Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value and a good base for paris on a budget.

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Metro right outside. Lift and a/c a plus. Double glazed so no noise from busy road outside. Supermarkets and lots of cafes and shops on doorstep. Good base from seeing paris on a bugget. Cosy and basic. Would return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment, we hope to see you again soon! All the reception team Ana, Abdel, Hafid and Alban
4 out of 5
by Mona

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: metro (subway) is just on the side corner, clean room. Cons: dark hallways, very tiny sink, not much selection for breakfast, looks dingy-looking lobby. Not quite 3-star hotel, more like 2.5 star. Hotel needs to brighten up the hallway and the lobby more welcoming because these are the first things guests notice. If you get past these eyesore, room is not bad with basic necessities. Unfortunately, sink is just too tiny for comfortable hygiene. Tolerable hotel if you are out most of the time.
1 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson Az

Very nice close to the metro station and walking d

Posted Nov 22, 2015
The receptionist Mrs Ana was very professional and ready to help for any situation very good breakfast and service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Sylvia Opera

Recommanded for musicians

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Orbitz
Very good value for the money. I wish the door to the WC would be placed in a way it is possible to open it properly... Otherwise, great location for me on the métro line I use the most, from the opera to the Philharmonie and the Gare du Nord. I recommend it to musicians!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tadej H.

good trip

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on HotelClub
it was ok, we didnt have any problems, i am sattisfied
1 out of 5
by Ginette

Do not stay here

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
The room was not ready. The television does not swivel or move up or down so it was impossible to view unless you stood on the bed. The room was minuscule and brushing your teeth was impossible without bashing your head on the shelf adobe the sink. Spend a few more euros evening it is just for a layover as it was for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Alban, Hotel Management
Dear Ginette Thank you to have chosen Hotel Le Canal for your stay in Paris. Our single rooms are 11,5 squared meters which is above the minimals for a 3 stars hotel. We also have double and superior rooms which are bigger. We would be pleased to welcome you again. Kind regards Canal Team
4 out of 5
by Johanna from Fort lauderdale, Fl

Small but perfect!

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was attentive and extremely helpful! Great room in the 12th district, just steps away from the metro! Even off a busy street, when my Windows were closed, traffic noise was not an issue! Small room, small bathrooms but it fit the bill perfectly - a secure place to sleep for the night, see Paris, and save a few euros! Grocery store and bakery near by! Loved my stay - will be back! And yes, the hotel has a elevator and contineal breakfast (in the basement)!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Alban, Hotel Management
Dear Johanna Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased you had a nice stay with our team in our hotel. You are most welcome @Hotel Le Canal for your next visit in Paris. Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Small room but good value

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Location: The area around the hotel is not super nice, but I was never afraid or sketched out.
This hotel is right next to a metro stop, so it is easy to get to and find. Convenient for traveling to other parts of the city as well. I visited in June 2015. The room itself was extremely small, just big enough for a bed, two suitcases, and a small bathroom, but it was clean, comfortable, and had everything you would need. Great A/C! For the price, I think it was a good value. The front desk was especially wonderful. They let us store our luggage with them for a long time, after we had checked out, and they were always available when we needed them.