Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Wonderful Hotel in Perfect Location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: This boutique hotel is so central for walking to everything. Sights all nearby, plus a huge selection of shops. The hotel made our stay wonderful.
Cons: Nothing really. The hotel delivers on everything a guest might want.
Location: Within walking distance of the major sights. The Louvre, the Tuileries gardens, Notre Dame, Musee D'Orsay, Arc d'Triumphe, etc. Lovely cafes, etc.
I took my granddaughter for her first whist to Paris. We wanted to stay within walking distance of the major sights and museums. Plus close to the top boutiques and shops in the city. We had a terrific time for the five days there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Aline SEVILLANO Sales Manager, Hotel Lumen Paris, Hotel Management
Dear Christina, We would like to thank you very much for taking time to give us feedback about your experience at the LUMEN. Your satisfaction and a good review are the best reward to us. It was a pleasure to have you and your granddaughter with us. We hope that we will get the luck to welcome you again soon. The entire LUMEN team thank you very much once again. Many thanks and best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

5th Stay, but likely not again

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast and breakfast staff
Cons: Front desk, Wi-Fi, service, state of hotel, maid service
Location: Great location near shopping, metro station, Louvre, St. Honore, and so much more
I've stayed at the Lumen at least 5 times so that says something about the great location and wonderful breakfast buffet. However this particular room was the smallest EVER as you couldn't even get the window open w/o moving the bed or the closet w/o closing the bathroom door. Yes, it's old in need of paint and patching, but I always gave it a pass because of the location and breakfast staff. However this last stay not only did our toilet get clogged, but because it happened at 10pm there was only one poor soul who was also handling the front desk. He told us no one from service was there so he couldn't help. When we pressed on just asking for a plunger roughly 20-25 minutes later he showed up with one and we had to take care of the problem ourselves as he didn't know what to do. Not only that, but our room was hot and the AC not working so he had to make a change to the system to get it going which took another 20 minutes. Then at 11:30pm he knocks on the door as apparently someone else was having an issue, but he accidentally came to our room. Mind you we had a plane to catch to Spain at 7am so we already had to get up at 4:30pm. If this had been my first stay it would have been my last. There are tons of hotels to choose from so I will not return. FYI the free Wi-Fi is terrible and has been this way for years as they've clearly made no effort to correct the poor connection. The topper was that the maids didn't come on Friday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

location & breakfast

Posted Nov 13, 2016
It's more about the location of this cute boutique hotel and inclusive breakfast that makes it a great option. The hotel is old and front desk aren't the greatest. Rooms are small, but this is my 4th time here so the pluses do outweigh the negative. Not the place for you if staying in the room is more important than venturing out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not pleased

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
The best thing about this hotel was the location. It is located near the Louvre and Jardin des Tuileries as well as all the luxury shopping you can dream of. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes as well so you have quite an abundance to choose from. The Pyramides metro is also very close so transportation is no problem at all. The main problem I have with this hotel is the room we were given. We specifically booked a a superior room in July and we requested a quiet room NOT on the first floor. But the room we got instead was exactly what we did not want or request for- we got a room on the first floor right in front of Rue des Pyramides in view and hearing of all the traffic, people, garbage collection, drunken fights, and any kind of noise that occurs on a major avenue in the heart of Paris. Needless to say, a sound and comforting sleep was a challenge. When I told the conceierge right after we checked in and saw our room location, all he said were the rooms were all booked up so therefore we could not change rooms. This would be perfectly acceptable if we booked the last minute and made no requests but since we booked and prepaid for our rooms months ago, I would think they could have tried to honor our request for the type of room we specified for. Plus, after checking the room descriptions on their website, I don't think we even got the right room size. So overall, the room was terrible, service was okay, breakfast was good, and location was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant!

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely brilliant, just wish we could get it right in London. The breakfast was fantastic, staff was brilliant, location was great as we walked every where so close and convenient to everything
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located for visiting the Louvre

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel was pretty nice, the staff were great. The best thing about staying here was the free breakfast, it was delicious and served from 7-10AM everyday. Never had a chance to eat at their restaurant since it's closed Monday/Tuesday but I imagine it was also good. Good location if you want to check out the Louvre. Our room was a little bit hot and the Wi-fi didn't work well from it. We went down to the lobby and were able to get it but kind of an inconvenience. The TV also stopped working halfway through our stay. It was nice you could open the windows though and get some cool fresh air. Overall, not a bad stay but might consider looking at other hotels in the area next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Absolutely recommed this hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
We LOVED this hotel. We planned a 4-day 3-night first time trip to Paris. The hotel was clean, well appointed, above average for comfort and style. We selected a superior room, and glad for it. The room included bathrobes and slippers, and extra bathroom amenities. The location was ideal, within 5 minute walk to the Louve, the Seine river, the park. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted. In addition, a tourist booking office was down the street allowing easy access to the start of our purchased tours. The staff were exceptional. We speak only English, they always accommodated our need for English and never hesitated. The buffet breakfast was well worth the purchase (which we included in the room rate). The coffee was exceptional. Henri was especially helpful when we needed to print tickets for an event we wanted to attend. He was willing to accept our confirmation via email and print the linked documents. He was helpful to direct us to eating places. The checkout was smooth and the staff gave us bottled water on our departure. We were exceptionally pleased with this property, recommend it highly, and would return given the opportunity. Awesome experience. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel excellent location

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Had a very nice stay at hotel lumen staff was very helpful restaurant was very good and location location location enough said if York thinking about it just do it!!!
2 out of 5
by Matthew from California

4 star... not sure about that...

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was very old, broken and dusty. Their mini bar was missing items and the shower handles were broken. Plugs were falling out of their sockets and the black out blinds were not cleaned in such a long time. After pulling them shut it just released a lot of dust.