Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Nice hotel but is getting a little worn.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Amazing location. BIG room.
Cons: Details as mentioned earlier.
Location: Main Street. EAT!!!!
I love the Caledonian and the location is amazing. Very nice room but some little things are a bummer. Hotel has washer and dryer..but no Detergent. Room has coffee maker but NO carafe? Bathrooms have complimentary soap and shampoo but soap bar is size of slab of butter. Bed is big, but sags towards the nightstand. Details lack.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Craig Booth, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and to write this review. Yes, the rooms come with a washer and dryer and but detergent is not provided as part of the services offered. The condos at The Caledonian are owned by individual owners and stock their kitchens with standard kitchen supplies. A carafe is not a common kitchen item, so unless the owner sees fit it, it is not required to stock them in their kitchens. The issue with the bed is something we wish you would have brought to our attention. The bed mattress should be of premium standard and we would have provided you with the option to change rooms in this case. At The Caledonian we strive to resolve issues in a timely manner to make our guests happy. Next time you are staying with us and you find that you are not satisfied with the room you are in, please stop by the front desk to let us know immediately in order for us to rectify the situation and to provide you with the service and accommodation at the highest level. We understand that details matter and our goal is to meet our guest’s expectations. We would love to have you come back and stay with us and hope to see you soon. Please reach out to us directly for any further questions or concerns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
It is located right at the Town Lift (for Winter, you cant beat that for skiing!) In the summer it is right on Main Street, so you can walk to all the shops and restaurants. Great location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Craig Booth, Hotel Management
Our location alone is unbeatable and we are glad that you pointed that out. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Draper, UT

Nice condo on Main Street

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location, convenience, room quality
Cons: After-hours check-in
Location: Right on Main Street, ready access to everything in downtown
The condo was clean, with an upstairs bedroom and downstairs kitchen/dining/family room. We were pleasantly surprised to find a hot tub on the upstairs deck, and we thoroughly enjoyed looking at the stars late into the evening in it! Conveniently located at the lower end of Main Street, it's an easy walk to just about anywhere in downtown Park City. Parking was also easy, however, be careful if you have a roof rack or roof box, as there is not a lot of clearance for bigger vehicles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Craig Booth, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of The Caledonian and we cannot wait to see you again soon. What a fun experience you had in the hot tub looking at the stars. The hot tubs are one of our guests’ favorite features and we are glad to hear you took advantage of it. Come see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice condo - Great location.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Loved the location, cleanliness, parking, and layout.
Cons: Only minor complaint is Master Shower had some issues with temperature and shower head but only a minor issue, still functional and useable.
Location: Within feet of Main Street with all kinds of shops and restaurants. Even grocery store is only a few blocks away.
The room was ready early, the condo was clean, well laid out, very clean and fully stocked with glasses, utensils, etc. cable was loaded with channels, great fireplace, and a big, spacious master bathroom. We didn't brave the hot tub on the deck, maybe next time. Just feet from !ain Street where plenty of shopping and restaurants await. Will be back, probably in the Summer next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnificent Night at the Caldonian

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: It was a great design, comfortable, solidly built, quiet.
Cons: It was great as it is.
Location: Lots to do nearby. Wonderful shopping, restaurants and for those who like to drink - some impressive establishments.
We had excellent advice from Jessica at check-in. I could live in the condo - good layout, comfortable, clean and it felt like home. The location was amazing and close for walking to all the places we wanted to go. The hot tub was a highlight and the restaurant located in the building was very good. Fun that there was some filming going on while we were in Park City too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2015 by Craig , Hotel Management
We appreciate your 5 out of 5 review and hope to see you again soon. From what you are saying it looks like you took full advantage of the Caledonian property and its great location. Come see us when we have some snow!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT a hotel, it's a condo.

Posted Sep 1, 2015
No services, no staff, no coffee, almost impossible to get help. Difficult parking. Duplex.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Craig , Hotel Management
We apologize for the experience you had with your stay at The Claedonian. Fall being our slowest time of the year, we are only able to staff our desk from 8am-4pm. During the winter season, we have someone at the desk from 8am-10pm. When we have the desk shut down, an after-hours phone number is provided for a front desk at one of our other properties that operates 24 hours. Next time you are vacationing with us, I would encourage you to call or stop by the front desk if you are having issues with your stay. We provide a front desk phone number and an after-hours phone number that is displayed in our welcome letter, key packet, and the afterhours sign at the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Quality sleep w/ Great location near PC Town Lift

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: clean, felt like home
Cons: carpet in the half bath was a little odd.
Location: Ski Park City and surrounding areas, visit the Mormon Tabernacle view an incredible audiotory experience.
Fantastic two floor two bedroom condo with full decently equipped kitchen, 2 full, 1 half bath, washer dryer, cable TV, Outdoor Hot Tub, large bedroom and huge master bedroom. Clean, great service, concierge and overall very impressive with balcony and patio views of Main Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2015 by Craig Booth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at The Caledonian while visiting Park City. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property and its features. Our summer season is just around the corner with plenty of activities and things to do in the area. We encourage you to come see us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caracas

You will receive less for what you hava payed

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: The location just steps to town lift although the trail to ski down was closed for most of the time. Very good furniture and appliances.
Cons: Staff attention..This in case you are able to find anyone around
Location: Very good.
We stayed at 202 Unit from December 28th until January 4th. After late arrival nobody at reception desk. Vert confusing to access to the unit. They just left an envelope containing bunch of codes to access. After figuring out we enter into our unit to learn that it was under reparation... Big horrible hole in the main bathroom ceiling...! We kindly ask to be transfered to a different unit having a NO as as reply. It´s a very expensive place to stay and shouldn´t happen. No explanation , no apologies , Nothing... Take it or leave it seems t be the phrase. Very well located though and comfortable staying...If you ask me I won´t come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Craig, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for choosing The Caledonian for your stay here in Park City. Our Winter Desk hours are from 8am-10pm and if you happen to arrive at the desk before or after those hours, like in your case, there is an after-hours sign displayed at the desk. The sign directs you to a phone number to talk to a live front desk agent that will walk you through the after-hours check-in process. They will supply you with the code to the lock box to get your envelope that has two codes that will give you access to your room, the elevator code and the unit door code. We found this process to be the easiest for our guest and rarely have any problems with these after-hour instructions. We sincerely apologize for the leak and consequent inconvenience you had to experience during your stay with us. Please let us explain the situation a bit more in detail, which by no means should be an excuse but hopefully makes you understand that we had limited capability to fix this problem due to its timing. The leak actually occurred during the prior guest’s stay and a plumber was needed to do the necessary repairs. That guest left the day you arrived and due to the fact that we were completely booked and therefore could not move you into another unit, we did all we could to make the unit rentable without having to walk you to another property. In addition, the leak happened during the holiday season that provided us with limited access contracting services (such as a plumber) and therefore the leak could not be fixed in-time before your arrival. It was most definitely a bad timing issue that we had limited control over. The drywall contractor could have come during your stay to patch the drywall but we did not want to bother you with additional construction in your unit as the drywall project would have taken three days to complete with a worker in your unit all of those days. Instead, we opted in this case to leave the open drywall, so you could have your privacy. The special aspect about Unit 202 is that it is a premium, one bedroom unit that has two full bathrooms. Instead of having a construction crew in your room for 3 days we hoped that you would have been ok by using the second full-bathroom instead to ensure privacy. The reason we were not able to move you to another unit was because we were fully booked and therefore had no available unit to move you to. I know you asked us on more than one occasion if we would ask another in-house guest if they would want to switch rooms with you but unfortunately that is against our policy and we are not able to approach guests in occupied units for such a matter. The first time you stopped by the front desk, we found that there was a language barrier to overcome, so we translated all of the above mentioned points to you via Google Translate and apologized several times for this unfortunate situation. The next day our front desk agent Carla, who speaks Spanish, once again fully explained the situation and also apologized to you. The day after that you had approached us again in Spanish and we did our best to explain to you the situation and again miscommunication ended in further frustration on your part. The day you departed from the Caledonian was the first time your husband Ramon came to the front desk and extend our sincere apologies. It was clear at that time that your husband spoke English and confirmed that he completely understood the situation and even though the conditions did not make for a perfect stay, overall realized that our hands were tied due to the timing of the event. We sincerely apologize for these unfortunate circumstances and encourage you to come see us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A nice condo

Posted Dec 15, 2014
My experience was a good one for my stay was right in town and next to the town lift. This is not a hotel though but condominiums managed by All Season Resorts. Therefor there's no gym, business centre, pool, restaurant, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Craig, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are glad that your experience was overall good. Yes you are correct, we are ski-in/ski-out condos, without a gym, business center, or pool, which we believe is described as such on Expedia. The facility does contain a high-end steak house that is open from 4pm-12pm, a café next door serving breakfast, lunch and dinner from 8am-9mp, and a coffee shop across the street open from 7am-9pm. The Caledonian is located in downtown Park City on lower Main Street, which offers over 50 restaurants/bars within a quarter mile. There is a state of the art fitness facility located less than a mile from our building that also includes a swimming pool. The Caledonian does not offer a business center but our Front Desk staff is happy to assist with any printing needs. Further, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the building. We apologize that we were not able to satisfy your immediate needs at our location but hope that with your next stay in Park City you will be better equipped with the above area description.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A must stay

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Room #208 was amazing. Exactly what I expected from a quaint mountain town. Very homey log cabin-esque. We only stayed for one night however this particular unit had everything you could ever possibly want if you stay there for an extended amount of time. Dishwasher detergent, washer dryer, all the little things you could ever possibly think of And need right down to the iPod cord. crazy collection of DVDs. if you are going there specifically for the jacuzzi on the balcony, room 208 the jacuzzi is in need of repair. all the Jets do not work and does not make for a great Jacuzzi experience. We were aware not many residents were in the hotel and went over to the next balcony and useD the jacuzzi and it was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Craig, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review as we appreciate your feedback and we are glad you thought the unit was amazing. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with your hot tub and thank you for bringing it to our attention. I was wondering if you had informed our Front Desk of the Jacuzzi issue, as I am sure our staff would have done their best to resolve the issue or would have moved you to another room that had a Jacuzzi with functioning jets. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience during your stay with us but hope to be able to welcome you back soon at our property.