Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Pax Opera

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Easy accessible to Metro station n restaurants. Staff r friendly, room is presentable.
Location: Shopping n eateries..
The location of the hotel near to the speed train station. U can choose to walk (abt 13min) or take a taxi for €10. If u r a light Travellers, you may want to enjoy the scenery when walking to the hotel. The hotel also located 5 min walk to the metro station n 15 min walk to Galery Lafayette. But the hotel lift is too small for big luggage so we only can go up to the room 1at a time. Compliment to the staff for their help n friendliness to show us directions n informing us on the strike at Eiffel Tower upon our arrival. Overall we hv a good experience in Paris wth rgd what my friends hv said abt Paris. Will come again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by LITTAYE Jean-Luc - Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We would like to thank you for your nice review. We are very commited to our guests satisfaction. Your opinion is important to us and will help us improve our services and meet to your expectations better. We hope to welcoming you soon again. Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Close to the metro

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: It was close to the metro stations
Cons: Could have used a mini fridge, and the room was a little small.
Location: Very close to the metro stations
The hotel was within 5 minutes of two different metro stations on two different lines, which provided easy access to all the places we wanted to see. Self launderette facilities were just down the road. Worth noting that the hotel doesn't have a mini fridge so we left drinks outside on the windowsill (in 4 degrees) instead.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by LITTAYE Jean-Luc - Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear M. Colin, We would like to thank you for the time you took to leave a review. We are glad to read that you appreciated the ideal location of our hotel. We do not propose a fridge in the room, but we have a bar at your disposal round the clock for any hot or cold drink. We will be very pleased to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris. Best regards. Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

comfortable, economic, and friendly hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: location, staffs, room, and cleanliness
Cons: the thin sound proof door.
Overall, we had very comfortable stay at this hotel and definitely recommend for travelers who want to find an economic hotel. The hotel was not far from Gard du nord. It took us about 15 min walk. The lift was very tiny that two people with luggage would barely fit into the space. Unlike other comments, our room was pretty big (it had a queen size bed, a closet, a sofa which is big enough for an adult to sleep, and a toilet with a small bath tub-only one person can use). The room was decorated old fashioned way but very clean and comfortable. The staffs were friendly. Our only complain is that the door was too thin and sometimes we could hear drunken people talking in the hallway at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by LITTAYE Jean-Luc - Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Jean, We would like to thank you for the time you took to leave a review. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your enthusiasm is our reward. We are very committed to our guests satisfaction and we are continuously working to increase the quality of our services. Do not hesitate to call the reception for any trouble, at any time. Our multilingual staff will be very pleased to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris. Best regards. Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prague

Great!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Didn't expect much from the hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised! Cristina was helpful and welcoming from the second we walked in. Next time I'm in Paris I will definitely be staying here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by LITTAYE Jean-Luc - Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Justyna, Thank you for your nice review. Cristina and all our staff will be very pleased to welcome you soon again. Best regards. Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Reception team are friendly and friendly and always smiling , any requests we asked for was always responded to in a friendly manner
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for your review. The cleanliness of our rooms are often highlighted by our guests like the helpfulness of our receptionists. We hope to welcoming you soon again . Best regards. Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great clean hotel at a great price

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great little hotel. Spacious hotel rooms and quiet. Great shopping area nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for your review. Your satisfaction is our best reward. The central location of our hotel is one of our best strength, like the comfort of our rooms and the kindness of our multilingual staff. We hope to welcoming you soon again. Best regards. Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid.

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Do not stay there unless you want to be under permanent surveillance of receptionists. But at least they have very innovative walls and doors — they don't reduce noise but amplify it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We would like to thank you for the time you took to leave a review. We regret that you feeled "under surveillance". We are simply checkin people coming in and out the hotel for the security of every guests. When a receptionist doesn't know you, he is supposed to check if you are a guest or not. We are just taking care of you. We apologize for this misunderstanding. We hope to welcoming you again. Best regards. Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
The service is very good. Staff is nice and the security is good. Hotel is 5 mins walk to the subway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for your rating. Your entire satisfaction is our reward. We are glad to read that we met all your expectations. We hope to welcoming you soon. Best regards. Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excuses instead of apologies

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on CheapTickets
Cons: Stayed in two small rooms that don't look like the pictures on their website, no iron, no food in the rooms, no refrigerator, not soundproof, smelly.
Location: The street the hotel is located on is scary, especially at night. The neighborhood is noisy and kind of dirty.
My wife and I had a terrible experience in this hotel. We wish we had taken the bad reviews on this site more seriously. For three days we complained about not having air conditioning in our room. Our air conditioning unit broke and we asked several times for it to be fixed. It was 91 degrees outside. The first day we told them at lunchtime and again at dinnertime. My PREGNANT wife ended up sleeping in a hot room and woke up drenched in sweat. The second day we told them early that morning, again at lunch, and after dinner. The night desk guy couldn't get it to work, and couldn't move us to another room because the only other room also had a broken air conditioning unit. That's when we found out that both their maintenance guys called in sick for the weekend and there was "nothing they could do about it." They gave us a crappy wall fan, and we slept with the windows open to the noisy streets that night. My PREGNANT wife woke up sick with a sore throat and stuffiness. We told them again early on the THIRD day that we needed something to be done. We finally got a new room that NIGHT. In that whole horrible experience, we didn't receive one apology. There wasn't a single offer to compensate us for our inconvenience. They could have at least offered us complimentary breakfasts for our troubles, but they didn't. Instead, they said, "We gave you another room," in a tone that suggested they did us a big favor and they didn't have to do it. Worst customer service ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We regret that your stay did not reached your expectations. We would like to answer by saying first; that after having check all these informations : the air conditioning was working in every rooms, we learned that it was the noise which was disturbing you. We have immediatly offer you another room, what you refused... Regarding the manager, he never saw you... You took the wrong shuttle which was reserved with your own travel agent. We have a true spirit of hospitality which is reconize in all the previous reviews. We are very committed to our guests satisfaction and we are continuously working to increase the quality of our services. Best regards. Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the city

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, convenient to the Metro.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by LITTAYE Jean-Luc, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for your review. The central location of the hotel and the kindness of our staff are often highlighted by our guests. We have indeed an ideal location at a walking distance from Gare du Nord and from the Opera, also from many different tourist places. We hope to welcoming you again for your next trip to Paris. Best regards. Jean-Luc LITTAYE - Assistant Manager