Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Close proximity to the beach but...they solicit!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
When we started planning our honeymoon, we knew we preferred a boutique hotel, rather than a chain hotel. So, we selected South Beach based on the online reviews and photos. Upon arriving, they greeted us with chilled towels and rum punch. Troy even reminded us to contact our credit card companies to alert them of international travel, which was a helpful gesture. They also toted our bags up to our room on the 3rd floor, because as you can guess based on all prior reviews, the elevator is still broken. Upon entering the room, it looked as the photos had described. The next day, Marco assisted us in booking several local tours and activities. It wasn't until this day that things started to go downhill, especially with housekeeping. They recommend reusing towels, which is fine, but there appears to be a shortage for wash cloths in particular. When we requested wash cloths and towels, we would get a random selection. One day, they even hung our old towels up on the chairs to reuse. I understand attempting to preserve. However, with the hot weather and all the activities we were doing, we would sometimes take 2-3 showers per day. So, we were in reality reusing them, but I guess not enough for them. The next issue was when we received a call to our room phone inviting us to a "breakfast buffet" for the next morning, which turned out to be a timeshare presentation at Ocean2. It was a sucky solicitation move, especially for a couple on their honeymoon who wanted to just have fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely welcoming hotel perfectly located

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The staff were very friendly welcoming and helpful. The hotel has great facilities. There are also local shops near by and the beach is just across the road. Perfect for families or just a relaxing break definatley recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from riverview fl

Close to beach BUT.......

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Toilet is out dated (hard to flush). Hotel is stingy with towels (don't try to get extras). Don't lose your door key (you will be charged $10.00). Pool close at 7pm which is disappointing because that is when you get back to the hotel after a long day and can't go for a swim.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Shanica, Hotel Management
Dear Natash D, Thank for choosing the South Beach Hotel! Your comments were noted as our aim is to produce satisfied guests. Thank you once more for reviewing us. Regards Shanica Depeiza Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Go somewher else

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The number one reason we went to Barbados is for the beach. This beach is less than desirable with beach chair attendance selling drugs on the beach. Hotel is in need of some love. I went with family and we had multiple rooms, both rooms toilets didn't flush well. One room, shower stall leaked out of bathroom into hallway. Furniture and rug in both rooms needs cleaning. Pool closes at 7pm! Window of the one bedroom suite faces out into halllway, thus always bright. Don't expect extra towels, they wouldn't give it to you. Be sure to return all beach towel cards and hotel key cards or they will charge you! If it wasn't for the staff we would have left hotel. Harriet at bar/restaurant very sweet and helpful. Harold, bartender always smiling. We don't know what we would have done without Randy, hotel handyman. He's always smiling and always willing to help even if it's not his help responsibility. He needs a raise for all he does. The hotel location is convenient for public transportation, $1 US for trip, it sure was an experience to ride the bus. Right next to hotel is strip mall with convenience store, Chinese and Mediterranean restaurant - surprisingly excellent food. Chefette is next door - Bajan version of fast food. At Noon everyday 2 food truck pulls into beach parking lot, $5 for meal. The locals buy their lunches here. The hotel breakfast is free, you have 5 chooses and it's made to order, it wasn't bad. Their a la Cart menu wasn't bad just pricy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel in a great location.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: Nothing for us, all good.
Location: Opposite a lovely beach. Tiki bar, Bert's and restaurants in nearby St Lawrence Gap all great.
Staff were wonderful. Friendly and welcoming. Breakfast excellent. Advertised as continental but so much more. Hotel clean and well maintained. Great location as close to beaches, bars and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Shanica, Hotel Management
Hello Trina, Thank you for choosing the South Beach Hotel and taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york

Great hotel perfect location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach with good transportation
Cons: I would like more restaurants with island food
Location: Go to the beachs
Great and excellent staff ready to help with any thing
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Shanica , Hotel Management
Hello Nina, Thank you for choosing the South Beach Hotel as your holiday choice. South Beach is known for its ideal location as we are in the heart of the South Coast. Restaurants are in walking distance and as you mention it is easy to take the bus or a taxi. Thank you for highlighting the staff as they continuously thrive to provide excellent guest service Best Regards Shanica Depeiza Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Generally good service and clean, comfortable room.
Cons: Fix the elevator.
Location: Close to the beach restaurants and transportation.
Service from staff was generally very good. The restaurant was hit or miss. Service from the Front desk and everyone else was very good. Rooms were clean and comfortable. It was good to have the mini kitchen in the room. Breakfast at the restaurant was good. Biggest complaint would be the elevator not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vernon CT

great location

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: very clean !!!
Cons: fix the elevator !! but we were ok (we change to first floor )
Location: everything you want..just perfect location...no taxis or nothing ..just walk few feet , restaurants on the hotel or next door ,store groceries !
just get up ,free breakfast (ok nothing is for free) include in the deal...and walk to the beach !!across the street stores and restaurants...next to the hotel....perfect !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Shanica, Hotel Management
Hello Hector, Thank you for choosing the South Beach Hotel as you holiday stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to accommodate your request. South Beach is indeed in a very central location and is in walking distance to a variety of restaurants and beaches. Thank you once more for staying with us and hope to see you again. Sincerely Shanica Depeiza Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by Mark

Good value, friendly staff and good location

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
We got a very reasonable deal on this hotel, and therefore I would stay again. In reality it's a good 3* hotel, probably not a genuine 4*, which is worth taking into account when comparing. The lift was broken which was a real pain. If you require a lift, I would check with the hotel directly before booking. The hotel staff were very friendly, and the location was excellent, we had a very relaxing stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough ontario

South Beach Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: location location
Cons: Rpair elevator update breakfast to insure people get enough, One sausage with eggs for breakfst.
Location: Chevette chicken is right next store best chicken on the island and the beach is across the road
Hotel is very nice staff couldnt have done any more for you, breakfast is good and just enough, Elevator stopped working 5 out of the 14 days and had to walk up to the 3 rd floor. Pool is beautiful and just enough to cool you down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Shanica, Hotel Management
Hello Al, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. South Beach is in a convenient location as we are in walking distance from bars, restaurants and beaches. We appreciate your comments also thank you for highlighting the team that made your holiday hassle free. Sincerely Shanica Depeiza Front Desk Manager