Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Make sure the pool heater is working.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: VE
Cons: Pool heater not working.
Location: Very close to Parry Sound.
We were not informed online or at check in that the indoor pool heater was broken. Kids jumped in and it was freezing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016
It was Very Good The staff was very helpful with general information about the place and the hotel was very clean which means everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Book as a last resort

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Watching it disappear as I drove away
Cons: Everything requires improvement, level everything and turn it into a campground
Location: Parry Sound is a beautiful area with so much to do and see, staying at a place like this will only stain any good memories had in that town.
My experience started off with a bad start, I walked in and had to use the bathroom and when I lifted the seat I found what was left behind from the last person who used it. Was this purposely done...I don't think so the sewage system lacks pressure and can barely take away Kleenex so I chalked that up to the cleaning staff not double checking before they left. The bathroom ceiling was covered in mold and paint was beginning to hang in areas due to water damage. Carpets in the room had multiple stains. The grounds in the pictures seemed really appealing however in reality they have not been maintained and are not worth exploring. The little gym they have on site is full of mold, workout benches are torn and pool area is bound to leave you with a little foot fungus as a souvenir. If you stayed at this hotel back in the 80's and had a good time you'll be glad to know you rent a room in this time capsule still today to relive your past. This hotel was the only one available at the time I booked it which is why I stayed there. Mostly construction workers stay there and even they spend more time outside then in the hotel. I seen many reviews saying they should tare it down but thought people were just being a bit dramatic...until I stayed there. Now I get it.
2 out of 5
by Jim

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
non-smoking room heavy smell of smoke. Front desk gave us a 95% empty can of spray
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy to get to off the highway!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Easy to find, los of parking for our vehicle and trailer
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Asher, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Don't go on busy summer weekends!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff
Cons: Bath tub cleanliness, regular access to water!
Location: Good location right off Hwy 400. About 7 mins from Parry Sound
Older hotel that has tried to put a new face on with paint and paper. Desk staff member was very nice and polite. Room was adequate, but toilet in bathroom leaked and tub had mouldy spots around the tub and inside around the tile. The mouldy spot didn't really matter though, because when we went to have showers in the morning, there was NO WATER! No a drip. The explanation was that given the dry weather and busy long weekend, the motel's well had run dry. I understand issues with wells, but I also wells can be monitored and back-up tanks can be brought in. To boot, the manager was not on site, and apparently he was the only one who could do rate adjustments. I was told the manager would contact me, but so far, 2 days later, no one has reached out. Avoid this hotel when the weather is dry!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Asher, Hotel Management
Hi There, We are sorry about the water issue, we currently do employ multiple backups. We will look at your other issues promptly. Thank you for staying with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Where's the tap water?

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: It seems to be the only large hotel in the area, that could handle a group our size.
Cons: a reliable water supply. Friendlier front-desk staff would also help.
Location: Closest things around are at least a 10-min drive away....seems to be in the middle of the bush.
this was not the greatest experience. On the surface, it looks ok (being a Quality Inn). However, there were a number of problems: - front desk staff was quite unfriendly....I didn't see her crack a smile even once with any customer. We did have an issue with the cleaning staff mistakenly picking up a pyjama....we got it back from the laundry person directly (who was friendly), but the front desk person was a snappy at us about it, even though we are the customers. - the room smelled a bit musty. though, this is understandable, as it is in a deep rural area - many of the hotel amenities are no longer there. Eg, the bar/lounge appears to have gone out of business, so going out for a quick drink meant a drive into Parry Sound instead. I also saw evidence (ie, some signs still up), that there had been a mini-golf facility, but it is gone and overgrown now. I am not a squash player, but the squash courts were closed as well. the playground and pool were ok for the kids, though. All the above, though, was overshadowed by the fact that there was no water in the rooms on the 2nd morning of our stay. Apparently, the well had run dry. Because we had pre-paid our room, the only thing the hotel would offer us was free breakfast (not normally included), but we had to move on and take the loss. So, there was no shower or tap water available...fortunately, I had some bottled water in the car, so we still had some water to drink.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Isolated and needs renovations

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Not much, but they had a room when everything else in Parry Sound was booked up and the price was reasonable.
Cons: Lots. It really needs a major reno... teardown/rebuild would be better.
Location: There is literally nothing around for miles except a golf course down the road.
I regret to report that this Quality Inn is showing its age and needs renovations... better yet, tear it down and rebuild... preferably right in Parry Sound and not miles away in the middle of nowhere. The bathroom floor tiles (laid directly on the concrete slab, I think) were constantly wet... yuck. The a/c didn't work and the bed was springy. The parking lot for the rear building where I stayed is gravel and was a bit mucky after it rained. The ice machine was not working (a common complaint judging by other reviews). The "sports bar"closed before 10 pm. on a Saturday night. Really? No comp breakfast. On the plus side, the wi-fi was fast and reliable and the building was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Asher, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and giving us a chance. Although a rebuild in the city is not possible we are taking your requests into consideration.
1 out of 5
by Heather

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels