Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel with a lot of history, though...

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Lounge, History
Cons: The Rooms!
Location: Perfect location for ANYTHING! Shopping, food, river, walking...
Nice old hotel with a lot of history, though needs a make over. The rooms are extremely small and are a bit dirty. Poor lighting, etc. It's not completely horrible by any means, but they could class the place up a bit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Location Location Location

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Ambience & comfort.
Cons: Nothing leaps to mind.
Location: Right where the Muskingum River flows into the Ohio, i mean right where. In Marietta's Downtown, where there is still retail, coffee, food.
Always wanted to stay there, finally did. Very pleasant, despite blistering hot weather outside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Have stayed here before and will again. Great views and great staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, very convenient for the business p

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Location and historic nature of the hotel
Cons: The room I was given should be used for storage
Location: River close by and a nice path to walk/jog right out of the hotel. Restaurants in town were close enough to walk to
The room I was given should have been reviewed by Expedia. Very small and stuffy. The air conditioner was right next to the bed so I had a very uncomfortable nights stay. Room and bathroom were very clean and the reastaurant was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from Ann Arbor, MI

Pleasant stay in an old hotel

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the Lafayette. The room, although small, provided all we needed and the simulated river boat appointments were jolly. We slept well in the comfortable bed, appreciating not facing toward the noisy street. We enjoyed the river confluence location and our strolls in the area. Were much impressed by how high the water has risen when the rivers have flooded. No wonder the Lobby has a somewhat musty smell. No odor problem with the second floor and our room though. The breakfast was fine, although the Gun Room AC made it so cold we had to retreat to our room to put on socks, long trousers and sweaters to be comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matthew from PA

Two nighter on business

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
Nice old rustic place, decorated very nicely. Bed was unconfortable but when you drink down the street at Marietta Brewery and roll home, bed looks like a cloud. Great service good location; beware lots of food places close at 9PM so get out for dinner early or mainly bar faire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel - worth a visit'

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Historic hotel with a lot of character. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Work Trip

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Hotel is nice and historic, however upon arriving in my "Cabin Room" I noticed the room was very dark and dated, in fact made me feel like I was in a cave. I immediately requested to be moved to a different type of room, which was a king suite, nice Victorian furniture, however bathroom was very dated. Resturant and bar were good, and reasonably priced. Staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jody from Phoenix, AZ

Stepping Back in Time!

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
I was in town for the NCAA basketball tournament and chose to go with a historic hotel versus a chain. The Lafayette certainly took me back in time! They have done a great job restoring the hotel and keeping its charm. The room however was cold and the heater was not working. The bed was not comfortable, so I did not sleep great. The staff was welcoming and the servers in both the Gunroom restaurant and the bar were friendly and on point. It was worth the experience, but next time I will need to go for the comfortable room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anne from Newport Beach, CA

Great to go back in time

Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you want modern go stay in any of the vanilla hotels. If you want a memorable experience, stay here. The lobby is comfortable. Walking on the river is great. Built in 1918 it is like going back in time.