Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
It was decent, they were located in a very well accessible area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by MargaretC, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying with us. We receive a lot of good reviews regarding our Central location. It is easy accessible to many places such as Restaurants etc. Many thanks once again for choosing Blue Orchids
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Naples Florida

great location close to some excellent restaurants

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Spend some money upgrading the bathrooms
Location: Great restaurants near by. Beach was beautiful
the hotel is old but in good shape.They should renovate the bath rooms. Our first night the A/C did not work. They changed our room. Fixed the A/C in our original room and we moved back in to it. Restaurant service was a little slow. Food was just O.K Pool area was very clean Our room was right on the beach. It was great to hear the waves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by MargaretC, Hotel Management
Dear Barry, Many thanks for choosing Blue Orchids. Please note that we are closing the Hotel for renovations in September and October 2017. We are doing some upgrades to all of the rooms. We thank you for your comments and perhaps when you return you will see what we have done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Convenient hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: On Beach, close dining.
Cons: A few more beach chairs.
Location: The beach at Carlisle bay was the nicest to walk on. It was about 1.5 miles long, as long as you can duck under the pier at Ramada.
It had almost 1/2 mile of fairly nice beach. The far end can be hard to walk except at low tide. Blue Orchid is at the best end of the beach for water access, as the middle has a rocky ledge to get over. A 2 min walk up the street gets you to another beach which is really a bunch of smaller beaches connected by a boardwalk. Although much of the boardwalk is buried in sand so it's not as easy of a walk as it sounds. Our favorite restaurant, Tiki was on this beach. We liked it for the atmosphere being right on the beach and swimsuit friendly, more so than the food. But the food we had was good. There are also several other dining options within a few minutes’ walk of the hotel. Ground floor room in back was nice. It had plenty of room, with a kitchen. I could see rooms closer to the road getting traffic noise. Parking is limited at the hotel. I always found a spot, but not by much. A small car helped. The same goes for the beach and pool chairs. Most days there was at least one chair available at any time, but would be tight with a full hotel. A second hotel, Coral Mist shares the beach chairs and parking. Although both hotels have a pool and separate reception desk, which is odd in the architecture and buildings look to be the same. The restaurant is in Coral Mist, but the game room is in Blue Orchid. I did not get around to finding the exercise room. Dining was busy at breakfast, less so at lunch, and we rarely saw people eating in the evening. A bar also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by MargaretC, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Blue Orchids. There are two Hotels and we share all the facilities. Guests have the option of using both Pools. All Guests are not on the beach at once. Some Guests like the beach and some like the Pool side. Other Guests like to be under the trees in the shade. We are near to Restaurants and Shopping. Blue Orchids Beach Hotel and Coral Mist Beach Hotel are sister Properties own by the same people. Thank you once again for staying with us and do come soon again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from missiassippi

Blue Orchid Gem in Barbados

Posted Jun 11, 2017
What a gem!! My mother and I shared a one bedroom (twin beds) with full kitchen for a lovely week. This hotel is wonderful -we woke up everyday to a view of the aqua ocean and the sound of the waves crashes the sea wall. The hotel is small, quiet, and every room has an ocean view which is simply beautiful. We had a ocean breeze everyday and enjoyed sitting on our porch. The hotel is close to two markets, many restaurants, farmers market (Wednesday and Saturday),and wonderful beaches (besides the beautiful beach just steps from your room) all within walking distances. All the staff (Blue Orchid and sister hotel) are wonderful especially Reggie (activity director) , Stephen (driver), and the security staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

small pleasant hotel right on the beach

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: well situated and close to restaurants, bars etc
Cons: the hotel bar restaurant service could be speeded up
Location: On Worthing beach - with local restaurants and clubs close by and only a short distance from Bridgetown. A car would be very useful
we were a party of around 13 people and everyone enjoyed their stay. The staff was friendly and helpful although the bar restaurant service was rather slow.We mainly used the pool because the sea was rough with a strong breeze blowing nearly all the time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel right on the beach

Posted May 2, 2017
Great hotel right on the beach. Our room overlooked the pool/garden area. You can see and hear the ocean. At night it was quiet. Wonderful staff!
4 out of 5
by Emily

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, relaxing, and generally all round good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

King Size Bed??!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Older crowd mostly
Cons: Move smoking areas away from rooms
Location: 5-10 minute walk to stores etc.
The reservation said king size, I paid for king size, I got two little beds pushed together. I asked about this at the desk but was informed that was all that was available. I spoke with the manager four days in when she replied to a problem I had with the remote on the first day, (The bathroom sink that barely drained never was attended to) I asked about the bed, and again, that was what they had available and they were the same size as a king size bed. I looked down and informed her that at 6 foot 6 I am very aware of the lengths of beds and any bed that my feet hang six inches off the end of is not King size. I let this go because they can't provide what they do not have. The rub is they do have king size beds. On my last morning I was speaking with a couple that arrived the night before, and they had an actual King sized bed, (no line down the middle, just one big bed) !!!!!? I checked out and asked the desk and was told those beds were not available for singles!!!!? Would I stay here again, nope, not a chance. Not being able to get a good nights sleep very negatively affected my vacation.
5 out of 5
by Wanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great place to spend you vacation

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff very professional and friendly. Great place to spend hi our vacation.