Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Next to SMU and plenty of shopping andresteraunts

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Very good breakfasts. But the room was quite small and the one window looked out at a blank wall
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great hotel within walking distance from the SMU.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The position , the rooms and the personnel.
Cons: The only thing I was not impressed with , was the breakfast . It took a long time and it was not as tasty as expected .
Location: The location is on Hilcrest , very close to SMU. Not too far , you could go shopping on Highland Village , or go downtown to visit museums or walk.
We stayed at this hotel for the first time last weekend. The personnel was very inviting and warm from the very beginning . My son , who is a SMU student , literally walked to our room from his dorm. The ambiance is very pleasant, the pool cozy and relaxing. They only have valet parking and I thought it would be inconvenient , but it worked out just great. The rooms are modern and very cleaned . The beds are awesome , the pillows are just perfect . We will come back with great pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Austin

Quiet hotel across the street from SMU

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Quiet, proximity to SMU, many things in walking distance.
Cons: Provide in room coffee service.
Location: SMU is a beautiful campus. Also, Kuby's Sausage House is a quick walk down Hillcrest and a great place to get breakfast.
Went to Dallas to attend a concert at SMU and the Texas-OU game. Stayed at The Lumen since it's conveniently located across the street from the Meadows School and Caruth Auditorium. Glad we stayed there. Had dinner on the patio at The Front Room. Food was great - especially loved their deviled eggs and shrimp and grits. Room was comfortable and quiet. Only thing my husband wished they'd had was in room coffee service; however, they have free coffee downstairs and I get up before he does so he got his coffee delivered to him. I liked the convenience of having a save place to walk in the morning while my spouse slept in. The stay was so pleasant, The Lumen will be our first choice hotel when we visit Dallas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Money Hungry Mofos

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
When I booked the room I called and asked if the room I booked had a balcony and I was advised it did. When I checked in front desk had an attitude about and said that is what happens when you book through third party. When you check out please make sure to check your card. They had charges for things I didn't even use. Might I add Valet was a different price everyday. Nobody was consistent. So if you looking to get robbed Lumen is for you!
5 out of 5
by Casey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by jay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Debbie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jackie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Loved this small boutique hotel! Food was awesome

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Please stay at this hotel We go to Dallas often and the service and food were definitely worth the stay Also there was complimentary wine at 5 In lobby! We also walked a couple of blocks and found an authentic German restaurant!