Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Lovely hotel, but could do with a plumber!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Lots! Nice welcome, huge comfy bed. Suite had sofabed area, great for teen daughter's privacy. Smartphone super-handy and loved the bluetooth speaker
Cons: The plumbing as above. No other issues at all.
Location: Great for the Metro, lovely neighbourhood to stroll in - loved the Marais, also the farmers market, later flea market, on Richard Lenoir
We really enjoyed our stay at Le General, which is clean, modern and comfortable. Perfectly placed for metro connections, which makes getting round easy, but the local area is lovely too. Staff especially nice and helpful. One issue: we had trouble getting the showers to work. We also barely had running water one morning, with a slow trickle at best from the taps. I guess it's an old building, we were high up (7th floor) and I know the hotel was fully booked. It was peak demand time, but that's not great you've paid for a suite. Staff very responsive, but not much they could do. Also, the suite had two 'bathrooms'. The first was a small, ensuite type, with toilet and shower enclosure - but no washbasin. The second, main bathroom had an over-bath shower, two washbasins - and no toilet. Perfectly nice, modern and spotlessly clean, but when you use the toilet, you have to go through the bedroom to the other bathroom to wash your hands, which seems really odd and inconvenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Very nice hotel close to the Bataclan Theatre

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Le General was clean and bright. The staff was welcoming. The rooms were fine and breakfast was great.
We had tickets for the Marianne Faithfull show at the re-opened Bataclan Theatre, and wanted a nearby hotel. Le General was close and reasonably priced and well reviewed on Expedia. We stayed just one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Perfect hotel in Paris

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Cute boutique hotel with super helpful and nice staff, 2 min walk from place de la republique, stores and small supermarket if you need anything. Perfect location between the 10th and the 3rd. clean room, great bed, great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastically Located Boutique Hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The location, amenities and the unique character
Cons: The shower was a touch weaker than I prefer and we didn't have staff greet/approach us proactively near reception which would have been nice.
Location: Near to Republique and Oberkampf Metro stations. There is a wonderful patisserie on Rue Voltaire, 2 minutes from the hotel across the street.
I stayed at Le General mid-October for a weekend and had a great stay. My fiance and I were celebrating our engagement and we the hotel staff had promised us a glass of champagne on arrival (which unfortunately we didn't receive). The hotel has a great location, on a side street near to Republique and Oberkampf Metro stations and so really easy to get to from Gare du Nord (15/20 minutes). Our room was wonderful, on the top floor and with a cute balcony to look over the surrounding area. There were really good amenities such as a mobile phone to make free international calls, a Nespresso coffee machine and sparkling/still water supplies. The bathroom was of a decent size and had a unique and clean decoration.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay for tourists

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay at Le General Hotel. Quiet area near Republique allowed easy access to the Metro and close proximity to everything a tourist in Paris would need. The staff was very friendly and eager to accommodate. The breakfast wasn't the best, but the convenience factor and variety of offering makes it more than sufficient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Only two things caused disappointment: First, I paid for the executive/privilege room and thought there would be a small balcony - but apparently those come with the cheaper rooms; second, there was no refrigerator in the room. Would have gladly enjoyed mini-bar and would have liked to keep some drinks cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, friendly, beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Couldn't ask for a better stay. Beautiful, clean, comfortable and quiet hotel with great service.
5 out of 5
by Clement from Brussels

Nice and trendy

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room in a perfect area to reach any place of Paris by metro. Lots of restaurants around. Big TV in the room, hard to access the HDMI port at the back but I could hook up my computer. No desk, just a small table so it might not be a suit if you want to work in your hotel room. TV was on the wall which was no perpendicular to the bed so it is not optimal but that was not terrible neither, maybe if you are very picky. No place for the suitcase, just the sofa under the TV. No wardrobe but you can hang your clothes anyway, maybe not the best if you want to invite someone in your room. Very cool design of the hotel and the lobby. WiFi worked just fine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel très bien bien placé et personnel très pro

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Très bon établissement bien situé par rapport au transports en commun. Accueil très agréable et professionnel, les chambres sont très bien avec de bons équipements et une bonne literie