Ratings based on 1,728 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

great location

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The size of the room and price.
Cons: The room was a little dated. but would rather have that then pay more for the room
Location: Lourve
Stayed in a room with 3 single beds. Great size and very big bathroom. Tall person may have to duck in the shower. but not a big problem. the room also has a safe. The location was only a few minutes walk to the Lourve. Overall was great value. would stay here again. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

A genuine Parisian experience

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: I liked the decor, the fittings, the elevators, the stairwell, the bar (when it was open), the room with its balcony window to the street was great.
Cons: The hotel needs air-conditioning, and more easily accessible information about services like breakfast and wifi.
Location: Perfectly located in the centre of Paris, great restaurants, supermarkets, galleries, shops, Metro lines, cafes, the Louvre.
I enjoyed my stay in the Hotel Normandy for the most part, but it was unfortunately one of the hottest weeks in Paris for some time. The standard classic room was spacious, clean, the bed was comfortable, the ensuite bathroom was spacious and clean and the best part of the room. But there was no 24 hour room service or bar service as Expedia advertised. In fact the bar was hardly ever open, and on only one of the five days could I get a cup of tea in my room. A kettle and tea bags or coffee in the room really isn't too much to ask. But there are cafes open early just around the corner. It's an old hotel, and you get an old hotel experience. The room size was really one of the best things, and did I mention the nice bathroom?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando, fl

Dirty, grimy and dangerous.Staff could care less.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Breakfast came with the room.
Cons: everything.
Location: Location would be good if it wasn't located in an area where crime is rampant.
Dirty peeling paint and wallpaper. The tv, wifi, and safe did not work. Was robbed in the hotel lobby and the staff and the police both told me that the hotel lobby was known to be a place where thieves and pickpockets operated and hung out. The hotel staff was unapologetic. Stay at this fleabag at your peril.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Lack of Air Conditioning a pity.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Air Conditioning
Location: Right next to the Louvre. We could walk to almost every major attraction.By the way do not waste money on the hop on hop off buses. Use the metro.
If we had not arrived in the middle of a heat wave this review would have been very positive. Unfortunately it was 100 degrees F outside so impossible to sleep with no air conditioning in this rather old hotel. It appears to have been refurbished about 15-20 years ago and has held up quite well with nothing else majorly wrong. The dining room and breakfast were very nice, the staff helpful and the location totally ideal. The price for being in this location was very fair. We could not have been more central. Once the outside temperature dropped the room was just fine. High ceilings did help. Bed was very comfortable.In summary : Can't beat the location!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Horrible horrible hotel...just horrible

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Went for a trade show with my team in Paris and had to stay at this hotel cause everything else was sold out. Very very very old and ill maintained hotel. The sink, the carpet are sooo gross. Check in staffs were not friendly at all and couldn't even provide a recipet during check out! Worst of all, we were there during the Paris heat wave and some of the rooms didn't have air conditions. The living condition is pretty much inhumane. Would rather stay at a motel or be homeless in Paris than stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Do Not Recommend this hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer Service training, Brand new working fans (this is just a small investment). A complete renovation.
This hotel is old and as other have said...just run down. We arrived during an unusually hot spell. No AC - to be fair, they state this on their website. Asked for fan. Concierge brought up a fan that had one button working (And 3 broken buttons), the oscillation was broke. The fan made a clicking noise. Blew just a little air. Didn't really want to open windows as you share a veranda with everyone else on the same floor. That did not make me feel safe. Although, if anyone actually wanted to sneak into our room, I'm sure the clatter from them trying to walk over all the dirty, broken down appliances littering the veranda would give them away. Oh the staff - some were kind and friendly and some didn't seem give a care about you or their job. Rude? Perhaps a little, but I would say more phlegmatic than rude. After they told our travel mates they weren't sure if they could find another fan for their room, I pointed out the shiney new fans gloriously ventilating the staff behind the front desk and concierge. To be fair, the AC unit in our room that I was told "did not work" upon check in, suddenly was working in our room on day 2. It appears that whoever was working that first night just didn't want to come up and empty the water or whatever it was that needed to be done to get it going again. Housekeeping must have done it the next day. No, I don't recommend this hotel. Especially if you come when it's hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in Paris

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The lobby is quite pretty. The rooms, in contrast, are very basic. This hotel is reasonably priced and in a great location. So, if these are your priorities then this is a great choice. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the Louvre and many other great sites, and there is a taxi stand that is also a 5 min walk. However, if air conditioning is a priority then you will be disappointed. The rooms were quite hot in late May - to the point it was a bit difficult to sleep, so I can't imagine what it would be like in the hotter months of summer.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Good hotel for in the budget. Don't expect a lot. Close to everything.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So disappointed we picked this hotel

Posted May 31, 2017
Hotel has no air conditioning as they advertise but rooms are intolerably hot. Getting them to bring a fan was no easy task. Very shabby. We were surprised at the rating location is across street from Louvre. Hope they update rooms soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Comfortable, clean hotel close to the Louvre

Posted May 21, 2017
Relaxing, comfortable respite. Great breakfast. The city tax was a surprise. Helpful, polite staff.