Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016
There are no reception. No office, you can't leave your baggage
3 out of 5
by Nguyen from Texas

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
Overall we it was fine. The biggest problem is the toilet kept running and no one comes out to fix it after we call n email them. It keep us up at night because of the noise.
3 out of 5
by Stuart from Cheshire.

Small but functional !

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Good location close to Metro and cafes etc. Photos in the 'Hotels.com' listing are a bit misleading and don't show exactly the apartment you may be staying in - so we were a bit surprised at how small ours was. However, it suited our needs well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Fantastic location. Perfect for metro hopping!

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Location to metro. Old building. Tea and coffee provided. Room cleaned every day.
Cons: Larger WC facilities! Shower leaked but wasn't a huge issue.
Location: Montorgueil was the perfect location. Beautifully quiet after the madness of the big landmarks. Lovely walk to The Louvre. Brilliant area for eating.
Beautiful, quiet area, perfect for eating out. Excellent access to Sentier metro station. Lovely, old building. Member of staff was waiting to meet us and was extremely professional and polite. Rooms were functional. Was slightly disappointed with 'kitchenette' facilities. Hoped for a washing machine. It was also incredibly hot and there was no air conditioning. Also, the biggest negative for me was the size of the WC. Teeny, tiny toilet area in bedroom. Not ideal for a family of 4. However, the rooms were exactly as described and were very good value for money and it was worth this small negative to stay in such a fantastic location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Step up from a backpackers - just

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Location was good, except for the Thai massage parlour at one end of the ally/street.We got quite a shock, esp my children. Maybe it is only for feet
Cons: Simple things like the kettle didn't work, no loo brush, lack of towels, horrible smell in the fridge making it unusable - need to up your game
Location: Could always have a Thai massage at the end of the street
Stayed here with here with my family, 2 kids 11+8, quaint, noisy, hot and rather disappointing all round for the money. Room looked nice online but all of the above true so regretted choice in retrospect. Will select a proper hotel for the money next time. Stayed 2 nights in a Novotel air con family room 1.5hrs from Paris City center immediately before, great family room but location far too far out. Helzear - the location is nice and central - first impression of the block is nice and quaint with all the rooms looking into each other, cobbled courtyard and white shutters etc.. all nice and quaint and very French.. As you might expenct there's no AC so everybody above ground level has their windows open. This arrangement means that you can hear everything, conversations, TVs, so it's not for you if you want a quite stay. Apparently can ask for a fan but we were unsuccessful in securing one.. the white noise would have been nice too.. There are signs from the 20+ residents who live there stating 'this is not a hotel etc' I'd have done the same thing. Our apartment was nice to look at but very hot, no air, underground/metro noise every 60sec but hey that's the city for you, maybe it was quieter three/four levels up. Simple things like the kettle didn't work, no loo brush, lack of towels, horrible smell in the fridge making it unusable (despite being cleaned by the cleaner), no batteries in the safe making it unusable, etc made the whole operation seem amateurish
1 out of 5
by Mike Bowan from Sydney

Very unsatisfactory...

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived mid-afternoon to find that the apartment we had booked for (the flagship Gabriel apartment) had been given to another customer. We were offered a lesser apartment for the same price, and then two other apartments in locations that we did not wish to travel to. The worst accommodation experience on our holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Very nice appartment, however a little bit of a squeeze for three people.. Lovely staff but couldn't really speak english which made it difficult to organise checking out
1 out of 5
by Mike Bowan from Sydney

You be the judge...

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived mid-afternoon to find that the Gabriel apartment which we had booked for two nights, and pre-paid for, had been given to another customer for both those nights. Without telling us this, we were taken to a less desirable smaller apartment with an ant nest next to the main bed. The reservations team eventually recommended another nearby hotel for our two nights but later would neither cover the difference in price nor even reimburse us for the two nights.
1 out of 5
by Mike Bowan from Sydney

Bad experience...

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived mid-afternoon to find that our booked and pre- purchased accommodation at the Gabriel apartment had been given to someone else. Instead we were taken to a smaller apartment in the same building, with heaps of ants pouring out of a hole in the wall next to the main bed. After discussing these concerns at length, we were placed at an unrelated (lovely) hotel nearby " at our (Helzegear's) cost". Once we were ensconced this promise was also dishonoured. Two major breaches of undertaking.
1 out of 5
by Mike Bowan from Sydney

Not to be trusted

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived mid-afternoon to find that our booked and pre- purchased accommodation at the Gabriel apartment had been given to someone else. In a classic bait and switch, we were taken to a poky apartment in the same building, with a multitude of ants pouring out of a hole in the wall next to the main bed. After discussing these concerns at length, we were placed at an unrelated (lovely) hotel nearby " at our (Helzegear's) cost". Once we were ensconced this promise was also dishonoured. Two major breaches of contract from an unprofessional outfit.