Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Wildly overpriced hotel with appalling plumbing.

Posted Nov 21, 2015
The first night our bathroom was flooded and we had to move rooms after we had already unpacked with no help. We were still charged for the night. Staircase steep; breakfast terrible and exorbitant; building works noisy and disruptive. Blankets old. Light bulbs burned out. No lights in wall cupboard. Depressingly dim. Charged the price of a Junior suite for a twin bedroom with a disgusting bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Space & location

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Spectacular room size, quiet. Was once the English Consulate so it has fun details and good bones. Location is on a quiet street.
Cons: As stated, completion of renovations.
Location: Louvre, Notre Dame Cathedral, Musee d'Orsay, shopping (Louis Vuitton)
This hotel is in a great location by the Seine, Louvre (on the other side) and other great sights and ample dining spots. The rooms are very spacious by Paris standards. Our room needs a bit of spiffing up in the bathroom as it shows its age. Our living area in the jr. suite had a king bed with plenty of room for a large sofa and chairs as well. The room was in the inner courtyard so it was quiet even with the windows open in the evenings. We've used this hotel in the past and they have been continuously making improvements to the property, including other rooms and baths. The updates are great as our fiends had a room with a new bath and it was very nice. I imagine all will eventually get the same treatment. Our front desk lady was superb with dining recommendations and taxi calls. We highly recommend the hotel but will not give it the highest rating until renovations are completed. We walked to the places we wanted to see (a quick trip this time).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa,CA

"Shabby Chick"

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Very helpful staff. Quiet, off the street rooms. Center of St. Germain. Huge beautiful rooms. Prices consistent with other hotels in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Virginia from Switzerland

A new favorite

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely and gracious staff and hotel. Neighborhood one of the best. No negatives,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Honeymooners' Delight

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
I wanted to give my wife a bit of the Paris that her favorite author wrote about during our honeymoon, and so I spent a bit extra for Papa's first Paris hotel. We arrived to Paris early AM, had an easy time arriving by train and subway (the St. Germain de Pres stop is a block away from the hotel) from Charles de Gaulle. The staff was extremely helpful, held our bags for us until we could check into our room, and had the bags waiting for us in our room when we came back around 1 to check in. There are a plethora of great restaurants within a block radius, and so many great Paris sights nearby. The room was comfortable, quiet, and remarkably cool for not having A/C in July during a heatwave. The breakfast was nice and affordable, and the courtyard was a nice place to have a glass of wine and chat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Maargrete from Oslo

Hotell med sjel i et godt miljø

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Hotellets beliggenhet er utmerket, de ansatte yter veldig god og personlig service. Meget bra renhold. Hyggelig atmosfære, frokosten inntas i en "spisestue". Hotellet har et atrium hvor man kan spise frokost eller ta et glass vin. Jeg har bodd på d'Angleterre i mange år - hver gang jeg er i Paris, og jeg har ingen tanker om å bytte hotell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great rooms and location.

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Out room in Hotel d'Angleterre was very large by Paris standards. No A/C however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Nice hotel near to centre activities and sights

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Have air conditioning.
Location: St Germain des Pres metro stop 5 minutes away, so you can go anywhere in the city fairly quickly.
The hotel staff are welcoming and efficient. I was shown to my room. My only issue is the absence of air conditioning, as the temperature was near 30 C (90 F). A fan only goes so far. Breakfast was continental as expected and coffee good. Walking distance for everything I was there for.