Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, UK

Excellent hotel with pretty grounds

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Country estate feel, with quick access to Calais
Cons: Might be just me as I like bars of soap in the bathroom, but all there is, is liquid soap. Not much of a gripe really!
Location: Pretty village, I understand there is golf nearby, but importantly it is close to Calais Eurotunnel
I have stayed here a couple of times, and it is excellent because it is so close to Calais Eurotunnel - about 35-45 minutes - yet it is quiet and secluded and with wonderful gardens and woodland, and set in a small village. It has a good kitchen with good food, an excellent wine list. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff is wonderful, pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Everything!
This is the second time we have stayed in the hotel while we have been en route to the Chunnel. It's a gorgeous hotel with beautiful gardens, really welcoming and friendly staff and lovely bedrooms - the one we stayed in opens out onto the gardens which was great as we had our small dog staying with us. The restaurant is superb with a very high quality menu. I couldn't recommend this hotel more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

An attractive hotel,but needs refurbishment.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The staff and service.
Cons: The bathroom floor.
Location: The location is a small village outside Boulogne,a very impressive looking building,with lovely grounds.This is more of a transit stop rather than so
This was our third visit to the Hotel Clery.We really thought the place was a little care-worn.The bathroom,looks wonderful,spacious,huge mirrors,lovely shower and a super bath,but the floor of the shower is covered with slatted boards which "gave" as you stepped in.Indicating that it needed replacing.The polished tiles on the floor became a positive skating rink when wet.I certainly did not feel safe walking after a shower.A mirror in the bedroom would be helpful,as would a wardrobe in the bedroom instead of near the front door. The evening meal in the restaurant is good but simple,but the breakfast in the morning was inedible.The bacon was grey and mainly fat,the eggs rubbery.For the price they charge not good value at all. I am not sure we will stay there again,although it is a perfect stop off after a long car journey,before we return to the UK.
5 out of 5
by John

Chateau Magic

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely hotel in the French countryside situated in a small village, charming & helpful staff and on this our first visit a complete delight. Our room was a conversion in an outbuilding, fresh, clean & loads of space with it's own little courtyard, table & chairs! If that isn't enough then the restaurant is sublime & the cooking is of the highest order. We hope that not too many people read this review or we will never get to stay here again as the hotel will always be fully booked!
4 out of 5
by robert

Pleasant characterful hotel with pretty gardens

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleasant French old chateau style hotel. Well placed for an Overnight stay en route between Channel Tunnel and La Loire region and places further south
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice chateau fantastic restaurant very reasonable

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice. Stayed in an annexe which could have presented s problem in inclement weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

Excellent hotel in peaceful, secluded surroundings

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Top class staff and a superb restaurant.
Cons: My wife cannot go for more than ten minutes without tea, so tea-making facilities in the room would have been good, but room service was swift.
A well-preserved and beautifully kept chateau in classic style, set in secluded grounds. Enormous, well-furnished room with a bed for BFG. Large bathroom with bath and separate shower, all toiletries and hair dryer. Several wardrobes and bureaux. Well worth a visit as a stopover, but probably not for a prolonged stay as the surrounding area is not so interesting, apart from the coastal towns, Boulogne, Le Touquet, Wimereux at al. We stayed for two days and although it is set in a National Park, the area has little to offer beyond that.
5 out of 5
by hywel from Porthcawl

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
An overnight stay before an early morning channel crossing. Decided to spoil ourselves and booked in three weeks in advance. We were upgraded to a lodge, which was far more spacious than the room in the main house, overlooking the park. There was a €20 charge for our dog which we felt was a bit excessive as we had nothing for it. She slept on her own blanket, ate her own food out of her own bowl and was very clean and quiet. We had a superb dinner with a bottle of white wine and it was a fabulous experience. It was a bit pricey for a one night stay and won't be something we will make a habit out of, but it was a lovely end to our holiday.
5 out of 5
by william

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by John from Bawtry

Worth a visit

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and efficient staff Good 48 Euromenu and breakfast