Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This was booked for an overnight stay on a wine shopping trip, the hotel is situated in a great location in the main square in Calais, but that is the only good thing about it.Check in was a joke, there was no one around when we arrived at 6.30pm and I had to ring the hotel whilst in reception to get someone to arrive at the reception desk. It is badly in need of renovation, the photos are a complete misrepresentation, there is no bar as it was all closed up, the decor throughout was very poor including my room.The handle came off the bathroom door when I went to shut it.The bed linen however was clean, we did not book breakfast so I cannot comment on that, this was more like a hostel than a hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Variable Standards here

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
I have to stay often in Calais and have been to this hotel a few times. Some rooms are quite nice and have new carpet and clean everything. The room I got this time was hopefully the worst in the hotel. It was smelly, heating not working and at 4 degrees outside it needed heat, no electricity so no lights, no recharging phone even. I had to shower in the dark and even the water wasn't very warm. I was glad to fall asleep quickly and leave early. The staff are fine, I was offered a nicer room if I could wait a few hours (which I couldn't). So pot luck with this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

mixed

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: booked 2 rooms, 1 was lovely the other bad so I liked the good room but did not like the bad one
Cons: one of the rooms had no toilet seat, no shower holder and no working lock on bathroom
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for money. Very convenient location.

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for money. Friendly helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

fine for 1 night

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
hotel clean and centrally located with a good choice of restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Needs refurbishment and the photos on hotels.com are not like the room you will get.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Central Calais

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
I hate to gicve this hotel such a good report because the price will go up. This used to be a shoddy hotel and I was reluctant to stay there, but it has changed, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff helpful and the location brilliant. Only the tired lacklustre breakfast let it down a little.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy room and in bad state of maintenance

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: I don't know where to start, everything
The staff is friendly and helpful but the hotel is in terrible condition
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Hotel in the middle of North Calais

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The beds which were a good size and comfortable.
Cons: Reception needs to be refurbished as well as the bathroom in the room- fear of electric shock due to inadequate bedroom fittings needs to be addressed
Location: Forced to park the car on the street and had to move it early in the morning- was worried about the security of the vehicle.
The family (2 adults 2 children) stayed at this hotel on a Sunday night in mid August. The reception appeared to be neglected and the atmosphere there could be described as "uncomfortable". We were given the key for a room on the 2nd floor and were put off by the lack of lighting and lack of fire exit and this was combined with a strong smell of paint. The room gave sufficient space for 4 of us however the bathroom facility was too small with an inadequate shower which splashed water throughout the room. There were a number of tiles missing in the bathroom and some of the bedroom fittings were not flush with the electric sockets. The fire escape outside the room required "improvisation" to get out- the saving grace of the apartment were the beds which were a good size and comfortable.