Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 4, 2016
I loved my stay there. It is a very good hotel and very nice people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by Evan, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedbacks. We are delighted to read your experience was satisfactory. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

Only for a good price

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Essentially nothing to do nearby. There is a direct train to Versailles which makes it easier than other locations in Paris.
I got a 50% off rate on Expedia so the price was very low for Paris standards. The hotel is outside Paris but very easy to get to on the metro. However you will not be able to get out for a night stroll since there is nothing around the hotel. Especially weekends everything is closed even during the day. It's certainly not a 5 star hotel as advertised and not at the standards of a typical Sofitel. There's nothing really wrong with it except the location. its a good choice if you get a good price and don't care about the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Evan, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank your for your feedbacks. We are glad to read you enjoyed your overall stay. Whilst we are not located in the very centre of Paris, we believe the close metro station allows our guests to reach all main points of attraction in less than 15 minutes. We look forward to seeing you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Very, very nice! Great location!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Staff, modern conveniences, location.
Location: The hotel was in the middle of a massive pedestrian esplanade in a large commercial center but not close to roads so there was no noise at night.
Just can't say enough about the staff who were ALL extraordinarily helpful, pleasant, attentive and responsive to special requests. One consierge helped me arrange an in-room champagne surprise for my wife while another offered to buy a birthday card for my wife, while off duty, so I could tour instead! EVERY staff member from check-in to room service spoke excellent English. Very good breakfast buffet and room service. The hotel was a two minute walk from the Esplanade de La Defense metro station (NOT the La Defense station) which provided great convenience for touring! Hotel was modern with all the expected comforts. They even provided a loaner umbrella on a rainy day and voltage adaptor when ours died. Bed was sumptuous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Lovely hotel very well situated in business district. Close to public transportation, shopping and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Evan Vonkorad, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your last stay at Sofitel Paris La Défense. We are delighted to read your experience was satisfactory, especially the location of our hotel. We also appreciate the fact you enjoyed the service provided by our ambassadors. ^ Please let us know of any requests you have. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD.

Nice Hotel stay in the business district.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Everything was great at this hotel, from staff to clean, Very accessible to the metro. Will recommend to friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Location to metro, felt safe, near shopping mall
Cons: room upgrades! new carpets and renovations
Hotel was in a great location near the metro and in a safe area outside of downtown paris. However, the rooms were below average, dated, and carpets had stains and looked 30 years old. The room was clean and the staff was very hospitable. We had no issues at all and were relatively pleased, but for "5 stars" the room we had was comparable to a motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions of your last stay at Sofitel Paris La Défense. While I appreciate your overall experience has been satisfactory, I woud like to apologize for the disappointment that was caused by your room. We hope to have another chance to welcome you again, so you can try one of our Superior or Luxury rooms. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Outdated business hotel in Esplanade de la Defense

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Location and customer service.
Cons: Needs a fresh coat of paint and some minor maintenance. The mattress was lumpy and saggy.
Location: This is located in the business quarter. There is easy access to tourist attractions and Gare du Nord via Metro.
Arrived after the normal check in time so the room was ready and we had also pre-ordered room service so that was all set when we got to our room. This was our second stay (the first was in 2010) and this time around we were not as pleased. The hotel is still nice, however it has not received any update in this time. The decor is starting to look tired and worn in many areas. There was a good selection at breakfast but unfortunately hot buffet was actually cold. Customer service is excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Nice hotel close to main transportation line

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Came to see the sights...the hotel is in a good location to take transportation around city without getting lost!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, U.K.

Nice hotel - but.............

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: The staff and the room comfort.
Cons: Storage space .............. please!
Location: A great location. It's quiet and accessible for just about anywhere served by the Metro.
..... but avoid dining in the hotel unless you're happy being hit in the wallet. It's outrageously expensive and, quite frankly, nothing your Mum wouldn't do better at. We've stayed before and avoided dining-in this time because of the food offer. We will book this hotel again because it is good value - if you can get a good deal, as we did. The rooms are great and I want to die in one of the beds. The only gripe about the rooms is the lack of wardrobe space. Four clothes hangers in a wardrobe about 2 feet wide? Come on now Sofitel, do be serious- that's enough room for a day's worth of my wife's clothes!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC Canada

Excellent stay in Paris

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Excellent service and good quality of accommodation and facilities.
Cons: Wifi connection inside the room, which intermittently dropped for no reason.
Location: It is located in La Defense and reachable by Metro. There are many restaurants and a large mall (Les Quattre Temps) nearby, which opens on Sunday.
The hotel is located in La Defense, which is a suburb of Paris (after Neuilly) but is conveniently reachable by Metro Ligne 1 (Esplanade de La Defense). Staff is very friendly and helpful. Good facilities (room, fitness, business) overall - I didn't try the dining facilities. Room is very clean and spotless, and the bed is super comfortable. A small complaint of the quality of the Wifi connection inside the room, which intermittently dropped for no reason.