Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great getaway location

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: It was funnily, the room was nice and clean. The surroundings were impressive, nice and calming.
Cons: Renovation to update the appearance. The appliances were yellow in color. Didn't like the fact we had to walk through the packed dinner area
Location: Location is good with transportation, but not much nearby
As a local, Generally nice getaway location as we opted not to take a flight , but stay local. I would do it again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by The Management & Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we sincerely thank you for choosing our property. Thank you for your feedback which helps us to improve our product/service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mini paradise

Posted May 18, 2017
Had a wonderful stay at Sugar Cane! The setting is great - secluded and tropical, the staff are professional, efficient and friendly, the rooms are basically little villas, the pool area is lovely and the food is fantastic. While not on the beach, there is a free shuttle which takes you to the sister resort where you can relax, eat and drink to your hearts content, and borrow snorkels, kyaks and SUP boards for free. There is a complimentary glass bottomed boat trip that takes you to snorkel with turtles, and a guided gulley work that teaches you about the local flora and fauna - if you're lucky you might even spot a green monkey or two! While a little dated, the decor of sugar cane is tasteful and always spotlessly clean. They are getting a refit in June so I'm sure it will be stunning afterwards. The spa facility is lovely and relaxing. I honestly don't have a bad word to say about our experience - it was the perfect honeymoon for us!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Management &Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing Sugar Cane Club Hotel for your Barbados experience and also your honeymoon. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados and the Sugar Cane Club Hotel whenever your travel plans permit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire UK

What a gem!

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Spotlessly clean. Wonderful food and amazing service.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Slightly inland in a beautiful setting. Extreme care is taken to preserve environment. Within easy reach of Speightstown
Loved this hotel. Understated excellence. True 5* service. From the moment I arrived I felt like I was part of the family. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Management & Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Discerning 007, It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa and we sincerely thank you for choosing our property. Thank you for your raving review, please know we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados and the Sugar Cane Club Hotel whenever your travel plan permit
2 out of 5
by Robert

2 star at best

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Our three nights at Sugar Cane were far from satisfactory. Apart from the odd member of staff, the majority were sullen, unhelpful and on a couple of occasion, downright rude. Our suite with a sea view was glorious during the day but at night, the noise from the air conditioning was dreadful and the extractors from the kitchen (not to mention the cooking smells and deliveries) from 6.00am onwards made sleep impossible. On the hotel's boat trip to see the turtles, 15 guests crammed onto a boat that was suitable for no more than 10, no safety briefing and the host hardly said a word throughout the trip. I had to ask if we could take a swim. The food at breakfast was of a very poor standard, mostly cheap bought in, the menu catered only for those happy with a severely Anglicised version of Barbadian food and any hotel allowing its guests to sit at breakfast in tatty shorts and a vest rates for no more than 2 star grading. I feel your description of this as a desirable venue is a long way from accurate. Perhaps people who only stay in a hotel once a year might find it acceptable but for anyone in the slightest way discerning, this was poor.
5 out of 5
by Glyn

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
I booked for our 25th wedding anniversary and I couldn't fault anything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Barbadaos

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Love the hotel. Quiet, a small off the beaten track. Service was great. Walking distance to beach and local restaurant, 15 min.👍
5 out of 5
by Jack

Relaxing

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
We just got back from the beautiful place. I don't think I've seen a better maintained property before. The food was very good and the drinks were delicious. Definitely pay for the all inclusive. Very calm setting in the rain forest which you should explore on the gully walk with Rodney. Learned a lot of cool facts about nature. Staff was friendly expect one person. I found that some of the staff was quiet but if you asked them how they were you would get the biggest smile. Christiana, Antonio, Ryan, Neil and of course Junior were all fun and seemed like they enjoyed working there and made you feel right at home. We hope to be like the many other couples we saw here and return year after year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Patricia

A lovely spot

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely hotel, good value, enjoyable BBQ, excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful setting away from the main tourist areas.

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
A very pleasant hotel to stay in a quiet but convenient location on the west coast, good places to eat within a 5 minute drive, beautiful beaches close by. If you want to be away from the main tourist traps then a good place to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback.