Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but small

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel in a really cute neighborhood!

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Loved my stay at the Edgar hotel. Didn't really know how close this would be to all the tourist attractions but it was either a short metro ride or walk to the main sights. The hotel staff was great especially the restaurant downstairs. I would highly recommend eating dinner there one night, food is amazing as is the atmosphere. If you want to feel like you're really staying in Paris and not in the touristy area of town, this is the hotel to check out.
5 out of 5
by AARON

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

chic and classy

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Central location, cleanliness, friendly staff, nice breakfast, comfort, fresh air, quiet location away from traffic.
Cons: Kettle in the room, but you can buy a coffee/tea from the bar and bring it to your room, and apparently we could have had a kettle if we'd asked.
Location: Good access to shops, cafes, restaurants, metro, Pompidou centre, yet in a quiet street away from traffic.
My husband and I spent 5 nights in this hotel in May 2015 and found everything very clean and comfortable. The hotel comprises a bistro style seafood restaurant patronised by local professionals, with the rooms on the upper floors. Our room was spacious enough, very clean, with a large window which opened wide, so lots of fresh air. The surrounding area is on the edge of an upcoming shopping area but with some insalubrious undertones remaining - however we never felt unsafe at any point. There are fabulous patisseries and restaurants within 5 mins walk, and a Metro about the same distance. It's about a half hour walk to Notre Dame, and about 15 mins walk to the Pompidou centre. Staff were without exception very helpful and friendly, and seemed really happy working there. We didn't eat in the restaurant due to a shellfish allergy, but had a lovely breakfast on our last day, with breads, patisserie, yoghurts, fruit, ham, cheese and boil-your-own-eggs. A good base, reasonably central, with easy access to some sights by foot, and others by Metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique Hotel in Paris

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Design, cafe and location
Cons: The neighbourhood is in transition and their are some rough spots, but its roughness is also part of it's charm.
Location: The location is close to the Metro, train stations, and walking distance to La Gaite Lyrique, Centre Pompidou, the Marais, Louvre, etc.
Hotel Edgar is a unique hotel, thoughtfully and creatively designed and well situated in Paris. The staff were very kind and helpful, the cafe has a great breakfast. I'll go back there next visit.
3 out of 5
by Peter from Brisbane

Ok but better hotels for same sort of money

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
Just spent a couple of days in Paris. Fairly Central off Grande Boulavard but in a grotty little back street. Rooms really tiny. No information given on the area and on the last day found a great little area with shops food bars etc really close. Would have been easier than heading to Central for meals etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Great hotel, close to city amenities

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Quirky city centre hotel; clean, comfortable, individually designed rooms, oozing character and Parisian charm. Very helpful, polite staff; cool, trendy bar and restaurant.
3 out of 5
by Md Farid from Change the above to FARID

Good staying at Edgar

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed the stay. Service was good and staff members were friendly and helpful.Location of the hotel (very small street)is rarely known even by its neighbors.
5 out of 5
by Sara from Ohio

Nicest staff I've ever met

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel Edgar is a wonderful choice of you're staying in Paris. We don't speak any French and the staff was understanding, accommodating and spoke perfect English. The rooms are definitely quirky but extremely unique and charming. We didn't have a chance to eat dinner at the restaurant but the food looked amazing and the coffee was great! There is no parking on site but there is a garage about a half mile away. I will definitely stay here again if I get the chance.
4 out of 5
by Marian from Ireland

Paris short break

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
Nice clean hotel with very helpful staff.