Ratings based on 803 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great in every way

Posted May 22, 2017
A hidden gem in Paris. My room (luxe) was spacious, clean and well designed. Breakfast was adequate. The location was a huge bonus with restaurants and a Franprix just steps away. Having stayed at many different boutique Parisian hotels over the years, this is the only hotel that I want to return to for my next visit. And I will be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent Weekend Spoilt By Room Comfort

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: - Great Location - Very friendly, multi-lingual staff - Room Size after VIP Upgrade - Cleanliness and design of the room
Cons: - Air Conditioning: Really needed our room to be cooler but could not change the temperature - Shower design: Water goes EVERYWHERE!
Location: Award-winning bakeries, Restaurants, Bistros and close to Metro Station.
My Girlfriend and I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The location is superb - about a 5 minute walk from Oberkampf Metro. Lots of lovely little bakeries and restaurants nearby too. As an Expedia VIP, we received a room upgrade which was a lovely surprise! Staff were extremely friendly, multi-lingual and helpful throughout our stay as well. Unfortunately one issue - you cannot control the temperature in the rooms! Despite there being a thermostat, the temperature could not be changed - so our room was like a sauna during the night! Spoke to reception immediately who confirmed the temperature was changed centrally the week before to combat a cold week but had not been changed back. The only way we could get cool was to open windows but unfortunately the traffic noise on a Saturday night after midnight was very loud! This meant a lack of sleep and took away from what was otherwise a lovely stay. I would highly recommend this hotel if the air conditioning worked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Best hotel in Republic area.... belive me I tried them all :-) ... very plsesent, helpful staff & always with a smile even early in the morning serving breakfast. Rooms are clean and well kept and most important great beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Economic but beautiful!

Posted May 10, 2017
Close to metro station, lots of nice restaurants and boulangeries with delicious pastries and sandwiches around. Even if your are not fond to use the Metro ( we got my husband's wallet emptied on Anvers station) the Uber service is fast and cheap. I'll happily return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Big, beautiful room.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Marais neighborhood. Tons of cafes, shopping, Centres George Pompidou, Picasso Museum.....
Room was beautiful and close to a major metro hub in a great neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the money - close to the Metro

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location, great staff, comfortable room.
Location: The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Republique and Oberkapmf metro stations. From those two stations you can go all over Paris.
I had a great three nights at the hotel. My room was small but very modern and smartly constructed. There is a surprising amount of storage space and the bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping kept everything very tidy. All of the hotel staff were friendly, efficient, and helpful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Renovated hotel in excellent location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location, service and cleanliness.
Cons: They should install a glass door in the shower area.
Location: Great bakeries, supermarket, restaurants, bistros, bars, public transit. Walking distance to the Pere-Lachaise cemetery.
The Place de la Republique is a great location filled with restaurants, bars, bakeries and access to several subway lines. The hotel is very well renovated and rooms are excellent, though very small. Following the French norm, washrooms and toilets are in separate rooms inside the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

In good location with excellent transport links

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Within walking distance of many tourist sites and plenty of nice cafes and restaurants nearby.
Room was clean and comfortable and there was a bath. Breakfast was good - plentiful with fruit juice, fruit, different cereals, different pastries, tea and coffee. Friendly and helpful staff who all spoke good English.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location near canal but underwhelming hotel.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Size and comfort of the room
Cons: No VIP amenities at check in as was promised. The shower leaks water all over the floor and into the main room. Make sure to put towels down!
The hotel room was rather large for Paris, modern and comfortable. The staff was ok and did speak English. The overall amenities we sub par but the room itself was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Devon, England

Comfortable hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location, room design and cleanliness; helpful welcoming staff; great breakfast.
Cons: Nothing to suggest
Location: Walking distance of the Marais, Bastille Market, Metro stations of Republique and Oberkampf, lots of shops, cafes and restaurants.
The Hotel Gabriel exceeded our expectations. It was a really comfortable, modern little hotel, in a quiet street -considering it was off the Avenue de la République. The staff were really friendly and helpful and responded to this visit being a birthday celebration. The room was a comfortable size, well set out with a good size en-suite. The room was cleaned and the bed made each day, making returning back after our Paris explorations a real treat. The biggest surprise was their breakfast. It was great. A buffet breakfast with fresh pastries, lovely crisp bread, cereal,meat and cheese, fresh fruit and good coffee or tea to choose from. The breakfast room was comfortable and smart and the staff were welcoming and helpful. It was very close to the Metro stations of Republique and Oberkampf, so it was very convenient for us; one Metro journey from Gare du Nord after the train in from the airport. Excellent boulangeries, cafes and restaurants are situated within 100metres, so there was no shortage of local refreshments. It was also within walking distance of the Marais, Bastille Market (on Sunday), and all of the areas we wanted to visit. The hotel contributed enormously to us having a fantastic few days in Paris. Thank you and well done Hotel Gabriel.