Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Godd budget hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable without frills. Lots of bistros and cafes. Excellent if you want to see Paris and not break the bankon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location yet common hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Location is very near to the Lyon railway station, around 5-10 minutes walking distance. Very small room, my check-in luggage is difficult to move in thourgh the door. Everything is clean, having one window, no air conditioner, no coffee/tea maker, very smaller bathroom no bathroom door, so the shower water can easily flow outside into the living room. There are supermarket and restaurant nearby, easy to find food to eat. I've booked from hotels.com website, cost S$100, around euro 65 per night. City tax euro 0.99 per person per night is charged when you check out. Overall, it is a basic hotel only good for catch train, not comfortable for stay longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An old favourite

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
This is a basic French 2 star hotel in a convenient location. During the years we have been stayed there, more businesses have opened nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey USA

Pleasant, Comfortable Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Good location. Pleasant staff.
Cons: Air conditioning might be nice.
Location: Close to Metro and Gare de Lyon. Many cafes.
By no means a gem, but clean, with very pleasant and helpful staff. It is close to the Metro and the Gare de Lyon, which was important to catch an early train to Geneva. The neighborhood is good, with numerous cafes. I enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
by Nader from Addis Ababa

nice staff and good location

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the hotel for three nights.The hotel provides basic service. I like the reception staff. They were very professional, friendly and helpful. Throughout our stay the free Wifi was good and fast. The location was good as it is near the Gare de Lyon train station and metro station, which we easily used in our transportation in Paris. One thing I did not like was lack of air condition, it was difficult to sleep first night with hot weather.
4 out of 5
by Josie from Blackburn

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great location for the arena
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Convenient Location for Travellers

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Cons: Apparently not all of the rooms have yet been renovated and so our experience could be different from others who stay in the older rooms.
Location: Short walk to train station and metro in an area of small restaurants and cafes. Good for people watching.
We booked a basic upper floor room for our one night stay as a stopover before our return flight home. We have stayed at Helvetia a number of times in the past because of its convenient easy walking distance from Gare de Lyon and its proximity to a number of good restaurants/bars on a main street. Our corner room had been recently renovated and had 4 windows including a door to a narrow outside deck running on both sides of the room. The hotel reception was friendly and efficient making checking in and out fast and easy. Although located on a busy street, once the windows were closed the room was quiet making for a peaceful night's sleep.
5 out of 5
by sean

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicester uk

Hotel convenient for gate de Lyon

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Very helpful staff, rooms surprisingly roomy, comfortable bed.