Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Awesome, Avant-garde, elaborate and beautiful.

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Everything, Food, Breakfast, Surroundings, My Room, Mobile in Room free of charge. Shuttle bus, Staff and Decor.
Cons: Maybe air conditioners, but maybe it was just my room, otherwise it was perfect.
Location: It is a residential area, There is always a shuttle to take one into town and back. Loved the fact that I always saw the writings Time is out of Joint
As it name sames, Duke Hotel,iIt is Luxurious, the staff were lovely, but one, who worked nights (gather he could not believe there can be an intelligent British North Africa in his midst). The rooms were absolutely divine and spacious. The front desk staff, especially the manager Massimo was eclectic in his gestures. The lady staff were beautiful and in awe of whom I am. The shuttle staff were ever so pleasant, organised and lovely especially one who always put a smile on my face and was mesmerised with my dressing. The breakfast was delightful, champagne for breakfast, and it lasted till 11am. This is a beautiful Hotel, the decor ever so glamorous and enchanting, and the guests were always a joy to look upon, polite. The bathroom was to my complete taste, it had everything I desired. The facilities were elegant, and the young man staff was lovely, I could of stayed in this hotel for ages. I wish I could of met the owner, I bet he is distinguished as his hotel, and the area was also lovely. I even go to go, to their partner Hotel called the Aquaniene sports club, Oh my goodness gracious me, never ever looked upon so many Silver Cups, all won from swimming and in the Olympics. The gym is awesome and everything is by Adidas, thus everyone had Adidas bags and swimming gear. This is a beauty of an hotel, I shall never forget, the only rival is the Hotel, I stayed in called The Luxe Rodeo drive in Los Angeles in 2002. Air conditioner was temperamental sometimes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Comfortable bed, quiet location and friendly staff

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: The very comfortable bed!
Cons: The room was quite dark (although it was winter and overcast, so there is probably not much that could be done about that)
Location: Very quiet location, nice neighbourhood.
The location is lovely and quiet. Nothing is very far anyway, but the hotel provides free buses into the centre of the city. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Old world charm with modern amenities!!

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The staff is professional, friendly and very helpful! The hotel is beautiful, charming, classic and has a great location! The free shuttle service to & from the entrance of Piazza del Popolo was the BEST!! The drivers are very helpful with helping you get around the City Center. They have a handy map too. They also have a handy travel companion that's free for you to use. To me that sets them apart from others. I've travelled other countries and stayed in hotels. This is the first time that I ever seen that! The complimentary breakfast is also awesome! The housekeeping is excellent and very nice! I felt comfortable and I was impressed with the hotel and staff!! When I visit next year, I will book here again! Keep the outstanding service and much continued success!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good hotel shirt walk to the borghese gardens.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The hotel is nice and clean in an area just north of the borghese gardens. The rooms are clean and ok in size, especially given it is in Rome. There is not much in the immediate local area - it’s fairly residential - but you only have to walk 10 mins and you are in the beautiful borghese gardens. Check in and check out was quick and efficient. Breakfast was decent. Nothing fancy but did the job and there was a hot option of bacon eggs and sausages in the buffet. althoughb it was quite understaffed and we had to wait a bit for someone to take our coffee order. But overall, especially for the price, it was a good hotel and I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: A good value for money, free shuttle to nearby metro, clean, quiet, excellent breakfast.
Cons: It was quite problematic to schedule the free shuttle to return to the hotel after a day out and about in Rome and the taxi fare back was about 14euro
Location: The location was in a quiet residential neighborhood. There was a park and museum nearby, but we didn't take advantage of that.
Commenting on my decision to book the Duke Hotel for our stay in Italy, my wife said, "Good choice." As my wife is normally more critical of my decisions, the Duke comes highly recommended. It was clean, quiet with helpful staff and an excellent (free) breakfast. The rooms were spacious and well appointed with everything working as expected. We actually made the hotel our home base in Italy, with stays of 2 nights (twice) and a longer stay of 4 nights between trips around the country. It was the best of the three hotels that we used in Italy (my wife had complaints about the others).
5 out of 5
by Miles

A Comfortable and Quiet Rome Hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
The Duke Hotel is in a residential neighborhood a good hilly mile from the Piazza di Populo. A shuttle to the Piazza is convenient and easily available. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast very good. The rooms are comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Melvin

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoy the room and quality food was good also
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel, nice residentially quiet area, excelent hotel free transportation to city center.
2 out of 5
by Mandy

Wouldn't recommend :-(

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
This was a okay hotel but the service on my last day was terrible! I would not recommend anyone to go there if customer service is important to you. So, I got a crazy bill for the mini bar which came to nearly 300 euros! I had no issues paying it, but the reception staff there was quite aggressive and forward in his approach in getting the money. It is important to remain professional and not take things personally but the reception staff here did the opposite.