Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix,AZ

Superb resort

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: View. Kitchen complete except for oven. Used microwave. Friendly staff. Nice beach and pool.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Several small restaurants nearby. Bus (van) to Bridgetown $6 round trip.
We were very pleased with this resort. Good value for $. We had a 1 bedroom corner suitie. Excellent view from living room and large balcony. Every amenity you could think of. Very close to ocean. Beautiful beach and pool. Staff was very accommodating. Lovely Shantelle in restaurant was so friendly. Room was quiet, very clean. Good bed. Large bathroom with "rain shower." Near small market for drinks and snack and limited food. Pricey, but convenient. Lays chips $10 US.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Beautiful location. Quiet environment. Perfect for a couples getaway. Close to the St Lawrence Gap with all the restaurants. Terrific location on the beach with clear blue water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Jenise Hurley, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review! We're glad you had a marvelous holiday enjoying our convenient location and our beautiful ocean! We hope you'll be back soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nice hotel with limited restaurant options.

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: It was smaller hotel with beautiful ocean view rooms. We did upgrade so not sure what the standard ones are like. Walking distance to the Gap!
Cons: The restaurant needs help all around. The breakfast thing is a mess & confused many. Some staff were way too robotic & some are obviously burned out.
Location: Close to the Gap and walking distance to many dining options.
We loved our room with view but did not care for much else about this resort. I surely did not feel treated like a guest at the front desk. A bit too robotic for us. The front desk staff did not offer many smiles and did not offer much information on activities at check in. When we got there and thought we would stay close our first eve having their Saturday BBQ on the beach, For what we paid it was disappointing. Food was luke warm, minimal choices and all around just average food. As for the free continental breakfast mixed with the hot breakfast upgrade option was too confusing to many. I heard a ton of complaints at nearby tables. The free continental breakfast should be separated by the restaurant serving hot breakfast to the tables or they should include both and adjust the room rates.The continental breakfast needs to include hard boil eggs as a non meat protein choice as well. The bar staff was fun for the most part but there were a few crabby ones. We got approached by a local on the beach and we told him "NO" so he walked away. The next thing security and the beach staff were on him making a ton of drama out of it. It kind of ruined our day. We did a Catamaran excursion but limited choices if book too late so suggest booking right away. We highly recommend having "Dee" (known taxi driver at resort) take you around the island and stop at the caves and somewhere for lunch. We used him our whole time there or as much as he was available. Very clear English!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice in Paradise

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Location Friendly People Clean
Cons: The one Kitchen has very limited menu and hours of operations.
Location: St. Lawrence Gap is a very lively neighbourhood with Lots of good restaurants and bars. There is one bad expensive Restaurant, PO
Ocean 2 has an excellent location. The beach has limited capacity, with poor access into the Ocean. Dover Beach is a 10 minute walk and rental of 2 chaise, umbrella and small table for $10.00 USD is a huge improvement. The Continental breakfast was OK for the first couple of days, but got boring, and then suffered shortages, including no strawberry jam. An upgrade to get an egg was ridiculously expensive. Our room was possibly the worst room. It was small and overlooked the loading dock. There was an opportunity to move/upgrade at the cost of double price. Otherwise... The Staff was Excellent, as are most Bajans.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nisgara on the lake

Awesome hotel with a great location

Posted Nov 22, 2017
One of our best vacations ever. A great resort in an excellent location. Thanks for a memorable week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Jenise Hurley, Hotel Management
Thank you Rob, for staying with us at Ocean Two! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we're happy we were able to exceed your expectations! We look forward to having you again! Kind Regards, Jenise Hurley Property Representative
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great hotel by the beach

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Clean, well located. and all the little attention they offer is always appreciated (frozen pops, popcorn, cocktails...)
Cons: A little bit more music from the Caribbean
Location: In the St-Lawrence Gap, plenty of restaurants, music, shops, surf school, groceries store. Everything is close by.
Me and my husband stayed at the Ocean Two for the first time this November. All I can say is that this hotel is very well situated in the St-Lawrence Gap area, it's close to a lot of restaurants, it's 5 min from Oistin fish market and if you want to surf, there is a surf school directly next to the hotel. The beach is perfect, it's not crowded and the water pristine. The staff on the beach is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We really loved this place and plan to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Jenise Hurley, Hotel Management
Hello Martine, Thanks for sharing this review! Nothing makes us happier than hearing reviews such as yours, which speak of the lovely experience had at Ocean Two! Thank you for the high words of praise for our teams. They work hard each day to ensure that your holiday is special! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we're eager to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Jenise Hurley Property Representative
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Beautiful Atmosphere with incredible staff.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: The one bedroom suite was perfect for a week stay. Sitting on the balcony having morning coffee couldn't be a better way to start the day.
Cons: The replace the uncomfortable chairs in the indoor sitting area and offer 2 lounge chairs on the balcony.
Location: Directly on the beach to the fabulous crystal clear Caribbean Sea. Walking distance to restaurants and convenience stores.
Our stay was wonderful. The only negative comment would be that there are not 2 loungers on the balcony and the sitting room chairs were very uncomfortable. Everything else was perfect for us. Can't wait to return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

This is not a Luxury Hotel 50/50 on this property

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The ocen view. The bartenders were nice as well as Naria at the front desk...she deserves 4 stars. Rooms are spacious
Cons: Staff must be trained How to converse with customers not very friendly. I would not stay there again. Lack of amenities.
Location: Location is great, food, entertainment and transportaton are close by.
Staff needs to be trained. 1. Housekeepers shouldn’t be gossiping and mocking customers on the elevator. I overheard the staff saying that they can’t wait to get rid of that f…in room 202 and then one of them started mocking them in an English accent…..very tacky! 2. Lack of amenities I don’t like the idea of using products that were used by someone else. For instance, shampoo, lotion, soap should be in smaller disposable bottles not bottles that you refill. In today’s society where crime is high people can add anything into the bottles of left over lotion etc. If you are looking for luxury it is not worth the money not even at a discount. Beds not comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woking, UK

Amazing wedding & honeymoon venue.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
We selected this hotel for our wedding / honeymoon and returned last week having spent 10 days at the location. My new wife and I cannot thank all the staff enough. Everyone was welcoming, friendly and made our stay extra special. A great location for any holiday and I only hope that one day we can return. It’s not often we’ll give full marks when completing a review, but I honestly cannot fault a thing. Our wedding planner Debbie took care of everything, whether we were in the UK or at the location. Big hugs Debbie!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Jenise Hurley, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing this review Matt! At Ocean Two, we always aim to make your dreams come true and we're pleased that yours did! Thank you for choosing us for such a special moment in your lives and for the lovely comments regarding our team! I'm sure Debbie will be very happy upon hearing your remarks. Thanks again for making us your hotel of choice and we hope to have you again, perhaps to celebrate your anniversary! Kind Regards, Jenise Hurley Property Representative
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Small quaint Resort right on the Ocean

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Views, size, and staff
Cons: The water pressure for the shower was very low and our in room Washer/Dryer did not work.
Location: Walking distance to Restaurants, and the Friday night shuttle to Oistine's is a must.
Ocean 2 is a true gem of a resort. It is very small, however the service is excellent and the rooms were spacious and modern. The Staff is excellent and every request was met with a smile. The only downside was that the food was average, however since was not an All Inclusive, there were several very good restaurant options within a short walk. Looking forward to our next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Jenise Hurley, Hotel Management
Dear Brad, Thank you for sharing this review! It seems as though you had a fantastic holiday with us particularly enjoying the service delivered by our team! We sincerely apologise for any inconveniences you may have experienced while with us; please rest assured that these are not our usual standards. We're glad you chose Ocean Two and we hope to welcome you back again! Kind Regards, Jenise Hurley Property Representative