Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Staff could have better information on local restaurants.
Location: Near Nation, a major hub in Paris
Near to the Metro, we had a pleasant stay at this quiet hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by layasasu, Hotel Management
Dear sir , Madam , Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in Paris. We do appreciate you gave us a great rate online and glad to hear that you enjoyed staying here with us thanks to the quietness of our rooms and the proximity of majors stations to the hotel. With regards to the recommendations for restaurants , we provide a list of those upon check in and give you a insight of the kind of food they serve et their ambiance . We feel bad that you lacked of information about the places around to eat We hope next time you come and visit us , we'll definitely be able to give you more info about the restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards , Vanessa Front desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Midlands, UK

Perfect place to stay away from the crowds

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Everything: the room, the shower, the location, the staff, couldn't fault anything
Cons: Nothing
I stayed at the Grand Hotel Francais for 2 nights to visit my daughter who is working as an intern in Paris as part of her degree. From arrival to departure I honestly couldn't fault anything. This hotel is very good value for money, is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I didn't have breakfast so I am unable to comment on this. The area is perfect - away from the hustle bustle of the major tourist attractions, but close enough that you can be at any of them within 30 minutes via the Metro. There are some good local restaurants nearby which are probably much cheaper than in the tourist areas and even when walking back to the hotel at night, I felt perfectly safe. I felt I was seeing Paris through the eyes of the Parisian people rather than as a tourist and I loved every minute of my stay. I didn't want to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by laya, Hotel Management
Dear Ms Martin , Thank you so much for picking our hotel during your visit to your daughter in Paris. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying here with us thanks to the staff who went the extra mile to make sure that you were pleased with your stay. We are very grateful for this tremendous review you left online . We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards , Reception team and Laya
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

I loved the Grand Hotel Francaise

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: 1. The room, the staff, and the location
Location: Walking was so easy. We were close to the Metro and public transportation so getting to other sites was easy and convenient.
I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. First of all the room was comfortable, clean, and had very nice amenities including soaps, bath gels, and large fluffy towels, free waters, coffee, and tea. The hotel was in a safe and convenient location to public transportation including city buses and the Metro (subway). A lovely well appointed and nicely decorated corner room with balcony that faced out to the main street. There were plenty of places to eat whether heavy or light including convenient stores with French pastries, fruits, and vegetables. The staff at the hotel were incredible, particularly Beatrice (spelling). She gave wonderful directions for getting around using public transportation or walking, telling us about the availability of what the hotel had to offer such as breakfasts, etc. She and Vanessa made arrangements for our pickup and delivery (early morning) to the airport and everything went off without a hitch. I would gladly return to this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by laya, Hotel Management
Dear Sir , Madam, Thank you so very much for choosing our hotel for your vacation in Paris. We do appreciate all the amazing things you mentioned on your review about us. We are thrilled to hear that you fully enjoyed staying here with us partly thanks to our staff at the reeption and all the services at your disposal. Besides , you had at last a feel of the Parisian life , a real experience. We look forward to seeing you again . Kind regards , Reception team and Laya
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Quebec

Hotel well situated. Nice restaurants close.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The staff was great. Whenever we needed information or help to reserve an event they were there.
Cons: For us this hotel and its staff made us feel welcome and at home.
Location: Restaurants all in walking distance. .Place des Nation,la Bastile,Le Bataclan. A must Les Galeries Lafayette.
We had a private guide who should us all of Paris. We walked over 14km a day. We used the metro,bus and train system which is the best way to get around Paris. Some of the museums were closed but all major attractions were available to visit. A must attraction is the Moulin Rouge. The show and champagne is the best value. Even with the rain Paris is a beautiful city to see.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Responsable Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Michel, Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Francais while staying in Paris, we really appreciated your comments towards the hotel. We are glad you could feel the "feel at home" experience that our team try to deliver each day. Looking forward seeing you very soon, Regards, The Reception team and Laya
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Great staff; spotlessly clean; double-paned windows eliminated street & traffic noise.
Location: Excellent location for the Metro; easy to get anywhere. The hotel's restaurant recommendations are accurate.
The French hotel "star" ratings set minimum room and lobby space. It does not include service quality. The hotel staff here is consistently welcoming, helpful, and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by The whole reception and Laya, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, dear Sir , We thank you so much for choosing our hotel over other hotels in Paris and for this great review of yours. We do appreciate you took the time to write about us and your experience in our hotel. We are so grateful to hear all thsoe lovely things about us from you as we , the staff strive ourselves to do our very best to make sure that every demands is fulfilled. We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel . Regards , The whole Reception team and Laya
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vilseck, Germany

Very close to Metro

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Clean, friendly
Location: 5 minute walk from Metro Nation. Lots of cute shops nearby and lots to see.
Hotel was nice, and the staff was friendly. Not loud at night. Just a short distance to hop on the metro. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by vanessa, Hotel Management
Dear Audra, Thank you so very much for this great review and this excellent rate you gave us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very grateful for that. We so look forwrad to seeing you again. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great area, lovely and helpful staff! Found the place to stay in Paris!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by reception, Hotel Management
We thank you for this great review and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Paris. We are very happy to know that we have spent a good time in our hotel. We always do our best to make people feel confortable and we hope we can welcome again in our property.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay at the Grant Hotel Francais

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. Our family of four had two adjacent rooms with double beds. The rooms are small, but comfortable and modern. The bathrooms are clean. The front desk staff were very friendly. There is a small sitting area in the lobby where you can enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The area is safe and has good transit links to other parts of Paris.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir , Madam , We would like to thank you for picking us for your last trip to Paris. We are also grateful for all the lovely things you said about us in your review. We very appreciate you took the time to rate us online because without you knowing it , you contributed in improving our Reputation online . Feel free to get back to us for any future bookings. Kind regards , The whole reception team and Laya
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

what a lovely place.

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
A fantastic little place to stay. The rooms are not large but are very clean and comfortable. Staff are welcoming, helpful and very friendly. Being close (a very short walk) to both Nation and Rue des Boulets metro stations means getting around Paris couldn't be easier. Rooms were cleaned daily and towels freshly laundered. The bathroom was very clean and with a shower which worked fanrastically. Will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir , Madam , We would like to take the time to thank you fondly for this absolutely tremendous review online . We so appreciate you took the time to write about us and not to mention all the nicest things said on the review. We are also glad to hear that everything went just fine while staying here with us . Knowing that the staff went the extra mile to make sure you were making the most of your stay is a thumb up for us. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards , The whole Reception team and Laya
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Friendly hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Hotel is 5 min walk to either of two metro stations - we travelled to and from CDG airport via RER trains with easy lines change at Chatelet
The hotel receptionists Vanessa and Marina spoke excellent English and were very engaging We had a superior room with balcony on the sixth floor and it was pleasantly comfortable although bathroom slightly cramped. Good TV which included BBC channels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by laya, Hotel Management
Dear Sir , Madam , We would like to take the time to thank you fondly for this absolutely tremendous review online . We so appreciate you took the time to write about us and not to mention all the nicest things said on the review. We are also glad to hear that everything went just fine while staying here with us . Knowing that the staff went the extra mile to make sure you were making the most of your stay is a thumb up for us. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards , The whole Reception team and Laya