Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it

Posted May 23, 2017
This is a very cool place. Simple funky and with a soul of its own. Rooms are clean and the pizzeria is amazing Great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great hotel, beautiful view and very nice people. I loved that it was so close to everything in downtown. And also that they have airport shuttles.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, with a really busy restaurant with some good food. Do make sure you book a table since it will become very busy. All the rooms had free movies which is awesome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, good vibe and food

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Stayed at the hotel twice so far, never failed my expectations. Loved the hotel setting and food. Room is not huge but quirky and clean. Got everything you will need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in East Paris

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The hotel design is very trendy and has up to date amenities. The staff were always helpful from check in and throughout the entire visit. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the metro station but worked out well for us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Probably the best and most fun hotel in Paris!

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Everything! Staff, food, rooms, cocktails, etc
Cons: Nothing
Location: If you hate walking, don't have an Uber app installed, get confused by the Metro system, don't stay here. Otherwise this the best kept secret in Paris
I have stayed at Mama Shelter many times and I keep coming back. Why? The hotel has the friendliest staff you will find in Paris. The hotel's interior is designed by Philippe Starck and it shows in every little detail. Even the shampoo is their own brand and it smells so good! The bar and restaurant are a hot spot for a young and hip local crowd. And they also have their own pizzeria that serves perfect thin crisped pizzas. How convenient that you can bring a pizza back to room after a night out?! And they offer a free upgrade to late check out at 1pm! This hotel is simply AMAZING!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Zürich, Switzeland

great hotel!

Posted Nov 18, 2009
beautiful, modern hotel. A little outside and depending on which metro station you take you can go through a nice neighbourhood or through a not so nice one. The mama deluxe room was also somewhat small but very comfy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Form over function

Posted Aug 6, 2009
Wonderful shower and comfortable bed. The darkest hotel room I have ever experienced - black ceiling, walls and floor and no ceiling lights, only table and bedside lights (covered with animal face masks! Some more practicality would be good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hastings, East Sussex

Wonderful and funky Paris hotel by Philippe Starck

Posted Nov 26, 2008 on Hotels
This is the hippest place on the planet right now, I reckon. This former multi-storey carpark has been given the ultimate makeover by Philippe Starck, and it's truly different to anywhere: graffiti carpets, blackboard ceilings, bedside lamps with face masks on them - but importantly, comfy beds, good pillows and a useful desk area. The food is truly outstanding which is why it was hard, even as a resident, to get a table when I wanted one so I ended up eating early. The restaurant has sofa seating, plus communal seating and individual tables - all very eclectic but it WORKS. The bar area is a series of flat-screen TVs, face-up - in fact there are TVs everywhere, each on a different (silent) channel. Staff were really lovely. Downside: it's quite a distance from the Centre, requiring several complicated metro changes. BUT - big BUT - my great discovery is that the bus goes from almost outside right into the heart of town, passing Bastille, the Marché d'Aligre, Hotel de Ville and ending up at the Louvre, basically - which takes 10 minutes. This converted me entirely to taking the bus in Paris, which frankly knocks even the fabulous Metro into a cocked tricorne. If my husband wasn't so allergic to designer hotels in any format, I'd take him back there - and would go again myself on my own.