Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Summer in Paris – Hotel Raphael.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Great location and traditional Parisian Grande Dame Hotel feel.
Cons: For decades, the Raphael was among the best places to stay in Paris, but no more. This Hotel needs major investment.
Location: Sight seeing and shopping are all right there.
I really really wanted to like the Hotel Raphael again– if not love it, but unfortunately it is time to move on. This is now a 3 star Hotel with 5 star pricing. The Hotel needs major investment – at the top of the list, reliable air conditioning. No one wants to toss and turn trying to sleep in a hot room on business or for vacation. We moved rooms three times. Even worse, we reserved months in advance and paid extra for an upgraded Deluxe room and a junior suite. Breakfast was expensive, understaffed, with people waiting for too few tables, and although the food was ok, it was often picked over with guests told “c’est finit.” Only after we were asked about it by the Hotel Manager did we see a huge improvement. The good news -- the hotel is in a great location (near the Arc de Triomphe), has a true old Paris feel, and the Manager and her staff are very nice attempting to solve problems, but this hotel needs work to keep its stars. One last point, I observed the Manager of the rooftop bar refuse a table to a group of well-dressed Parisians and hotel guests, only to watch two teenagers plop down in flip flops and order a Coke. When questioned that the other group had been waiting, he was rude and mockingly announced “this is the best rooftop bar” and “it would make no sense to break our group into a few small tables, and miss the ‘fabulous’ rooftop at its best. Apparently, he has not been to the rooftop at the new Peninsula Hotel across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great staff, hotel very well located , beautiful room , the only down side is guests of the hotel have no priority on the roof top
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Very calm and nice area near l'arc de triumphe and les champs élisés.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The black out shades on the windows to keep the sun from streaming in. A mosaic of Leda and the Swan in the bath.
Cons: It was difficult at first figuring out how to work the ancient light switches.
Location: 2 blocks from the L'Arc de Triomphe.
The roof terrace is quaint with a great view of the Eiffel Tower and the L'Arc de Triomphe. The room is very old and elegant with extreme French decor. I loved having windows that I can open out to a tiny balcony both in the room and bathroom. There is an elevator with a maroon velvet bench. It's an old and very romantic French building.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury french style hotel with impeccable staff

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Central location, beautiful rooms, and impeccable customer service.
Cons: Carpeting could be updated but was clean.
Location: Within short walking distance to the Arc de Triumph and a metro stop is within 100 feet of the hotel. Avenue Kleber has many bistros and cafes.
My daughter and I stayed here for a week and were very happy to find that our room was as good as the photos on the web. The hotel has been owned by the same family for a 100 years, and they have instilled impeccable attention to detail to customer service in all of their staff. Everyone from the bell hop, front desk, maid, wait staff, and concierge were wonderful, and almost everyone spoke english -- and they didn't try to make you feel bad for speaking english. The concierge staff were especially helpful and recommended awesome places to go to dinner, and could assist with tickets to the Eiffel Tower or wherever you wanted to go. The bed was super comfortable, and next to the bed, they had a converter box so you could plug in your electronic devices (a nice unexpected detail). The roof top terrace was awesome. The terrace has a view of the Arc de Triumph and Eiffel Tower, which tells you how close you are to all the major tourist attractions. The terrace also has a champagne bar with the best cocktails I've ever had (a pricey treat -- but very good). The breakfast buffet was included, and was outstanding as well. I would definitely stay here again, and I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.
5 out of 5
by Enzo

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Most amazing all around. Beautiful old school hotel, with a true Parisian feel. The location is 1 block from the Arc de Triumph. Lots of French stay there while in Paris, so it says something. The staff is very polite and helpful. Breakfast is excellent. Terrace is very big and beautiful at night. Go now!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

Beautiful hotel centrally located.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Beautiful hotel with a very personal hotel staff very eager to help. Everything you need is near the hotel and the Metro is literally in front of the hotel. Perfect stay for my wife and I.
5 out of 5
by Clayton

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful old world hotel near the Arc de Triomphe. Very large rooms and excellent service. All the modern amenities but with a character all it's own.