Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice location. Beautiful grounds. Wonderful hospitality. Very good food. Wifi could be better.
4 out of 5
by Lukasz

Good clean place

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay. Would go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No complaints whatsoever!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Very nice place to stay. Excellent staff and attentive owners who are very hands-on and will make sure your stay is as pleasant as comfortable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the beach, perfect location, primative locatio

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Good chef, great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very clean, great dinner meals

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Facilities, grounds, and meals
Great place to relax. Very quiet. Well maintained property and very comfortable. CLEAN!!
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Very private and across from the beach. Evryone was very friendly and accommodating. You must have a rental car or take a taxi to go into town as it is very secluded. The only downfall is the gates are locked at 10:00 PM and not opened again until morning so you can not come and go as you can at most places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, UK

A special taste of France brought to Costa Rica

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Everything about this hotel appealed to us
Cons: Now I'm stumped. I can't think of anything.
This is a special hotel, which we cannot recommend too highly. The service, ambience and facilities were second to none. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, a taste of France that would please any Francophile. You can ask for a n early sandwich breakfast if you want to set off at 6am to get to the Manual Antonio National Park for the 7am opening, which is a good way to avoid the crowds. The hotel position, less than 100 metres from the Pacific Ocean, but isolated from any tourist hubbub, is excellent. The only noise came from the ocean breakers and the birds. There is a simple but good restaurant and bar within walking distance if you do not want to eat at the hotel in the evening.
5 out of 5
by Roxanne

Charming place to stay

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
The owners are very sweet and welcoming. They helped us with our travel plans and gave us good advice. The room and the common areas were beautifully decorated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like being a guest in a French mansion or estate

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Quaint place with lots of loving details like rustic French furniture. My bed was comfy. Close to the beach.
Cons: Turn down the radio and TV so it is not just hard to hear but impossible to hear in the rooms.
Location: This is not for everyone. I liked it once I adjusted because I like isolated beaches with loud surf. This is not the Hilton on Wakiki.
This Hotel came up when I did a search based around Manual Antonio. I discovered after I booked (and went there) it is not close. My mistake. The location is an isolated beach (on a peninsula) with palms that are still harvested in some spots for oil. Forget about dinner the first night because you have to make reservations by 9 am. The French couple that run it are nice but have rules about keys and towels and not being out past ten that some will not like. The lady will have a fit if you break any rules like using a towel on the beach. Once I accepted everything I ended up enjoying a long beach with no one around. A few mosquitoes. The beach has a strange beauty. Its hot in this area and the sun is intense, be careful...I got burned in only an hour, even when I used sunscreen. No TV or radio in rooms. They play a radio loud with traditional rock and soul favorites. I was given a room in the main house and right above the couple's office and TV area. The volume of the music (and in the evening the couple's TV) was not loud enough to bother many but I could here it and it annoyed me a lot. I was only there for a day so I said nothing. Some of you will love the couple and some will not. They try hard to be gracious and the place is kind of cool in a quaint country way. It does have Wifi that worked in my room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Quiet hotel very close to the beach

Posted Mar 26, 2016
The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The food prepared by Chef/owner Bernard was fresh and delicious. Elisabeth (other owner) was very friendly and was like our tour guide, recommending places to visit or to get good food. I've never been to a hotel where you had to turn in your room key every time you left the room, so this is just FYI. Also, the toilet and sink/shower are open to the entire room, so there isn't a lot of privacy if that is of concern to you. All in all I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend for a quiet couples getaway.