Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Too noisy

Posted Feb 11, 2015
I've stayed in this hotel twice. The first time was great; the second time wasn't. The problem was the noise. When we stayed the first time we were on the courtyard side which is fairly quiet. The second time we were on the street side. There is a bar on the corner and because of the layout of the street it's like an echo chamber. Every sound is amplified. Like many Parisian hotels the building is a little rough round the edges and the sound travels fairly easily. We were kept awake by our neighbours' TV and could hear their conversations. We would have liked a lie in the next morning but the sound of garbage trucks and cleaners had us up by 8.30. This is a shame because the hotel is chic and comfortable and the staff friendly. If it was not for the noise we would have enjoyed our stay. Ask for a non street-facing room; otherwise forget it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Charming Parisienne hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Alba Opera is a lovely hotel with friendly staff. Very close to Gare du Nord and Pigalle. The hotel was full of character. Our room was simple and clean. Our twin beds were very narrow but had good mattresses and quality linen. Fairly quiet at night too. A good value hotel in the heart of Paris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Unique Paris Hotel in Excellent Location.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. Clean, spacious rooms. The lift.
Cons: Rooms are a little tired.
Location: Gard du Nord 10 min walk. Montmartre 5 min walk. Easy and quick Metro access to central Paris. Local area full of excellent cafes and restaurants.
Very nice indpendant hotel with a 'unique' style. The rooms are clean and spacious, ours slept a family of four with ease and had a small kitchen. The style may not be to everyones taste; black and red with a 60s bohemian theme. Staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Location is excellent, 10 min walk from Gare du Nord, 5 min walk from Montmartre and just off Rue des Martyrs, full of cafes, restaurants, delicatessens and patisseries. Access to central Paris is very easy with four Metro stations very close. The lift is an experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel close to Montmartre

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful, recommending restaurants and places to go. Lots of great cafes and restaurants within a short walking distance. Will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from London, UK

City Break. One Night Stay

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Not a big chain, characterful and central.
Cons: The kitchen facilities and the somewhere to hook the shower.
Location: It's off the main roads which is fine, easy walking distance from Gare du Nord station and metro.
Only stayed one night here with my family on the first floor (not much to see out of the windows). Facilities were as expected, large room for the four of us, clean, quiet, comfortable. The little Kitchen area could do with a little improvement. Cups and glasses supplied but no cutlery nor coffee/tea/milk. The only socket for the kettle was in the middle of the wall with no table/shelf near enough for it to stand so we used a socket in the main room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from UK

Beautiful hotel a stones-throw from the city

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: The lift was the centrepiece for me but the whole hotel was great. The staff, the design, the location.
Cons: It's rare that I say this, but I don't think anything could be improved.
Location: Quiet location, a stones-throw from the metro and a busy cafe/restaurant area.
Arrived for a single evening before a conference the following day. The hotel is located down a narrow road in what's practically its own cul-de-sac. As such, it's really quiet but a few minutes walk from the bustling city and nearest metro. The room was beautifully decorated, clean, warm and unlike anywhere I've stayed before. The lift was the aspect I'll remember the most. It was almost an antique and a pleasure to use. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the reception is open 24 hours; perfect for late evening strolls. The breakfast was just the trick; continental with copious amounts of coffee. Would I recommend? Yes. Would I stay again? Definitely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charbar from LONDON

Trendy, eccentric hotel. Location great.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: most things, especially the location and personal atmosphere.
Cons: LARGER Room, complimentary tea/coffee.
Location: Location great. Although there is the tourist element to the town, near by shops, restaurants, it is buzzing, busy and you get to see the real people
Reasonably welcoming staff. We arrived 3 hrs before their 3pm check-in time, however they were flexible and had a room ready for us by 1pm which was good of them. Our room was on 4th floor and due to a 1-2 person sized lift, found walking down stairs more convenient but too much leg work to go up 4 floors. The hotel has a lot of French character and you can really find yourself getting lost the eccentric theme of mysterious, sexy, warm lit, sensual atmosphere and decoration within the hotel. It is quite personal and comfortable. The room we stayed in was quite small, but still comfortable. Clean, towels provided, radio, tv, mini bar, 2 hob cooker and microwave in the small kitchenette, which was unexpected. Over all a pleasant, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel. We o plan to stay here again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from London Colney UK

Hotel Alba Opera

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: The position was ideal for our requirements. Room was comfortable and clean. We had a larger room on top floor with view of rooftop skyline.
Cons: Not sure what could be improved. We did not eat in hotel so cannot comment on that and everything else was fine.
Location: Location is 10-15mins from Gare du Nord in Opera district (9thAr) walking distance to Montmartre (20mins uphill!) easy access to 4 Metro stations.
Perfect choice of position 10-15mins walk from Gare du Nord (Eurostar) in a quiet cul de sac set back from road. Very nice local suburb with many Bistros, Brasseries, Cafe's for breakfast, lunch or dinner or just a drink. opera is an art district so many different interesting small individual shops. We walked to Montmartre (20mins) and also you can walk to main department stores Galleries Lafayette & Printemps. There are four Metro stations within easy access which take you to all areas of Paris without having to change trains. For example to the Louvres or Jardins Tuilleries was just 6 stops from Cadet Metro which is 10mins walk from hotel. Notre dame & Bastille areas were another 5 stops further on. Hotel staff warned about pickpockets on the Metro but we saw no evidence of this problem. Hotel staff were very pleasant and spoke English well if you require.Would definitely stay again.Warning - there are six floors and lift is extremely small so will only take two people at a time without luggage!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

With character

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Well situated. Hotel with nice atmosphere and individuality and personality. Very helpful as well to recommend restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by guss from paris

Great !

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Design Confort Staff Position
Cons: Nothing !
Location: Pigalle
Great staff, great rooms design. I highly recommand this hotel !