Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from New Jersey, NY metro

Great location, superbly attentive staff

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: Location, staff, accommodating attitudes of all.
Cons: Fans are a must in summer, but the hotel provided them. Interiors were plain but OK; not much they can do to expand the rooms.
Location: The Metro is right there. Montmartre is nearby. A red light district is a mile away, but this neighborhood is good, attracting young folk at night.
The location is great; next to a Metro station at the Place de Clichy, with lots of good restaurants. (Try seafood at Wepler.) Montmartre is in walking distance, and I even rolled my luggage to the hotel from the Gare du Nord (1 1/2 miles away), past the Moulin Rouge. Just across the street from the JG is a supermarket, "Simply City," with daily fresh fruits, tarts, and even fresh pastries (packaged), plus Le Bonne Maman jams and packaged Roquefort for you to buy to take home on your last day. ATMs abound. The staff is supremely nice and accommodating. I arrived during a July 2012 heat wave of daily temperatures in the 90s. Most cheaper Parisian hotels have no air conditioning and here even electric fans were scarce. But after a couple of days, good floor fans suddenly appeared in my and others' rooms, and at the front desk. I suspect management took pity on us all and got us new fans. Good for them. When I needed a computer print-out of a voucher for a tour to Mont Saint Michel I arranged online the night before the trip, the front desk had me just email them and they printed it out. They also let me into my room a couple of hours early when I first arrived (they will of course also take your luggage). I didn't try the 11 euro breakfast; it looked pretty good, though not really a bargain. The main drawback: the rooms are small, and so are the bathrooms (but they are private bathrooms). Bigger than Hong Kong rooms. Excellent value. Will change its name next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Experience

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Small hotel but very clean ,staff is wonderful and very pleasant, they all speak English , place is very close to place de cliche metro abt 5 min walk. Moulin rouge is just there about 10 min walk, you can walk up to sacre couer cathedral and experience the Montmartre area .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Perth WA, Australia

Paris

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: VERY small room
Location: Not far from Moulin Rouge
Very small room, but was close to train, and enjoyed the atmosphere of the area. Very affordable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Claire from Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

A decent budget stay

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: Very helpful staff and great location
Cons: Very small bathroom and thin walls
Location: Good cafes and restaurants nearby
This hotel is great value for money, and the staff were very friendly (and did speak very good English, though they did quite appreciate if you tried a bit of French!). The rooms are fairly small, especially the shower, but it does the job if you only want somewhere to sleep and get washed before exploring Paris. The hotel is very close to Place de Clichy metro station, where you can get the metro to Gare de Nord (via La Chapelle) or central Paris (champs elysee) and is close to some great cafes and restaurants. The Moulin Rouge is about a 10 minute walk away. Overall, a decent budget stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from Cumbria, U.K.

Calm, straightforward and decent hotel.

Posted Nov 14, 2012
Pros: Felt safe
Location: Not too streety at the weekend
The staff all made me feel welcome- despite my poor French. A problem with the room keycard was sorted without the snobby pomp sometimes found in Paris. No-one pushed me about & the one time I wanted quiet & privacy- I got it without any fuss. The room was straight-forward, clean and warm, quiet, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice for a 3 star hotel

Posted May 8, 2012
Good value for money. Convenient location being only 5 minutes walk from Place de Clicey metro station. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. Room was nice, very comfortable bed and crisp fresh linen on the bed. Only negative would be not very good sound insulation. You could hear talking in adjacent rooms and doors opening closing. Take ear plugs if you want to sleep in in the mornings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

excellent location noisy!

Posted May 2, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: noisy
Location: great for runners and those that like to relax a bit more- excellent cafe's- heaps of restaurtants around. 2 good grocery stores-
It was actaully an excellent location, but the room was small and VERY NOISY! For a 2 star hotel it was expected. The breakfast buffet is a rip off!!! There are excellent cafe's just outside that are delicious and you can feed your whole family for 10 euros! This is an excellent area for runners- away from the touristy stuff and massive crowds but go early or really late- we stayed in the May and there was a great fresh market outside on Saturday mornings!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lionel from London, UK

Nice budget hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2012
Pros: Price point and location
Cons: Perhaps in a small room, the gap under the bathroom door was slightly too big for a couple trying to impress one another!
No complaints, friendly staff, would recommend for a budget stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Nice hotel good location but small(ish) room

Posted Feb 29, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Small room
Location: 4 or 5 stops on Metro from both Gare du Nord and centre. Nice area
Good location. Handy for Gare du Nord and also centre (Eiffel Tower Louvre etc) as both are only 4 or 5 stops away on Metro. Round corer from Moulin Rouge and Montmarte area is very nice. Restaurants and bars nearby are reasonably priced. Room quite small but served its purpose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fareham

mugs etc not clean in room, road being pulled up at the front of hotel, lift broken down

Posted Jan 3, 2012
rooms were acceptable size. conveniently located to metro, reception area is nicest part of hotel. lift was broken down, 5 floors with luggage not ideal, the road was being pulled up outside the hotel, the mugs had not been cleaned in the room.