Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi, Texas

Affordable, clean, and great customer service

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Their customer service and their staff are great. Some of them speak a 2nd or 3rd language, but even the monolingual ones are nice. Their cat is cool!
Cons: Some of your staff don't speak English or Spanish, which would be a disadvantage for others. Maybe it could help if she takes basic language courses
Location: You can visit halal places, purchase caftans, visit Sacre-Coeur, or go to Maison Charles LARNICOL. It's located at Barbès (Arr. 18)
If you are open-minded, tolerant, and you are just looking for a clean place to stay... then this might be your option. Let's be honest: Paris is an expensive city and you want to find affordable hotels, but this is one of the cheapest you can find. Look, this is not a 5-star place, but it's simple, basic, and located pretty close to Sacre-Coeur and Barbes. So if you are looking for an affordable and clean place to stay, this is your place. But if you're looking for something that has everything EVERYTHING then this is not your option. Oh, by the way, if you like cats, maybe you'll get the chance to meet their cat Bianca. She's pretty cute and calm.
4 out of 5
by Roxana Daniela

Convenient

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Every time you left the hotel you had to leave the keys at the reception. You had to ask for internet acces every 24hours as the connection was limited. Just accros the Anvers metro station, 2 minutes until the Sacre Coeur Basilique
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to metro station

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Cheap and cheerful you get what you pay for the hotel staff was friendly I found out on the morning of check out that when the hotel guys goes out to buy bread for breakfast they lock the front door with the key no getting in or out if and emergency tried asking what if there was a fire he said he wasn't going to be long but still
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not a hotel!!

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
The room was really dirty and carpets were damaged. There was no bathroom in the room and wifi was bad. It should be rather called a hostel and not a hotel. Never go again there..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jackson, n.j.

Serviceable inexpensive room

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
it was serviceable. No amentities. Shared bathroom and shower which were both fine. Walkup to upper floors only. Very accommodating management and front desk personnel. If you just needed a place to sleep for a few days, this is fine especially at hotel.com prices
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Close to metro, nice staff, older two level room to accommodate our family in older building. Good restaurants and boulangeries to one side. A little tougher neighborhood a couple of blocks away to the other side. Two minute walk sacre coeur.
5 out of 5
by Mette from Copenhagen

My 4th time there.

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
As always, it was a pleasure to stay at Hôtel Montpellier. Sweet and very helpful staff. Clean and nice room =) Looking forward to staying there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Fleabag hotel

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: The shower worked and it was close to a metroline and Gard de Nord.
Cons: OMG - where do I start - everything needed improvement. Seriously this would not be able to be a hotel in North America.
Location: Sacre Couer was just up the street. There was lots of souvenier shops nearby. You could get to things easily via the Anvers Metro line.
When I arrived and opened the door to the hotel I was overcome by the smell of urine. The hotel smelled and so I kept the windows wide open when I returned and kept them open a little bit while I was sleeping. The hotel looks like it should be condemned because there is not a straight surface once you pass the check-in desk. This is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, but many guests were smoking. I am sensitive to cigarette smoke, several times I woke up choking at times from the French cigarette smoke. The bathroom and shower door frames looked as if they had been kicked in and the bathroom frame was such that if someone wanted they could see you using the facilities. All doors, light switches etc. were caked with dirt. This was likely some sort of rooming house or hotel that was used for prostitution. Because I had prepaid and it was the last portion of my vacation I just made the best of it. I am shocked that Expedia has this on their hotels as one would think there is some sort of standard - I took photos of the crooked stairwells, the surfaces, etc. In my room the sink was pulled away from the wall. I realize Paris is expensive but if this is your only visit to Paris find a place that is on a metroline that is outside the central part of the city and ensure that you read the reviews to ensure it is reasonable.
3 out of 5
by Audrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ichiro from Japan

simple and convenient

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Location is very nice; next to metro, lots of shops around, just the foot Montmartre hill and so on.