Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It Works

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
Wasn't crazy about this place. The rooms were kind of dingy and Wi-fi was really poor in my room. Note: I checked in at 10pm and left first thing in the morning so literally I booked this place just to sleep. If you're looking for a similar experience then I recommend it just because it's cheap and it has a bed with pillows. If you're looking for a really nice hotel - this isn't it but it gets the job done. Breakfast was good however. Staff was really nice so no complaints on that front either.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Lancaster

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely spot. Really polite staff. Drinks at the bar slightly pricey. Parking 100m away but overall absolutely great value. Thank you
1 out of 5
by Never Again from Toronto

Complete Failure

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels
I cannot comment on the stay since I never actually stayed in the hotel. Despite confirmation emails from Hotels.com and a listing that showed check-in times from 4 - 11pm, we arrived at the hotel to find the reception closed. No answer to phone calls to the hotel number. So we were left stranded in Calais without a room. After over an hour on the phone with Hotels.com to discover there were no rooms available in the entire city, we had to incur a 280 Euro taxi trip to Lille. To add insult to this, Pacific claims to have sent a further communication (never received) and not only charged my credit card for two rooms for one night but also put through a third charge without any reason to do so and has yet to refund this. Thank you very much!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
No secure parking available as I wanted to leave before 8.0am. After booking in I found that my room was some distance away in another building. There were no staff in this building. It was still very noisy at 3.0am. I would not go there again, nor would I recommend it.
1 out of 5
by Never Again from Canada

Hard to Rate

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels
It is difficult to rate a hotel that you did not stay at. Arrived at the hotel to find reception closed, so my two sons and I were left stranded in Calais without anywhere to stay, this was further exacerbated by the fact that it was some kind of holiday and there were absolutely no vacancies in the entire city. Ended up paying 280 Euros for a taxi to Lille. Listing in Hotels.com shows check in time from 4 - 11pm as did the confirmation notice received. Hotel claims to have sent further communication regarding arrival after 9pm, which I did not receive. So on top of the 280 Euro taxi ride, they also charged me for two rooms that I did not occupy. Not only this, there was a third unauthorised charge charge processed against my credit card representing the cost of one night's stay. Lesson learned: No more staying at second rate hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from germany

hard to find,even with sat nav

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: centrally placed for eating out,and the staff on duty were pleasant
Cons: rooms,cleaniness,renovation
Location: near to town center(walking distance,good for eating out
rooms,noisy and in bad condition,badly in need of renovations,did not have my return reservation even after i presented them with the confirmation from expedia,extra cost for use of multiple garage,no beveridge making facillities,rooms also not very clean
4 out of 5
by Tim Bower from Bristol

Very comfy beds in heart of Calais

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
I was just in Calais for one night and picked this hotel for its very central location and budget price. Although there was plenty of on-street parking nearby I had a car-full of shopping so paid a small extra charge and used one of the hotel's lock-up garages across the street. I stayed in the new part of the hotel (just at the end of the same street) and found my room very clean, with a small en-suite bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Just around the corner from the hotel, on the main street of Calais, is 'Histoire Ancienne' a Michelin Bib Gourmand restaurant in the style of a Parisian cafe and I enjoyed a superb three-course dinner with wine for about the same price as a night in the hotel. Breakfast in the main part of the hotel in the morning was simple but all very fresh. All in all I think the hotel offers very good value for money.
2 out of 5
by Jim from US

Can't really rate the Pacific

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels
I can't really rate the Pacific Hotel because when I got there they had no reservation for me. The woman at the desk was nice but had no information about my arrival and had never seen the booking number. Neither had her boss. They made arrangements for me at a hotel around the corner and down the block which was clean but pretty worn out. The bed was a slab of foam rubber on a steel spring. Short walk to TGV station, market, plenty of restaurants and beach but hard to be enthusiastic when you arrive to find that they have never heard of you or your booking number.
5 out of 5
by Colin S from Cambridge, UK

Close to Calais Ville Train Station

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels
Approx 5 min walk to station, supermarket close by. Breakfast started late from 09-00 but staff opened up for 08-30 on day I had to catch train just after 09-00. Rooms ok for 2 night stay, value 2 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daveyboybutts from Essex

PAY FOR WHAT YOU GET

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Clean and tidy and fairly helpful staff.
Cons: Supply more pillows and maintenance Plumbing ect..
Location: Loads of bars and restuarants and the sea front is only five minute walk away.
Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights during the easter weekend and we were little dissapointed with our stay at the Pacific. The room itself was very basic but clean and comfortable, however we only had two pillows in the room, we requested for more and the reception staff were very helpful and did provide more despite a language problem which was understable as in our case we spoke very little french. On our second night the toilet was blocked and once again we had to contact reception to alleviate the problem, however a member of staff did attend unfortunatley he took a look at the situation while we went out for the night, on our return it was still blocked and in the end we had to use the communal toilet instead. The hotel was advertised in having a bar and pool table in the pictures on expedia, this was not the case as they were not allowed to sell alcahol and there was no sign of the pool table. This review is not all bad as I did state the room was clean and we had balcony to sit out on and the breakfast was pretty good, at the end of the day do not expect 5 star luxury this place is just good enough for a stopover for the night.