Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Classic hotel, excellent service

Posted Apr 17, 2018
Lord Byron staff are cheerful and attentive; the breakfast is excellent and hotel design is attractive. It’s slightly out of the centre which is a relief during the busy tourist season. If you look closely you might see that certain elements could use refreshing (sealant around bathtub flaking, marble a bit stained in places) but the hotel service more than makes up for that. The breakfast is varied and delicious. I found the bed a little too firm but that’s a matter of taste - the linens are very fine, and we enjoyed having the bed turned down and notices about the weather left on our pillows. Overall an excellent stay - but the staff made it so.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Stay at Hotel Byron

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Pros: Quiet, friendly staff
Cons: stated in my eperience
Location: Nothing close by. Taxi everrywhere
The staff and the hotel were nice however very far from activity in Rome. Needed to take a taxi EVERYWHERE. Needed a bit of an update. The size and comfort of the room was nice however the red older carpet, leaking faucet all night and bathroom water stains and peeling paint at the door should not have been for the cost of the room. Our first few nights we stayed closer to the main activities and could walk everywhere and had lots of restaurants and shopping. If you are looking for a quiet slow pace stay than I would recommend the Hotel Byron.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel and a truly relaxing stay

Posted Mar 29, 2018
We spent long days in Rome exploring and coming back to the Lord Byron was lovely. All the staff we met were nothing but warm, welcoming and helpful. We had our 6 year old son with us who was made to feel most welcome. The buffet breakfast was of excellent quality and you were not rushed each morning. Serving until 10.30 was also great as meant you didn’t have to walks up early for breakfast. On our last day we had an evening flight but were able to safely leave all our luggage. We can not recommend this hotel enough. Excellent and we will definitely return again on our next trip to Rome. Thank you Hotel Lord Byron.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2018 by Hotel Lord Byron's Team, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, thank you very much for this review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been shared with our team, with great pleasure. Thank you for being our Guest and for ranking us so highly. We do hope that you will join us for another stay in the future and we will look forward to welcoming you back to your "Home away form Home"! Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent, England

Comfortable and quiet hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Everything was very good and the only downside is its location as it is a good 15 min walk into central Rome and UPHILL all the way back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A small homely and superbly comfortable property

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Our stay was extended due to extenuating circumstances but the staff were so helpful and incredibly accommodating that they made our stay feel like a “home from home” experience. We were upgraded to one of their suites with a balcony and a super king sized bed which was amazingly comfortable as was the bed in the Classic Double Room too. As much of our stay was spent at the hotel I would have appreciated a more extensive menu choice especially over lunch times but the breakfasts were delicious. This property would appeal to travellers who are looking for a friendly, homely stay slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the inner city due to it’s quiet location situated on the north side of the Borghese Gardens. 9/10
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely “boutique style” hotel.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
First up, staff were fantastic - from front desk, waitstaff, cleaners, everyone was so friendly and hospitable. Room was comfortable, bed was a “dream machine” so comfortable I could hardly bring myself to get up! The hotel is an original, an Art Deco building, with rooms in the style of the 1930s. However, it’s a wee bit dated, and perhaps might be due a renovation. I must stress however, the hotel is beautiful, and staff are brilliant. Breakfast is plentiful, and the restraint is quiet and welcoming. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome. Free parking was a plus! Loved the turn-down service inc. chocolates on the pillow 🌙🍫🛌
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Lord Byron team, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for your suggestions, which help us to improve. Every detail, from furniture to paintings, is personalized in order to create harmony and elegance and to make all our Guests feel in a warm and welcoming house of the past. We thank you again for being our Guest. Kind Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Disappointing!

Posted Nov 26, 2017
We arrived mid evening on Friday 17 November. There was no hot water in the bathroom - housekeeping arrived and we were told to leave the water running for 5 minutes for it to warm up - not acceptable after travelling for 9 hours! We made a reservation at the hotel's restaurant and were told they would confirm availability which they did 15 minutes later. We arrived about 8pm to an empty, musty smelling, cold restaurant in what can only be described as the basement. The food was very average! Breakfast is also served in the basement and a continuation of the night before's aroma. We upgraded our stay to a junior suite - a queen size bed comprised of 2 beds pushed together. The room is shabby - the bathroom was without a mechanical vent so makeup is difficult to put on after a shower. You step into the bath to use the over bath shower yet you can't have a bath as there aren't any taps! Bathroom decor is damaged and just worn - the discoloured net curtains in the bathroom is shocking! The towels are crisp and aromatic - not in a pleasant way! In addition, the little things which make a difference to it being a five star hotel - no pen in the room, no fresh milk for tea/coffee and unclean stationery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Short break for two

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The Hotel is a lovely place to stay. Almost transported back in time because of the art deco theme throughout which is carefully done. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. This is a lovely hotel and i would recommend this highly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Hotel Lord Byron's Team, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our property and we look forward to welcome you back to our lovely Boutique Hotel! Warmest Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Fantastic beautiful hotel with traditional values.

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Ebookers
From the moment you arrive at this hotel you are more than aware you've made a fantastic choice. The approach, the location, the frontage... it's stunning. We were welcomed by a traditionally dressed gent who opened our car door and took our luggage to the front desk. Something we've never experienced as guests before. Reception is beautiful, the lobby and lounge area are furnished to an extremely high standard with original art deco pieces which we later found out have been collected by the owner of the hotel over several years. Photographs of the owner and his family spot the shelves and walls in the lounge area giving a touching insight into the closeness and pride of the family. Reception is informative, available throughout the night, multilingual, professional and friendly. The hotel is just four or five stories, a small but perfectly formed premises built in an art deco style. Our room was on the ground floor with views over the front garden and approach. Other rooms higher up had balconies and I believe one had a terrace. The hotel has its own restaurant on the lower-ground floor which serves breakfast and dinner, with room service available on request. The food is tremendous. Beautifully presented, served with true pride in a traditional style by attentive and friendly staff. For the best service, professional, traditional values, well rounded staff, beautiful rooms and high end attention to detail, Hotel Lord Byron is the hotel you're looking for.