Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great for montmatre

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Reception area and location
Cons: Size of bathrooms
Location: would recommend restaurants, le garde temps, le sebon, chez toinette and le sancerre. Visit sacre coeur. Rue des martyrs is a great street too.
Second stay at Hotel Basss. Perfect location for the area. Really buzzy with loads of restaurants, cafes and cool shops on your doorstop. Staff are lovely. All speak english, really helpful. Only 20 mins from gare du nord. Rooms are small so always ask for a superior room. It's like a cool hostel with lovely beds. Bathrooms are tiny!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Good location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Well located in central Monmatre on busy street but nice and quiet. Hotel adequate but cramped and a bir claustraphobic though they have tried hard to save space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Comfortable hotel in trendy setting close to Metro

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The Hotel us situated in the Montmartre village, very vibey and not at all touristy. Loved the afternoon coffee ! Breakfast great too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would definitely stay here again!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful. Location was great, close to the metro!
Cons: The room only had a good mirror in the bathroom. Mirror in room was hard to see and the lighting wasn't the best.
Location: Location was decent. Close walk to metro. Good restaurants and bakeries in walking distance!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location. Walk out to cute restaurants.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Oh its great! Located in a nice area with nice restaurants in the street.
The room was clean, comfy and in good conditions. The ONLY issue is the bath room. The shower is too small and the curtain is set up in a way that it touches you as you shower. If you try to move the curtain away from you, the floor gets wet. If they fix the showers, this place is super nice! And even with showers that wet the floor, we had a nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Good price and location but not ideal

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Price, friendliness of staff, location, cleanliness, locked luggage storage after checkout
Cons: Stronger Wi-Fi, harder mattress, more pillows (4 for double bed), hand towels
Location: Great location in Montmartre, close to restaurants (but don't go to Cafe Nazir; they overcharge tourists); near Metro and bus
The price is reasonable, the staff is very friendly, and the location is great. There is a locked place to leave baggage on the last day if you're staying around past checkout time, and that was also a great feature. We asked for a room facing the courtyard but were assigned one facing the street; it was very quiet anyway, once we figured out how to close the windows (not easy). The worst thing was that the bathroom was as small as you could possibly imagine (if you're obese I'm not sure you'd fit in it at all), and the toilet was so close to the facing wall that I had to be careful not to hit my head on the wall when getting up from the seat. I was also unhappy that the free Wi-Fi in the room is virtually nonexistent; we had to not only go into the (small) lobby to use Wi-Fi but also to sit very close to the front desk. Also: the bed was too soft for me (softer than in most hotels); there were only two very small pillows (and only two towels, one large one for each person); and the cost of making a local call from the room was exorbitant (though when we argued they reduced it by more than 2/3). Still, given the price and location, I wouldn't entirely rule out staying here (though "recommend" might be too strong a word).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel and location.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable. Friendly and helpful hotel staff. Lovely breakfast. Can book stuff online in reception.
Cons: Room was small and the bathroom and shower snug but you couldn't change that and it was fine. Good Air Con.
Location: Montmartre/ Sacre Coeur/ Moulin Rouge/ shops/ cafes and restaurants all easy walking distance.
Excellent location. Lovely street. Walking distance for Montmartre/ Sacre Coeur and Pigalle. Handy for Metro. Walking distance from Gare Du Nord.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vienna, Virginia

very pleased, will go back.

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: The neighborhood, staff ( young, new generation) and the comfortable bed. Nice restaurants nearby. Lively. Close to Sacre Coeur/ Montmartre.
Cons: Breakfast variety. It was exactly the same for 10 days. THEY CHARGED ME 90€ FOR LOCAL PHONE CALLS. This needs to stop.
Location: Amazing location, steps away from cafes, restaurants, bars, shopping and Montmartre Walkable to Gallery Lafayette, Printemps, Moulin Rouge and metro
Very nice overall. Small room by American standards, but hey, get used to it, you're in Paris! Bed very very comfortable. Staff lovely. Continental breakfast repetitive but nice; exact same thing every day. Since I stayed 10 days, breakfast started to get boring, but it was included, thanks to Expedia. Very close to 2 metro stations. Very walkable to Montmartre. Lively till 1:00-2:00 am. Safe. If you walk up the 200 steps to Place du Tertre, you'll feel safe walking back to the hotel. Place Du Tertre is where artists gather to sketch your portrait. Be careful because gypsies gather to distract you and pick your pocket. Do not stop to talk to them, no matter how needy they seem. Police is very well present but in civilian clothes, so you don't see them but you'll know they're there if something happens. No reason to worry but watch your belongings. Do not stop to sign petitions; they pretend to be deaf and mute, gathering signatures. One more important thing: DO NOT USE THE ROOM PHONE TO MAKE EVEN LOCAL CALLS. They charged me 90€ for this the last day. You'd think local calls are free. If you'd like to see the neighborhood, go to maps.google.com punch in the address and go to "Street View" it's all there, turn by turn. Overall it was truly magnificent to be in this neighborhood. J'aime Paris!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Great location, clean and comfortable room, the only thing was the small shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best neighborhood in Paris!

Posted Apr 1, 2015
I love this hotel. Rue des Abbesses has fabulous restaurants, La Mascotte, across from the hotel and Villa des Abessess on the corner. Hyat, at reception, and Jade in the cafe are exceptional. They go out of their way to make you comfortable, and to make sure that all of your needs are met. They have recently remodeled and it's very chic and up to date . The only improvement that I would suggest is a better mattress and comforter.