Ratings based on 782 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Clean comfortable safe basic hotel with free WIFI

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Location: Just 1 mile to the Louvre or the river or Sacre Couer.
We had a clean, comfortable en-suite room with free WIFI, in this small hotel half way between Gare du Nord train station (Eurostar) and the Louvre. We walked to the Louvre through in 15 minutes, the station in 10 and Sacre Couer in 15. We didn't bother buying breakfast there but walked round the corner onto the main street for many wonderful options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by hotelrougemont@orange.fr, Hotel Management
Dear client, thank you so much for your so kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed services and location of our hotel. Hoping to see you again ;) Very best regards Véronique, Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location and good value for money.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Nice hotel with a great bathroom although there were a couple of yobs drinking on their balcony one night and they echoed terribly. Also never got the hang of the rules governing tea making but thats all part of the rich tapestry of travel ;) The staff are friendly and speak excellent English, the beds are comfy and the wifi is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by hotelrougemont@orange.fr, Hotel Management
Dear client, thank you so much for your so kind review. We are so glad that your spent a good stay in Paris. Hoping to see you again ;) Very best regards Véronique, Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Two star for a reason

Posted Nov 25, 2016
It would be worth paying a little more to stay elsewhere. This was the worst hotel of our Europe trip and very disappointing. Lots of things broken (safe, some lights, etc.) or missing (no kettle, no fridge, no storage, no air con and no fan). Worst of all was that there was water dripping onto you in the shower from the roof (presumably from the shower above - not nice). Staff very unhelpful and seemed to resent being bothered. Perhaps they spend all day making fake good reviews of this hotel because it certainly didn't live up to the ratings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Not Amazing.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
From the moment we checked in, the service definitely was lacking in many areas. The room they provided us with had a wet, moldy smell and when we asked for a different room, the hotel attendant at the front desk was pretty rude about it. And spraying Febreeze in the room does not mask the wet, moldy smell by the way. Later on in the night, we asked another hotel attendant to help us order pizza because of the language barrier with the pizza place and he was very hesitant to help us out. 20 minutes later, we decided to walk to McDonalds. The beds were ok but the washroom is TINY. I am 6-foot, 215 lbs and I could barely move in that bathroom without hitting something. The sink is half the size of a conventional sink and the shower wasn't very good at all. We were only in Paris for 1 night and I am glad we didn't have to stay in this hotel much longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Veronique, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, I am Veronique, Manager of Hotel de la Cité Rougemont. First of all, thank you to have taken time to share your experience on internet even if I would like underline several points. 1. You arrived in the morning, around 3 hours before check-in time. The man at reception proposed to get a sit in our lobby to give time to the housekeepper to prepare your room earlier. 2. When you entered your room around 1:00 pm, your saw the housekeepper in the room facing yours and you aksed us to move to this one because you predered it. 3. We acceded to your request with pleasure nevertheless it took a little more time again to finish the housekeepping. 4. In all the case you benefited your room before check in time without any additional fees :) 5. As you were waiting at your arrival, I was here and I saw the 2 men at reception coordinating with the housekeepper your early check in, in order to satisfy you. 6. For your information, your room had a 3,5 sqm2 bathroom, that means superficy standard of a 4 stars hotel in the heart of Paris Another fact is that we are very surprised with a moldy smell mentioned in your review ... it could arrive that people smoked in rooms even it was not allowed but we never had registered moldy smell in the 2 rooms you visited 7. Regarding the pizza : the night audit called pizza restaurant but this one explained that it was to late for delivery He just needed some minutes to find another solution at this time of the night. So all our team is so surprised with your review However, we hope that you will keep good memories of Paris Best regards Veronique
4 out of 5
by Caterina from Pittsburgh

Nice staff, two star hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Clean rooms, very small, no a/c
4 out of 5
by Kate from Fergus, Ontario

Affordable simple clean hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
We wanted somewhere inexpensive and central - this fit the bill. The room was tiny and 'bare bones' but that was fine with us - we just wanted a place to touch down between sight seeing. We really appreciated that we could walk everywhere - didn't have to take the metro once.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sally from Hertfordshire

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent position to explore Paris from. Near Metro station. Nice boulangerie just around the corner that did good breakfast. Comfortable room for 4. Friendly staff on reception.
4 out of 5
by Mehdi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Quiet place close to everything

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Unusually quiet for the city centre.
Cons: Please finish the work in the neighbouring house!!! As soon as possible!
Location: Everything. It is Paris!!!
Nice location, clean, friendly, very quiet at night. Actually, during the day as well at weekend; in the week it was very noisy because of refurbishment of the house next to it. Hope the works would not last for long. Friendly staff, every little help. Did not try their breakfast, as there lots of nice little cafes around. Metro within a few minute walk. Great restaurants nearby. Walking distance to Louvre.