Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Benjamin from London

Perfect

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
everything you could expect and more for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Andrew from Birmingham

Not bad, could be better

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels
Room was abit scruffy and uncomfy, was on the first floor above the street very noisy.. Shower was dismal. Room was warm and was aloud to store baggage in the lobby after we checked out.. Location is brilliant situated on the best metro line 1
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great location in Bastille, central Paris

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Great location, Great price, Wi-Fi in the room. We had a great time, and only spent time to sleep in the hotel, which is really all that is needed.
Cons: For an old building there is little that can be improved, without a major refurbishment or rebuild.
Location: Bars, Cafes, 3 Cinemas, Theatre, Restaurants, modern Opera House, the historic Marais is 15 mins walk, Louvre is 30 mins walk or 3 Metro stops.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the centre of Paris, the Central Bastille Hotel is the one. Located just a few seconds walk from the Bastille and Metro, the street is bustling with bars, cafe's and restaurants, with a couple of supermarkets within a couple of minutes walk. It is only a 15 minutes walk to the historic Marais district. The hotel has rooms on 5 floors, but there is no lift (elevator). Our room, located at the rear of the building was small, but the double bed was comfortable. The toilet/shower room was also small. As we were in the rear of the building, the room was away from the noise and bustle of the street. There was a modern flat-screen TV mounted on the wall, with all-French channels. There was free Wi-Fi in the room. The room was clean and tidy, and the staff especially friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Wendy from New Zealand

Great Location

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels
We felt that the location and low cost of the Hotel Central Bastille were it's best selling points. The staff were very nice. The hotel itself was very average - small room, very tiny bathroom, no elevator - and we were on the 5th floor which meant 10 flights of stairs every time !! We learnt not to forget anything when we went out. The area is wonderful - very lively and fun. We really enjoyed just sitting outside a bar in the evenings and watching the people go by. Bonus for us was our room had two windows and both opened onto a small balcony which had a good view of the Bastille monument. The area is noisy but the room windows were double glazed so it was quite if you had them closed - problem was it was so hot (no air-conditioning) we mostly had to have them open - ear plugs were a necessity for sleep. The Metro station was just on the corner which was very convenient for getting around Paris.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Totally mislead by Expedia Pictures

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Good clean and redecoration
Although I appreciate I was looking for a cheap and cheerful, I was disgusted with this hotel. The bedroom barely had enough room to walk around the double bed. There was a great need for the room to be thoroughly cleaned and redecorated. To say it had a flat screen TV was a joke - portable size screen attached to the wall that we had to be careful not to hit our heads on. The stairways leading to the rooms we very dated and the walls were thin, so you could hear all the goings on of fellow guests. The bathroom was awful and we were barely able to turn around in it !! Broken toilet set, mat on the floor was very likely to be riddled with germs and there was a lot of would in the shower cubicle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for few nights

Posted Sep 25, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel had 4-5 floors but the wireless internet works only on the ground (and maybe on the first?) floor. Very loud in the night. I have never seen a smaller bathroom in my life. The area is very lively with bars and restaurants around. Among French circumstances this hotel is ok but not for too many days because climbing stairs upto the 4-5th floor can be tough at times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

False advertising

Posted Jul 13, 2011 on Hotels
The picture demonstrating the front of the hotel is the picture of the Opera theater- if I had known would probably not stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not terrible, but not good either

Posted May 28, 2011 on Hotels
Pros: Excellent location--Bastille metro entrance less than 100 m from hotel. This station is served by line #1 which will take you directly to most of the main sites (Notre Dame, Louvre, etc.). Lines 5 and 8 also go here (though line 5 was closed at this station when we were there). There is a small supermarket (Monop'), also less than 100 m from the hotel. Our room had a balcony. Breakfast was included. Staff was adequately helpful. Cons: Hotel is quite rundown (carpet is old and worn, etc.). Narrow stairways with no elevator (we had a very heavy, probably 25 kg/60 lb suitcase and were unlucky enough to get a room on the top French 5th/American 6th floor). Breakfast is just a piece of baguette and a croissant, no yogurt, fruit, etc. Location near main roundabout also means it's a bit noisy, but that didn't bother us. The hotel's page says phones are in all rooms, but you cannot call out. Also, it's barely worth mentioning since it is true of almost all French hotels, but there was no A/C and the room was small. Overall, while the hotel was not horrible and many of its flaws are inherent to Parisian hotels, I would not stay there again. We paid less for a newly-renovated apartment (with elevator, fridge, washer, stovetop, etc.) that was about a 7-10 minute walk from here.
3 out of 5
by dorthe from copenhagen

close to metro and restaurants

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
very good situated - close to metro and restaurants