Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

nice hotel well decorated and great location

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: all the staff at the front desk were great, gracious and helpful, rooms comfortable, clean. location.
Cons: not sure they can upgrade the elevator in an old building. otherwise great.
Location: nice and safe neighborhood, small shops, a few restaurants and cafe's, also the bois de Vincennes nice park with a lake easy connections
we picked this hotel for the location, it is a little bit outside of the major tourist spot but with easy and quick access to the subway and the bus network, (almost at the door of the hotel) and the tram, it's a breeze to go to any location in Paris, the neighborhood is quiet and safe, typically French, with many small shops, a great patisserie across from the Hotel and street markets several days a week. the hotel itself is clean , rooms and beds are comfortable and nicely decorated, quiet also,. The staff at the front desk were great, very helpful and speak English well , WiFi worked well. elevator was narrow, fairly easy to connect with CDG airport, with RER B, get off at Cite Universitaire, take the Tram toward porte de Vincennes and get off at Porte Doree
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy, eco-friendly french hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Great french style rooms in a good neighborhood area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice little hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Cons: They had a sign saying 'Enjoy the complementary cookie and bottle of water'! Sad this that there was no cookie or bottle of water on the table :(
Location: Location is great, with buses, tram, subway and local shops, cafés and restaurants.
When I arrived they had not yet received the confirmation for my reservation so they charged me for the room. I then became aware that it would have been cheaper to book directly with the hotel and save €11.00!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Very easy to find. Staff were all very polite and helpful, and spoke wonderful English. I had an enjoyable stay and would happily return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Dec 22, 2015
The hotel is convenient to thevMetro. Friendly and helpful staff made restarant reservations, helped find Metro connections to places we wanted to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2015
It is located just outside the metro station and it has a really nice staff. It's a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

traditional parisian hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2015
A nice and quiet hotel,apart from the noise of the metro trains you could hear when the train goes by (we were on the first floor). Staff very helpful and gave us some really good tips how to travel around the capital. Breakfast was satisfactory and we were presented with a good range of food to choose from. We had a great 3 day stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not like the photos

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Cons: new mattress and pillows. update key process.
Location: Metro conveniently 20 steps outside the hotel. Quiet, safe area. Bakeries and restaurants everywhere.
The hotel looked like the quintessential Paris hotel. High ceiling, tall french doors, soft colors- simple, elegant and chic. Well, our actual room was about 1/2 the size as that posted on the website and sent as a confirmation. It was necessary to lift a medium suitcase to get it around the back of the bed. The bed was the worst we have encountered in years; lumpy from years of use and covered in crunchy paper. That said the bath was very nicely redone in stone and the french doors opened to a broad view. Know that this hotel asks you to return your single key to the front desk each time you leave the hotel- Notable given the room safes are simply sitting on a shelf (not secured).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Our room was not even close to ththe rooms pictured on their website. Elevator was so small it fit one person and one piece of luggage. Walking 4 floors of stairs is unacceptable for a 3 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel in Paris

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable room.
Cons: Being that close to the Metro means that you can hear trains go by but you get used to it.
Location: Great location near Metro. Several bars/bistros/bakeries within walking distance.
Porte Doree is a quaint hotel in Paris near Gare de Lyon, lots of restaurants and bakeries. Safe neighbourhood even at night. Metro station just steps away. Great friendly staff and very helpfull with directions etc. received a survey one week before arriving asking us if we had any special requests. They arranged for limo sevice back to the airport for us, had water (both sparkling and flat) waiting for us in our room (with cookies) upon arrival. Overall great experience!