Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Quyen from California

Good location

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Clean and modern. Service lacking in attention and hospitality. Short walking distance to cathedral And town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Staff was really accommodating, have a nice in-hotel restaurant, well worth it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

You get what you pay

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Improve the reception area, it has the space to do it, it is really tight. Improve the first floor outside to make it look nicer.
Location: Close to the republique it is a nice place to hang out. Close to the train stations if you want to go to another cities only one or two stations away
Clean room, decent place, wifi works in all floors(I had a room on the 6th floor), basically you get what you pay. If you are trying to save bucks it is a good option but less comfort. It has an excellent location for traveling because it has the Metro right in front of the hotel, the Republique is two blocks away which is a nice park to hang out. The weather was nice but in my room I didn't have Air Conditioner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no toilet door!

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was pretty good. The only "problem" was that the toilet which was next to the main corridor had no door! The location is good, although the neighbourhood was not the best. Nothing dangerous happened but we were extra carefully while walking in that area.
4 out of 5
by Jon from USA

A Decent, Cheap Option

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels
For a young couple, this was a very reasonably priced hotel and just what we needed. By no means is it anything other than the bare minimum- bed, bathroom, small tv- but it was perfect for us. We only used our room for sleeping and showering and charging our phones, anyway. They cleaned the room daily and gave fresh towels. The guys running the front desk were always friendly and happy to  give directions or elementary French lessons. Very close to several metro options, a small grocery store, and decent restaurants or fast food if you are in a pinch (the better, authentic food was a quick metro ride away).
1 out of 5
by Stefano from Finland

wish-to-be hotel in average location

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
I was in Paris for a conference, and spent five nights at the hotel bien etre. The "reception" is a 2x2 room, connected to a dismantled snack bar. There is no elevator, and steep stairs going up to 5 floors: it can be a problem if one is not fit or has a large luggage. The room smelled really bad the first night, then I complained about it and it improved a bit: evidently it hadn't been cleaned thoroughly in a while. There is no closet, and the very few things inside the room seem taken from a second hand shop. To bathroom, as basic as it can get, has no door, and when you leave the room you can wave goodbye to who's sitting on the toilet. For the same price (I paid 89 EUR/night) you can get a comfortable room in a decent hotel in Pigalle or Montparnasse, which are still close to the center. Beware: once you check in, if you want to check out early, you won't get any refund.
3 out of 5
by dave from London

ideal location

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels
first impressions were not good, especially as we were placed on the 6th floor,which was up 6 flights of stairs, ( no lift ), the room was basic and sparse, no seating, apart from the bathroom there were no mirrors.All very negative, but if you are looking for somewhere just to sleep whilst you go out and about this is ideal. The metro is just outside and there are countless places to eat and drink and you are not far from anything.The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and managed to answer all of our queries, if you look beyond the 1st impressions this is an ideal place to stay and i would certainly stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel. from Somerset, UK

OK for a short stay if you are a budget traveller.

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: The main good point about this hotel was its convenient city centre location.
Cons: Replace the room radiator. Also put a door on the toilet cubicle as there is only a door between the bedroom and connecting corridor
Location: The hotel is close to the Nord and Est stations plus a metro station close by. Also supermarkets conveniently nearby.
Quite a good view overlooking Blvd De Magenta, very much a typical Parisian city centre view. No lift so if your room is on the upper floors and you have heavy luggage then you are going to find it a struggle. Also there was no on/off control on the room radiator. We had to drape a towel over it to prevent the room from getting too hot and stuffy as it was permanently turned on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but noisy

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Location: Excellent location near a metro station, near Republique, near a lovely covered market, near canal Saint Martin...
Overpriced for its category, spartan furnishings - not even a table and chair! Perhaps more importantly : a noisy place on a boulevard that guarantees traffic noise round the clock.