Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Wifi was useless - got slammed by my phone bill

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: It was nice to have clean towels and a clean bed every day. The location was great. Close to metro (Commerce - Ligne 8).
Cons: The owner needs to buy a new router. Period. If a customer smokes, the owner should (at the very least) spray deodorizer for the next guests.
Location: The neighborhood was fantastic and made up for the disappointing hotel stay. Rue de Commerce is right down the way with fantastic shops
I showed up, and the room was filled with the smell of smoke. I am a non-smoker, so this was really not cool. I walked down to the store and bought air freshener. Couldn't they have done that? I never once took a hot shower. The water was tepid at best. Two days I did not take a shower at all because the water was so cold (Christmas Day being one of them). My biggest complaint is with the Wi-Fi. I was surfing the web, thinking that I was on Wi-Fi, but I (very luckily) noticed the signal had dropped. But I ended up using all the data on my plan, and that has ended up being an extremely expensive problem. When I went to the owner and asked him to reboot the router, he did, but the Internet dropped about an hour later. This happened over and over. So now I have come home to a huge phone bill. Totally unacceptable. So for them to say they have free Wi-Fi is not true. I am going to be contacting Expedia customer service to figure out how to resolve this. It's totally unfair to be charged so much by my phone company when I was told that this hotel has free Wi-Fi. It's fair to say they don't have Wi-Fi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a place to catch after touring all day

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Walking distance to Eiffel Tower and underground
Above a middle eastern restaurant. Friendly owner good food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Comfortable basic hotel in Paris centre

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Friendly and welcoming staff. We took our German Shepherd on New Years Eve and the staff couldn't help enough. Even let us eat in resteraunt and see in the new year with the dog.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2014
2 out of 5
by Anwar from Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Worst Hotel i've ever stayed in europe

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Location: far from public transportation
This hotel is difficult to access, no lift provided & no suitable for couple having young children.
2 out of 5
by Tom from San Francisco, Ca

Just a Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: It is situated at a very peaceful area with places to eat nearby. Close to the metro station, a block and a half away.
Cons: Management should be more interactive with the customers. (I left a pair of slippers when I checked out, can't get a response when I inquired later).
Location: Location is close to the metro station, the major attractions like Tour Montparnasse, Invalides, Tour Eiffel, Rodin Musee, Rue Cler, etc...
I checked into this hotel for two nights. I requested a twin room and got one on the 4th floor with a view of the back of other buildings. There is no real front desk as check-in counter is bedside the counter of a restaurant. I guess the owner runs both businesses by himself. He simply charge my card for two nights and gave me a key to my room. There is no elevator, so I have to bring up my own luggage. The room is a bit larger than comparable hotels. But the hallway is dark and I have to grope to get the key in the door. Inside, the nightstand drawers are breaking apart and the cabinet door needed work. The toilet flushing valve is leaky and I have to shut the toilet door the whole time so I don't hear the pitty pat especially at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

as per the price tag

Posted Oct 13, 2011
as per the price tag
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fine and affordable

Posted Jun 23, 2011
Everything is good, Rooms on the third floor are somewhat small, but still pretty good for sleeping purposes. However it's not so easy to get there if you have big luggage, bc of no elevator in the hotel, but you need to do it only once, so it's not a big trouble. Also, it's quite close to Commerce metro station, so it's easy to get anywhere you want and Eifel Tower is walking distance (well, around 1.5km away, but it was fine for me).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Just the basics - Poor customer service - You get what you pay for.

Posted May 1, 2011
This hotel is owned and operated by the owner of a Lebanese restaurant. The check-in desk is about 2 feet wide located behind the bar off the restaurant. The hotel name is not very clear and obvious from the street. The hotel owner was harsh/short/abrupt when we enquired whether this was the location of the hotel. There were winding stairs to get to the room. The room was could use some updating. However, it wasclean and had just the basics. The shower head holder was broken so we had to hold the shower head in hand while showering. The bathroom was clean. They were skimpy on the shower gel and soap. No shampoo or lotion was given. The telephone did not work. The t.v. worked. Major downpoint: the electrical plugs! After a day of walking around I could not charge my cell phone or camera batter because they had electrical plugs different from Canada and I could not use my adaptor that I was using in England. I approached to the owner to see if he had some adaptors. After waiting 5 min. for him to get off the phone with his friend, he abruptly and unapologetically said 'No!'. The hotel served the purpose (i.e., sleep and shower only) but don't choose this hotel if you're looking for amenities and to leave with a warm fuzzy feeling. It was about 8 min. walking distance from the 'Commerce' subway station. A market, bars, banks, bakeries, pharmacy, restaurants are in the are.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, FL

Don't Let the Price Fool You

Posted Jul 14, 2010
This hotel is downright disappointing. It's listed as in the "Montparnasse (train)" area, but in reality, it's a LONG walk (2 miles) from the train station. There's no close metro station nearby, either. What's more, the hotel is hard to find when looking for it. From the street view, your only clue to the hotel name is on a tiny restaurant banner. The first floor of the hotel is a noisy restaurant. There is no elevator so I had to walk up 3 flights of stairs. The room itself was TINY. There was no air conditioning. The attic was sloped so I had to duck to get into the room. The bed's comforter was dirty. The heat was unbearable so I left as soon as I checked in.