Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faded Glory

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff.
Strange room, on a half landing just off the main stair, seemed as though we got the worst room because we booked through an agency. Loo at one end without wash basin, then the bedroom, then the bathroom.
5 out of 5
by Alan

Great Service and Great Location,

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms are large for Paris, but the double bed was a bit small, have been many times and will continue to return.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Beijing

Rooms with character

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
Boutique hotel with real character complete with antique furniture and old/antique fittings, although with necessary modern comforts
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Edinburgh

Perfect mid-week stay

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Completely recommend, a lovely quiet hotel in a busy vibrant area of Paris. Would love to go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location near Latin Quarter

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
Best aspect of this hotel is location with plenty to do and see on the left bank within walking distance, just at the west end of the Latin Quarter. Metro is about two blocks away. Louvre and Notre Dame are walkable, though a bit longer than the Orsay. Also located a few blocks from a major shopping street and the fashion district. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bathroom fixtures old but clean. Room showing its age in some peeling paint and old old wallpaper. WiFi worked well. A lot of noise from the street late some nights due to all the bistros and restaurants nearby, and also early in the morning picking up the trash. Located on a side street there was little traffic (auto) noise. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Wildly overpriced hotel with appalling plumbing.

Posted Nov 21, 2015
The first night our bathroom was flooded and we had to move rooms after we had already unpacked with no help. We were still charged for the night. Staircase steep; breakfast terrible and exorbitant; building works noisy and disruptive. Blankets old. Light bulbs burned out. No lights in wall cupboard. Depressingly dim. Charged the price of a Junior suite for a twin bedroom with a disgusting bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Space & location

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Spectacular room size, quiet. Was once the English Consulate so it has fun details and good bones. Location is on a quiet street.
Cons: As stated, completion of renovations.
Location: Louvre, Notre Dame Cathedral, Musee d'Orsay, shopping (Louis Vuitton)
This hotel is in a great location by the Seine, Louvre (on the other side) and other great sights and ample dining spots. The rooms are very spacious by Paris standards. Our room needs a bit of spiffing up in the bathroom as it shows its age. Our living area in the jr. suite had a king bed with plenty of room for a large sofa and chairs as well. The room was in the inner courtyard so it was quiet even with the windows open in the evenings. We've used this hotel in the past and they have been continuously making improvements to the property, including other rooms and baths. The updates are great as our fiends had a room with a new bath and it was very nice. I imagine all will eventually get the same treatment. Our front desk lady was superb with dining recommendations and taxi calls. We highly recommend the hotel but will not give it the highest rating until renovations are completed. We walked to the places we wanted to see (a quick trip this time).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa,CA

"Shabby Chick"

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Very helpful staff. Quiet, off the street rooms. Center of St. Germain. Huge beautiful rooms. Prices consistent with other hotels in the area.
5 out of 5
by Virginia from Switzerland

A new favorite

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely and gracious staff and hotel. Neighborhood one of the best. No negatives,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Honeymooners' Delight

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
I wanted to give my wife a bit of the Paris that her favorite author wrote about during our honeymoon, and so I spent a bit extra for Papa's first Paris hotel. We arrived to Paris early AM, had an easy time arriving by train and subway (the St. Germain de Pres stop is a block away from the hotel) from Charles de Gaulle. The staff was extremely helpful, held our bags for us until we could check into our room, and had the bags waiting for us in our room when we came back around 1 to check in. There are a plethora of great restaurants within a block radius, and so many great Paris sights nearby. The room was comfortable, quiet, and remarkably cool for not having A/C in July during a heatwave. The breakfast was nice and affordable, and the courtyard was a nice place to have a glass of wine and chat.