Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochdale, England

Peaceful holiday with the turtles

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location. Hotel is literally on the beach and close to plenty of restaurants including St Lawrence Gap.
Cons: Hotel needs some modernising especially in the bathrooms.
Location: St Lawrence Gap is within walking distance either by the road or along the beach. Relax in the warm, clear sea and watch the turtles.
Fourth time at hotel and just as relaxing and laid back as ever. Lovely beach with hardly ever more than two dozen people on (and a couple of turtles laying eggs each night). Room was almost overlooking the sea with a good sized balcony although it was on the third floor with no lift. Not a problem for us and plenty of room for us in the bedroom and our teenage son on a portable bed in the living area. Kitchen had all the necessary facilities for cooking although we ate out every night at either Just Grillin or Stream both of which were excellent. Also not far from Carlisle Bay were it is possible to swim with turtles and see ship wrecks or like us be in awe watching a large stingray swimming just feet from the shore. None of us brave enough to join it in the water. Yes even the turtles, stingrays and fish are laid back and chilled. Even a tropical storm could not dampen the holiday we get worse at least once a week in Rochdale.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Margaret, Hotel Management
Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time out to give us such a good review!!! We note that you mentioned that our Bathrooms could do with an upgrade. Please note that our Hotel will be closed in September and October 2017 to do some changes. We hope that when you return, our Rooms will look very pleasing to the eye. Thanks once again for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
It was decent, they were located in a very well accessible area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by MargaretC, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying with us. We receive a lot of good reviews regarding our Central location. It is easy accessible to many places such as Restaurants etc. Many thanks once again for choosing Blue Orchids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Convenient hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: On Beach, close dining.
Cons: A few more beach chairs.
Location: The beach at Carlisle bay was the nicest to walk on. It was about 1.5 miles long, as long as you can duck under the pier at Ramada.
It had almost 1/2 mile of fairly nice beach. The far end can be hard to walk except at low tide. Blue Orchid is at the best end of the beach for water access, as the middle has a rocky ledge to get over. A 2 min walk up the street gets you to another beach which is really a bunch of smaller beaches connected by a boardwalk. Although much of the boardwalk is buried in sand so it's not as easy of a walk as it sounds. Our favorite restaurant, Tiki was on this beach. We liked it for the atmosphere being right on the beach and swimsuit friendly, more so than the food. But the food we had was good. There are also several other dining options within a few minutes’ walk of the hotel. Ground floor room in back was nice. It had plenty of room, with a kitchen. I could see rooms closer to the road getting traffic noise. Parking is limited at the hotel. I always found a spot, but not by much. A small car helped. The same goes for the beach and pool chairs. Most days there was at least one chair available at any time, but would be tight with a full hotel. A second hotel, Coral Mist shares the beach chairs and parking. Although both hotels have a pool and separate reception desk, which is odd in the architecture and buildings look to be the same. The restaurant is in Coral Mist, but the game room is in Blue Orchid. I did not get around to finding the exercise room. Dining was busy at breakfast, less so at lunch, and we rarely saw people eating in the evening. A bar also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by MargaretC, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Blue Orchids. There are two Hotels and we share all the facilities. Guests have the option of using both Pools. All Guests are not on the beach at once. Some Guests like the beach and some like the Pool side. Other Guests like to be under the trees in the shade. We are near to Restaurants and Shopping. Blue Orchids Beach Hotel and Coral Mist Beach Hotel are sister Properties own by the same people. Thank you once again for staying with us and do come soon again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from missiassippi

Blue Orchid Gem in Barbados

Posted Jun 11, 2017
What a gem!! My mother and I shared a one bedroom (twin beds) with full kitchen for a lovely week. This hotel is wonderful -we woke up everyday to a view of the aqua ocean and the sound of the waves crashes the sea wall. The hotel is small, quiet, and every room has an ocean view which is simply beautiful. We had a ocean breeze everyday and enjoyed sitting on our porch. The hotel is close to two markets, many restaurants, farmers market (Wednesday and Saturday),and wonderful beaches (besides the beautiful beach just steps from your room) all within walking distances. All the staff (Blue Orchid and sister hotel) are wonderful especially Reggie (activity director) , Stephen (driver), and the security staff.
4 out of 5
by Sophia

Orchids- beautiful view

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here for 3 days and though I did not get to enjoy the property, the view and room was very comforting to me. I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

small pleasant hotel right on the beach

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: well situated and close to restaurants, bars etc
Cons: the hotel bar restaurant service could be speeded up
Location: On Worthing beach - with local restaurants and clubs close by and only a short distance from Bridgetown. A car would be very useful
we were a party of around 13 people and everyone enjoyed their stay. The staff was friendly and helpful although the bar restaurant service was rather slow.We mainly used the pool because the sea was rough with a strong breeze blowing nearly all the time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel right on the beach

Posted May 2, 2017
Great hotel right on the beach. Our room overlooked the pool/garden area. You can see and hear the ocean. At night it was quiet. Wonderful staff!
4 out of 5
by Emily

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, relaxing, and generally all round good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

King Size Bed??!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Older crowd mostly
Cons: Move smoking areas away from rooms
Location: 5-10 minute walk to stores etc.
The reservation said king size, I paid for king size, I got two little beds pushed together. I asked about this at the desk but was informed that was all that was available. I spoke with the manager four days in when she replied to a problem I had with the remote on the first day, (The bathroom sink that barely drained never was attended to) I asked about the bed, and again, that was what they had available and they were the same size as a king size bed. I looked down and informed her that at 6 foot 6 I am very aware of the lengths of beds and any bed that my feet hang six inches off the end of is not King size. I let this go because they can't provide what they do not have. The rub is they do have king size beds. On my last morning I was speaking with a couple that arrived the night before, and they had an actual King sized bed, (no line down the middle, just one big bed) !!!!!? I checked out and asked the desk and was told those beds were not available for singles!!!!? Would I stay here again, nope, not a chance. Not being able to get a good nights sleep very negatively affected my vacation.
5 out of 5
by Wanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels