Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Renfrew, Ontario, Canada

Hotel Jean Gabriel Review

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
As this was our first trip to Paris, we were not sure what to expect as a couple. We were disappointed with the size of the room however the staff at the hotel were very friendly, as well as accommodating, and the cleanliness of the hotel made up for the disappointment. The location was excellent as there were fabulous restaurants and cafes close by. We were close to many amenities and tourist attractions. The Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, Notre Dame Cathedral, Moulin Rouge to name a few. The bus stop was right around the corner, literally.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but very basic hotel, suitable to cost

Posted Aug 26, 2014
We stayed for 3 nights on aug 14. We are a married couple , at our mid- thirties. Pros- cheap , quite clean, close to metro station that reaches city center with no switching between metro lines, close to bus #30 that reaches Eiffel Tower. On the 17th arr. but quite centric - some nice bistros , super market, public transportation 100 meters from hotel. Cons - VERY basic. Smallest hotel room I've ever seen, just fits double bed. Shower extremely small as well- had water running all over cause impossible to shower only inside the shower stall. Carpet a little old. Bottom line- if you don't mind sleeping a little off center but not too far, and if you want to save your money for restaurants etc., this is an OK choice for you. But if you want to lye around and indulge yourself... Choose somewhere else to sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff are friendly.
Hotel staff are friendly. However I was given ground level road facing room and I could not get to sleep with noise coming from the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and the staff are friendly.

Posted May 6, 2014
Enjoyed staying there. Metro station is nearby and no problem looking for food. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are in good condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by m from leicester

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: close to metro
Cons: bigger room
Location: Montmartre , Sacre Coeur, Amelie's cafe, tombs, Moulin Rouge all within a short gentle walk
room was a little small (we had room 34) but great location, less than 5 mins to metroand plenty of places to eat nearby. ideally placed for Montmartre / Moulin Rouge, again only short walk away staff were very pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from London

Nice hotel, great for a budget and in a good spot

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Price, location, comfortable bed, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: There was a smell of smoke in the hallway, oddly as our room said the entire hotel is non smoking
Location: Very close to Place de Clichy metro and many nice restaurants and cafes all very close by. Also a nice stroll away to the Sacre Cour & Montmartre.
We booked this hotel for a party of 4 in 2 rooms, and found the hotel to be good value. While one of the rooms was quite small our room was a decent size, and both rooms were clean. Our bed was comfortable and the shower was good - hot and good pressure. The hotel is in a good location, with many cafes and bistros and handy to the tube. We opted to eat at a nearby cafe as the 12 Euro breakfast seemed pricey, so we can't comment on if it was good or not. The staff were very helpful at all times and we would definitely consider this place on our next trip to Paris. It's not the taj Mahal but for the price it was perfectly up to the task and we enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for sharing your impressions with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you soon in Hotel Jean Gabrial Monmartre in Paris. Kind regards, Reception
3 out of 5
by David and Pat from Scotland

Close to attractions and transport. Grubby street.

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Cheap with helpful staff and easy to get to.
Cons: Better and cheaper breakfast. Area problems are beyond the control of the hotel.
Location: As above.
Designed to a price. Small but adequate room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was overpriced for what it was. Better buying a coffee and baguette outside. Location was handy for Metro and popular attractions like Moulin Rouge. Street and others nearby were filthy and smelly. Very noisy with traffic due to sound bouncing off tall buildings, bin lorries, scooters etc. Good choice of restaurants and bars. I would recommend staying a bit closer to the Sacre Coeur which is a nicer area with a real buzz about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with us. Hope to see you soon in Hotel Jean Gabrial Monmartre in Paris. Kind regards, Reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location at an affordable price

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, cleanliness.
Cons: There are no air conditioning in the room. However, it was warm during our stay, so this was not really a problem for us.
Location: The hotel is in close walking distance to Sacre Cour, Moulin Rouge and if you like walking, you can walk even to Champs Elysees in some 20-30 mins.
I traveled with my wife in July 2013. The hotel is in walking distance to several major sightseeing places and metro station, which allows very easy communication to practically all major touristic places in Paris. The hotel was clean, newly refurbished, the staff was very friendly and speaking good English. Having free Wi-Fi is a plus. The rooms are a bit small, but this was not an issue for us, since we were outside the whole day and came to the rooms only to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lee from West Sussex, UK

great break

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Didn't spend much time in the room but it was clean and comfy and the staff were ever so helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pretty Good.

Posted Aug 1, 2013
This hotel is really pretty good - the staff are very helpful and polite, the room is a reasonable size, and it is a fairly central location. The faults are that there is no air conditioning, so during hot months it may be uncomfortable while sleeping. There is also a lot of road noise, so maybe request a room further inside the hotel. All in all this was a good spot and we would go back again.