Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Public transportation is easy and reliable to get from this hotel. This hotel for business or pleasure is the place to be. Staff are always happy to have a conversation with you and go the extra mile to help you. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Chuen Kin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Fawaz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Overpriced and tired

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location Staff
Cons: Bathrooms are old and in need of revamp Mattresses are terrible Food and beverage prices are truly obscene
Location: Everything is nearby! Arc de Truomphe, the Louvre, the Eiffell tower, Christmas Market, cinemas and loads of great restaurants
Much as the location is hard to beat - it really is well situated, and the staff were very good and helpful, the hotel is ridiculously overpriced for what you get. The foyer is 5 star for sure - but the rooms, which you are paying for at the end of the day, are 3 star at best. Tired bathrooms, terrible beds, which for a £500 per night experience, I no longer expect - the competition all have Hypsos or something better. Breakfast for 2 adults and 1 child was 109 Euros! A single bottle of water was 14 Euros! There is no reason to buy anything in the hotel and I guess they price themselves out for 70% of their clientele - can't fathom why they would do that? Just make a decent margin, and everyone would pay for it. We enjoyed our stay because of the location, but there are many far better value alternatives one block away and still good location wise - just not right on the Champs Ellysee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by guest relation, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share a comment about your recent trip on the Expedia community. I am glad to read that you appreciated our location and our staff! We assure that all our staff is dedicated to offer the best service for a unique experience in our hotel. Concerning the prices, they are settled according to resources required to offer the best quality of services and facilities. By this way they represent for our guests a guarantee for quality, care and innovation. Please accept our sincere apologies for this issue and for all the inconvenience you have faced during your trip with us. I wish you an happy New Year and truly hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again! Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very noizy music all night we could not sleep and the room carpet was not clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent staff made you feel right at home

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The hotel is in an excellent location - central to everything (the metro, sights, decent eats). The hotel lobby is cozy and welcoming and the rooms are in good condition - very clean and comfortable but could use some minor cosmetic updates. With that said, the reason I would undoubtedly stay here again is the courteousness of all the staff we encountered. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. They promptly responded to and rectified any questions or concerns we had. Thank you for a great stay :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for business and pleasure.

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Fantastic service. The concierge was very helpful in finding me the perfect service spa. The doorman was very helpful in saving me from being overcharged by a cab driver. The gym was usable and clean. Plenty of in room water provided.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dared rooms, great staff, poor management

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Rooms are dated, getting rooms cleaned/serviced was challenging due to poor management.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Location is the only attraction of the hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: I really liked the location. The lobby was nice. Breakfast as ok. The concierge "Abdou" was very informed and helpful - fantastic!
Cons: Rooms really need a makeover and updating. There is a lack of senior management overseeing room service amenities function & quality.
Location: Fantastic location. Bang in the middle of Champs Elysee. Minutes walk from Arc the Triomphe, Place the Concorde, Louvre. 30 minutes walk from Eiffel.
As a fan of the Marriott brand, my overall experience of the hotel was disappointing. The location is however fantastic. We visited as two families, so our experiences whilst separate were similar. The rooms were outdated; this was evident from the carpets and the shower room tiles. We stayed for 3 days and both found that our rooms had not been cleaned and tidied despite having spend the whole day out of the rooms. Sadly when I discussed this with room service, I was boldly challenged on the accuracy of my story and accused of having left the do not disturb sign on the door. Even when I was in the room and denying the presence of the sign, i was informed that the sign is at the door, which was not the case. My friend had a similar experience a day later and was told this is highly unusual. Other simple observations pointed out to an overall lack of care in room service. The toilets were not checked and bowls and rims not cleaned. Empty toilet rolls were not checked and changed, so you would enter the room and find one role finished and the other less than half way. The heating in my room was not working and it took two engineer visits to fix it. The second admitted that the settings were too low.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels