Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great little hotel!

Posted May 4, 2017
What great little hotel! Excellently situated, extremely friendly and courteous staff. The room was immaculate. The bed was comfy and the shower was great (best I've had in Europe actually!). We will definitely stay there again. Wish the room was a bit bigger but that was minor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Great hotel close to everything!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, Quaintness
Cons: Larger elevator!
Location: Great places to eat, beautiful views of the city, walking distance to metro line.
Lovely stay with lovely staff. The hotel was great and the staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the perfect Parisian experience

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Cons: only one person/device could connect to internet per stay
Location: lovely Quartier Latin
excellent location; beautiful classic building yet with upgraded features (ex. new faucets, etc); professional, helpful and friendly staff made a great difference (compared to previous stay in a corporate hotel); overall beautiful ambiance. we hope to come back again and again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Decent Hotel, good location, not a stand-out

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: This hotel was conveniently located and the rooms were spacious for Paris standards. Small, but newly refurbished bathrooms are a nice touch.
Cons: Not a lot of shelf area/places to put your toiletries when doing hair and makeup. 1st floor rooms are quite noisy due to being on such a busy street.
Location: Close to Maubert/Mutualite Metro stop, St. Germain and Latin Quarter, and pretty much all of central Paris. Try Eric Kayser for amazing pastries!
This hotel was fine - just not sure we'd go out of our way to stay here again with so many other options in Paris. Initially we were in a room on the 4th floor, with a supposed 'upgrade' -which we didn't request- to a 'triple' room with King and single bed (we had booked a Q room). Only when we were going to sleep did we realize the King bed was 2 completely separate twin beds pushed together - even the sheets were separate. Not suitable for a romantic couple's getaway. They offered to move us to a lovely room on the same floor which had us very excited - bigger and great views - but it was dirty/not made up. So we were then we moved to a room on the 1st floor (back to our original Q request) but it was quite noisy. We had to move all of our belongings ourselves, with no assistance from the staff. This may just be standard service in France? All in all, while the staff was pleasant and the room was decent, we felt that the staff were ambivalent to the fact that we were staying with them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daventry

Nice hotel in the centre of Paris

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location and atmospohere
Location: Loads to do as in the centre of Paris
An enjoyable place to stay, quiet and ideally located to explore Paris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great location in the Latin quarter

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location, reasonable price, cleanliness, friendly staff, breakfast included, the area is very cozy with lots of bookstores, pubs and bistros nearby.
Cons: Better lighting on the stairway. Although the tub and water pressure was excellent, we had a hard time figuring out the shower head.
Location: Great location. Many museums and places to eat nearby.
The hotel was recommended to us by a friend of my husband. Originally, we planned on renting an apartment on the left bank. After hearing about the hotel, I checked it out and realized it was a better option for us. I'm very glad we did. The location cannot be beat. It's only a short distance from the Seine, near Norte Dame Cathedral and a five minute walk to the metro. I felt very comfortable and safe there. Once the restaurants and bars close, the area is relatively quiet (although one night there some partiers right below on the street who kept my husband up.). I would recommend including the breakfast as it makes it much more convenient if you want to get out the door early and not have to worry about where to go. Breakfast is pretty standard but the food was fresh every day (selection of breads, croissants, pastries, cheeses, yogurts, fruit salad, cold meats and salmon, muesli and cereal and fresh squeezed oj and of course, coffee). Since this was our first time in Paris, we wanted to see as much as we could so we were out the door fairly early and usually didn't return to the hotel until after dinner. It was a nice and comfy place to stay and I would recommend to anyone looking for a small, Parisian boutique hotel in the heart of Paris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Elegant little hotel in the 5th

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Close to everything, pretty rooms.
Cons: Noise from above room was a bit much, maybe thicker carpets!
Location: Notre Dame, Sorbonne, Pantheon, shops, restaurants, cafes.
We love the 5th arrondissement and almost always stay there when we visit Paris. The Hotel St. Jacques is a little gem right in the middle of everything. Our room, although small, was beautifully fitted out and decorated. It was warm (on a cold weekend) and cozy and reasonably quiet. (There was quite a lot of noise at night from the upstairs room and from outside on rue des Ecoles when everyone left the bars, but this is not unusual in the 5th as there are a lot of students.) There is a tiny bar on the ground floor, which is a great place to settle in for a late night drink. We would stay here again, but ask for a top floor room not facing the main street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Hotel St. Jacques is a beautiful hotel in a very nice location with easy access to the Metro.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Was not too bad. Disappointed there was no minibar/tea coffee making facilities. Nice decor in room good staff service. Not very sound proof room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very well placed hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect for us. The nearest Metro stop is 2-3 minutes walk away.
Cons: Nothing of note. We were comfortable and warm (visited early December) and will almost certainly stay there on our next visit to Paris.
Location: See above - it's ideally placed for seeing the sights, eating well and having a drink while watching the world go by. That's what we go to Paris for!
We've stayed in this area a few times and this is one of the better hotels. In terms of Paris prices, it represents good value for money. The Reception staff were helpful and the room was good - we were upgraded to a bigger room without asking to be and at no extra charge. When booking it's perhaps worth asking for a room facing the road (Rue des Ecoles). It is a brief walk to Notre Dame and many other of the popular visitor areas. It is also in the Latin Quarter, so there are many excellent bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk. Try walking up to the area around Rue Mouffetard.