Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for the weekend

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We really enjoyed the stay. The personal were friendly and they even remember your name. Great job everybody. The restaurant is expensive and the quality could improve, mostly I believe is due the quality of the ingredients like the fish. They used low quality fish like maji maji and not seabass per example. They should charge acordingly. Breakfast was good though. The sea is dangerous. Don't go deeper than your knees! People have drown there. In summary I would come back and I will recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peace and serenity

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Location: We went white water rafting near Que Pos .
We had a nice private room , hotel and dinning staff were excellent. The beach was great for body surfing and sunsets . Ronny , Stephaine, Mary, Edward and Diane made our stay seem like home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel near the beach

Posted Dec 21, 2016
This was by far my favorite hotel during my trip. The staff was very nice and helpful, the resort itself was beautiful, the room was so comfortable and made me feel secluded, and the fact that it is located next to the beach is the cherry on top. Wifi was pretty stable and breakfast was great, parking was not a problem, and everything was guarded by security. A little expensive but worth the money. Don't be mislead by the drive to actually get to the hotel. Would definitely recommend!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Near death experience

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: very private rooms; great service; good restaurant; nice pool; just few dozens steps to the beach.
Cons: Lifesaving equipment should be placed on beach; Lifeguard should be present while beach is open; Staff should explain customers danger of fast tide
The place is great, I would not mind to rate this place with 4 stars, however I withholding them as we had a terrible incident. Our family is big - 5 kids ranging from 6 to 21 years. Clandestino has its own beach and we have enjoyed it, jumped in waves and even swam several times. Incident had happened on Thanksgiving, around 8.30 am our family went for a jog on the beach. After the run, 6 of us went into the ocean to jump in waves (our youngest stayed out of the water). We were jumping on the level ~ 1.2 meter deep when tide moved in. It was very fast and in a matter of seconds we were in deep water, unable to touch ground anymore. Moreover, when we started swimming back to the beach, waves and tide dragged us further back in the ocean. My wife and 9- year old got under the waves and started to drown. Our oldest boy took our 9-year old and worked out his way to the ground. I stayed behind with my other son as we tried to keep my wife afloat. Waves covered us every few seconds, I was unable to fully protect both my wife and myself and started to drown myself. Meanwhile my oldest son with 9 y.o. boy reached ground and was looking how to help us, BUT: 1. There were no lifesaving equipment on or nearby the beach 2. No one was around. No guards. Nobody Fortunately we all made it out. I do not know how, but it was rather miracle than anything else. Should I add that our vacation was completely ruined? --- I will gladly upgrade my rating when I hear that safety issues addressed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Hotel Clandestino is a hidden gem that is close enough to Manuel Antonio, but far enough from all the tourism in the area. Friendly and happy staff make your stay unforgettable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Perfect place to relax and and take in the beauty

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Clandestino is perfectly situated between Manuel Antonio and Jaco. It is only a few hours from SJO. Quite and directly on the beach!
This was the perfect place for my husband and I to just sit and relax... Everything was perfect from the room, the pool, the beach just steps away, the food at the restaurant, to the warm and friendly staff. The rooms are situated so that you really feel your room and the resort is all yours. It is 'out of the way' so no distractions. The beach steps away is so peaceful and the best place to watch a sunset every night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance CA

Very close to the beach!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Beautiful beach property. Very secluded and intimate location. We pretty much had the beach to ourselves. Food was great, piña colada is a must! Beautiful view and room was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CR

Very nice AND peaceful hotel!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I visited the hotel with my wife and 3 years old boy. Really nice gardens and hotel location perfect for enjoy the sunset at the beach! The staff is extremely friendly!! I definitely will return to this hotel!! The only advise is bring insect repellent (it is normal because the area is full of water at this season)!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Pretty little secluded hotel at beach front

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: That not a lot of people goes there, so its very private. Its a perfect getaway, if you want to relax and have time for yourself and your spouse.
Cons: Shower floor, restocking the minibar, keep an eye for the items expiration dates.
Location: Lots of popular beaches at driving distances: Jaco, Manuel Antonio, Dominical, Ballena. Whales watching tours near those beaches.
Stayed for 3 nights in the king bed room just in front of the pool and next to the restaurant, but even so it was very quiet. The room was very spacious and clean, nice bed and forniture made with bamboo. Little mini bar but it wasn't restocked every night, some items where over its due date or very close to it, that was a low point. Also the shower, it has stones as walls and floor which is a very nice touch for the view but no so much for the feet, it wasn't all that bad but a smoother shower floor will be better. Single pool in the shape of a turtle, that was nice, it has different deeps so you can enjoy a swim but also sit in the shallow with a drink. The beach is very long, and very little people goes there so you can almost have all for yourself, stayed the entire second day on the beach and hardly see any other people near by. The food at the restaurant was great, the menu has plenty of options for a small hotel, even vegetarian ones. We saw the birth of sea turtles in a nest just in front of the hotel, that it was protected by the hotel staff, that was a very nice experience and congrats to the hotel owner and staff for taking care of the wild life. Once you left the highway, the road to the beach its a 2 to 3 km dirt road, nothing that you cant handle with a sedan, but its better if you go in a taller car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Va Beach, VA

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Very nice place to stay off the beaten path. Portions of the resort seem to be getting dated. Beds hard and squeaky. Overall experience was positive. Would recommend to a friend.