Ratings based on 571 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

A wonderful trip to the past

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The different houses to choose from.
Cons: The heating system needs to be updated. It's very antiquated.
Great layout of the homestead, excellent location to explore the mountains.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah

Quiet and secluded

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Lovely to be away from the city. But the resort really needs some updating. Chipped paint, closed-up rooms. Seems to be slowly dying. Too bad. It used to be so charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: the quietness
Cons: yes see my notes above.
Location: just rest , you can ski, hike, scuba diving and snorkeling in the crater, hot spa.
the first room we looked at was bad and noisy , more like a motel. They gave us an upgrade that was fantastic, quiet and much. much better. The cheap rooms need to be torn down and redone, the porch paint was peeling, hasn't been painted for ages. That was shocking . The personnel was very good and so was the restaurant. We loved being almost alone there , very few tourists. It's worth paying a bit more. But the manager needs to do something about the 3 older barracks or just get rid of them, it's shameful. We'll be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Provo, UT

Misadvertised number of beds on website.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Great parking.
Cons: TV in room was very dark and did not allow
Advertised 2 Queens and a double. Turns out they meant 2 doubles. Kids wound up on the floor in sleeping bags. Checkin person was very nice but nearly knocked me down with the alcohol content on his breath. Did not realize there was a $15 service charge for using Expedia on checkin. Probably never use Expedia to book a room again because of it. TV in room was very dark and did not allow adjustments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Besutiful grounds, fun family place

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Loved the beautiful grounds, fun pool and hot tubs. Kids loved rollerblading around the property, swimming and climbing up the hill to look in the crater. Cottages are cute, but a little outdated. Nothing to keep us from coming back,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Lovely hotel in a great area of Utah

Posted Apr 2, 2017
A great experience. The hotel is located in Midway, which is a lovely little town with plenty of charm. The hotel was nice, comfortable and perfect for my family of six (6). The crater soak was amazing and the hotel pool and hot tub were spacious and fun. Be sure to check out some of the fun shops, eateries and activites in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, CO

Good value!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: The location and setting.
Cons: Updating carpeting and bathrooms as they were a little cramped.
Location: State Park and Crater attraction.
Nice place and very friendly and helpful staff. The room could use a little updating with new carpets and bathrooms. Over all it was a clean place and the restaurants were good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Not as advertised but still worked.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Cons: The Photos are not as advertised you might want to update the photos so people see what they are really getting when they book.
As we looked for a place to take our honeymoon weekend we found Homestead Resort, the pictures showed a lavish and beautiful hotel, with large spacious, well lit rooms. We were ecstatic! For what seemed to be a cheap price it appeared we had booked a wonderful spa like hotel room. Upon arrival we walked into the beautiful lodge and received our keys from a very kind and gracious hostess who also gave us free dessert to celebrate the occasion. We found our room and upon walking in realized that while the named of the hotel said "Resort" the set up of the room and decorations screamed "Motel 6" Sure it was a bit bigger than your average hotel room (We had a California King sized bed, something we didn't ask for, we asked for a traditional king sized bedroom). The quality was less than impressive for goodness sake to lock one of the doors you had a screen that latched into place. We were thoroughly unimpressed, in all honesty my husband said it would have been better to save over $100 and just book a cheap Motel since that is what we ended up with. It is a fine hotel, but don't get your expectations up too high.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Old Hotel in need of renovation

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Hotel was ok but you need your own personal transportation to get around. I should have know this place was not user friendly when you need to park a 1/4 mile away from the front desk as there is no drive up access to the front of the hotel. I was lucky that my driver knew the place and waited for me to check in prior to driving me to my room which was probably a mile away from the front desk. This place could be nice if not for the old condition it was in. No water in room, missing cream and sugar, and due to booking my room on expedia, I was then asked to pay the resort fee when I arrived. This is not a resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice resort close to scuba diving

Posted Mar 20, 2017
the diving was great, rooms clean. the food at both restaurants was excellent