Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Disappointing quality for a three star hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Location is good near shopping areas
Cons: Complete make-over
Although the staff is quite nice, we found that the hotel facilities and rooms were in need of serious work. Very old carpets (seemed dirty, but probably just too ragged), old bed blankets, scratched paint everywhere, small towels, tiny room and bathroom. Very hard to get around bed given the cramped spaces. We were so disappointed that we checked out early and went to another hotel which was only 10% more expensive but 100% better. The staff person was surprised when we told them that the reason we were checking out early was the quality of the room - clearly he needs to get out and see other hotels in the area. VERY surprised that this hotel has three stars - barely makes it to two in my book.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by CHAPUIS David, Hotel Management
Dear, Our rooms are not very big, 12 square meters for Single , 15 for double and 20 for triple. We keep making some work to modernize our service. Carpeting are shampoed and blanket wahed once a week. We are Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money.

Posted Oct 28, 2013
I definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there in my next stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by CHAPUIS David, Hotel Management
Dear, Thank you for writing this review. Sincerely yours,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very small

Posted Sep 22, 2013
We have stayed in this hotel 2 nights and the only word that recalls the hotel is "small".. the rooms , doorway,lift , everything in this hotel is very small. The photos are a bit the contrary of reality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by David CHAPUIS, Hotel Management
Dear, Yes we are a familly hotel in the center of Paris and realestate is very expensive this is why we think small is beautiful. Our double rooms are 15 square meters. Sincerely sorry you did not like your stay with us. Sincerely yours, David CHAPUIS, Hôtel CHARING CROSS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Barbados

Nice little hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Internet service
Location: Perfect
The online pics of this hotel are somewhat misleading. The general feeling is one of being cramped for room ( elevator, staircase, corridors, etc). In fact our room ( for 3 adults) was much smaller than anticipated. Having said that, the hotel was spectacularly clean with very helpful and informative staff. Its location suited us perfectly with easy access to the Metro, Bus Tours and the shopping districts. Our biggest inconvenience was an internet service which was frustratingly unreliable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dreadful place.

Posted Oct 17, 2012
the room is too small and the window almost don't open! no ventilation, no good service, nothing good. the only one good thing is the picture of the entrance.
2 out of 5
by Rich from New England

disappointing condition but good location

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: the location, convenience to metro
Cons: run-down condition
Location: the Gare St. Lazare is a 2 minute walk, making the metro extremely accessible. also good neighborhood, not too far from Madeleine and Concorde.
The desk staff were pleasant, helpful and made every effort to be accommodating. The room, though in clean condition, was extremely small, even by European standards. They were not able to provide a shower chair for one of our party who needs to sit to shower, so she had to make due precariously without one. The most disappointing aspect of this hotel was its run-down condition. The overall appearance could be described as seedy, and we don't understand how it qualifies for 3 stars. There were renovations going on in the lobby and stairwell, the smell of paint, and the elevator did not work on our departure day, which required our carrying all our luggage down the stairs. We could smell cigarette smoke even though smoking was prohibited. With updates and a good makeover, this hotel could be an excellent choice for the visitor to Paris, because of its excellent location.
2 out of 5
by John from Florida

Would not go there again

Posted Jun 19, 2012
Beds and pillows were very old and uncomfortable. Room had a bad odor and No A/C. Lots of noise in the hallway with painting project underway. Location was fine. Service was OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Okay, but would not go back

Posted Jan 12, 2012
There were 3 of us staying, and it was a fairly tight squeeze. There were renovations going on and quite noisy. Generally noise form next room and hall were quite audible. Clean and staff were nice though. Given this and the fact no breakfast included we found it expensive.
2 out of 5
by Kev.F from Kent, England.

Never Again!!!

Posted Dec 14, 2011
This is definitely not a 3 Star Hotel more like a 1-2 Star. Breakfast is very expensive and poor quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Voorhees,NJ

April in Paris

Posted Apr 20, 2011
The rooms are small, but that's Paris. Location excellent-close to metro, train, and Starbucks! The front desk personnel were kind and helpful. They stored our luggage the day we checked out for the afternoon/evening. It was clean and quaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
You are located in the center of Paris which explains why our rooms are not very big. Our price room which is very reasonable for our location is proportional to the room size. Thank you for the nice review.