food in the buffet breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! Best Regards, Lord Byron Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

close to Villa Borghese & Modern Art Gallery

Posted Aug 23, 2017
boutique hotel with great staff, excellent restaurant, and also perhaps the best breakfast in Rome! Within walking distance to the Modern Art Gallery (which is a hidden gem) and the Berninis in Villa Borghese.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Lord Byron Team, Hotel Management
Dear Chanakya, thank you for your kind words and for praising our dedicated Staff! We are happy that you appreciated our location at the borders of the stunning Villa Borghese. It was also very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the quality of the food in the buffet breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to your “home away from home”. Warm Regards, Lord Byron Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great hotel in a quiet area!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Very clean, great staff! The free breakfast was very good. It's away from the noise of the city center. We really enjoyed our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Lord Byron Team, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Kari, thank you for your kind words and for ranking us highly. It is a pleasure reading that you appreciated the location of the Hotel, the breakfast and all the Team’s work. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! Kind regards, Lord Byron Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa, New Zealand and Cyprus

Absolutely, positively fantastic

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location, the peacefulness, the decor of the hotel and the staff!
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: We were only there for one night and we walked the length and breadth of the Borghese gardens. We also visited the Leonardo Da Vinci museum.
This hotel and the staff were everything that anyone could possibly want of an hotel !! From check in to check out our experience was nothing short of delightful. A fantastic location for folk who have been to Rome before and prefer a quiet setting. A very good restaurant and extremely comfortable and quiet rooms. In over 49 years of travelling this must be one of the finest hotels my wife and I have ever stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Lovely hotel in a beautiful residential area located by various embassies and behind the national museum and park, all within 5-10 minute walk. The cafe de arti, is the museums restaurant and was excellent. Just a 5 minute walk. Hotel rooms were spacious and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

I love this hotel.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Food is great! The people are great! You'll love it! The art and decore are stunning. Long live the Lord Byron! 5 stars all the way. If you get chance to talk to Nicola listen. All the staff are lovely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Above it all in Rome!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The style of the public rooms, the quiet of the surroundings and the attentive staff.
What a marvelous hotel, and the most elegant and peaceful way to experience The Eternal City. The Lord Byron is on a small hill at the top of the Borghese, and away from so much of the noise and traffic of Rome. It was easy to get around, and incredibly peaceful at night for sleeping. The hotel itself is quite elegant, and the staff very outgoing and helpful. I particularly enjoyed Lilli's outgoing personality. So vivacious! My room was exceptional. The décor was tastefully distinctive, I had a large veranda overlooking the nearby embassies, and the walls were actually padded fabric that enhanced the quiet and elegance of the room. The public rooms are gorgeous, and so quiet for reading and looking out at the greenery and mansions behind the hotel. The breakfasts were some of the best I've had in Italy....and that's saying a lot, considering the quality of Italian meals! I also arranged for a small dinner party at the hotel, and the staff did an exceptional job of preparing the meal and setting the room for an intimate cocktails and dinner. I have to say, that staying in Rome can sometimes be a challenge...but if you're at the Lord Byron, none of that matters once you step through those doors into a world of serenity, elegance and attentive service!