Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The black out shades on the windows to keep the sun from streaming in. A mosaic of Leda and the Swan in the bath.
Cons: It was difficult at first figuring out how to work the ancient light switches.
Location: 2 blocks from the L'Arc de Triomphe.
The roof terrace is quaint with a great view of the Eiffel Tower and the L'Arc de Triomphe. The room is very old and elegant with extreme French decor. I loved having windows that I can open out to a tiny balcony both in the room and bathroom. There is an elevator with a maroon velvet bench. It's an old and very romantic French building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

Beautiful hotel centrally located.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Beautiful hotel with a very personal hotel staff very eager to help. Everything you need is near the hotel and the Metro is literally in front of the hotel. Perfect stay for my wife and I.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Excellent Customer Service

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff. The view. The classiness of this historic hotel.
Location: Close to the Arc de Triomphe and the Champs-Elysee. Plenty of cafes nearby to eat or have a nice cup of coffee.
We were so impressed by the excellent customer service from every single hotel employee. Our room was breathtaking, and we could see the tower from both our bed and from the large terrace. The room was very large by European standards, and the hotel was beautiful in such a classy way that takes a person back to a more opulent and classic Paris. We will definitely stay at the Hotel Raphael again on any future trips to Paris.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic! Great location, with metro stop right outside the door. Extremely helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by James

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
An absolutely beautiful property! I could not believe some of the architectural details featured throughout the Hotel. Photos do not do it justice. The rooms are enormous, the staff is kind, and the location is excellent. I highly recommend booking The Raphael to anyone traveling to Paris!
2 out of 5
by Arthur

Hotel needs significant upgrade

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
The free wifi doesn't work in our room because it was too far away from the router. I had to go out to the hallway in the public area to access wifi which was quite frustrating. I booked this hotel because of the rooftop, but it was in construction during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to all sights

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Last night we stayed at hotel for dinner, waited one hour and was cold when delivered
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Claims to be a five star hotel... it's not...

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Advertised as a classic historic French hotel, would be more appropriately assigned three star status. Lacks the level of luxury and attention to detail one would expect from a five-star hotel in all areas except the price. Tiles in the bathroom coming loose and sitting unevenly; bathroom door (worth noting: the bathroom is in no way historic, a modern update) sticks terribly, have to throw your shoulder into it to open and makes a screeching noise in the process; decorative disc around chandelier had come loose from the ceiling and was hanging on the chandelier chain. None of the thoughtful touches or care from the staff that typically come standard with a true five-star hotel. Snooty fellow at the front desk scoffed at us for having booked with Expedia. The hotel isn't terrible, but you could spend considerably less money for a much better quality stay. Oh, and the walls in the lobby and hallways appear to be drywall that have been painted with white lines to resemble stone, just like the three star Best Western a few streets over.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old-fashioned grandeur and service in choice locat

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
LOVED the old-fashioned grandeur. Rooms were big. Nearby restaurants and bistros and cafes abound. We walked to the foundation Louis Vuitton and the Musee Guimet museums. Staff was friendly and helpful.