Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from victor, idaho

Not worth Free!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel room I stayed in was dirty, linens had hair and stains, pillows are 5 years overdue to be changed, bed covers are disgusting, room and facility reeks of mold. Frankly it feels like a college dorm room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chatsworth CA

Cheap and poor amenities.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
The heater and fan made dreadful screeching noises. The TV and DVD set up were extremely confusing, having to be re-wired each time to go from TV to DVD viewing. The microwave also worked poorly and made screeching sounds. Late night check in and finding the actual building containing our unit took 25 minutes of going from building to building in freezing weather!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Decent Place for a Guy's Trip

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Cheap, decent proximity to things
Cons: Updated rooms, no pets allowed (heard a dog barking quite often)
My friend and I stayed at the Prospector. While it certainly wasn't the most luxurious place I've ever been, it was mostly clean (saw one roach), didn't appear to have bed bugs, and served our purposes. For a couple guys just going to go to Park City to ski, it's fine. I would not bring my wife and child here, however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Decent accommodations for a decent price. Close to ski areas. Close to many affordable restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for price today

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Make sure to get your entry codes and wifi codes before arriving for the smoothest check-in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unless you're a drunk frat boy, don't book these!

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Dirty, dated room. There are vagrants that actually live in the rooms next to the ones you rent. The entire area was unsavory and, quite frankly, not family-friendly. There were dozens of people partying in the room next to us that we're tenants of the building. Photos they use are not necessarily where you will be staying. Was told that the room was recently remodeled, but everything was dirty and worn out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of repair

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Upon checking in to prospectors place it was noted that the rooms were nothing like the pictures on the Internet. The rooms were SCARY. After voicing our concerns we were moved to another propert which was much nicer. The original hotel was not good but the new place was perfect for our needs. I would give it a higher rating but this may be a bit misleading.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
This was the worst experience I have ever had traveling. From check in (it was a late night arrival, and I had to go to several building to even find out what I was supposed to do to check in,) to parking (little to none available, and if you parked on the street you got a ticket,) to the stench of the building (The hallway to the room, I just had to hold my breath so I wouldn't smell the stink,) to the extremely poor customer service from the "front desk" (I had to call the "front desk" about parking, he basically laughed about it and said too bad.) What a COMPLETELY TERRIBLE experience. I will never consider staying with them again and have encouraged others to not waste their time or money.
1 out of 5
by Bryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Anne from Park City

Don't stay regardless of the price

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
This place is horrible. Might be the worst hotel in ParK City. You don't want to do anything barefoot in there. Bathrooms are gross. No closet. Bedding is awful. Called for extra towels. Someone answered on a cell phone and none ever came. ancient air conditioning unit was so noisy.