Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Beautiful surroundings and good facilities

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: food and drink prices
Location: Excellent location for Euro tunnel, but not sure what else there is to do in the area
Stayed here twice, booked as a stop over to and from Germany (via Euro tunnel) There is a very good, but slightly expensive restaurant on site, but as there are no other restaurants close by, we were happy to eat there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Avoid the restaurant!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The room in the hotel was fine but no safe or tea making facilities.
Cons: More staff needed
Location: Good location as near motorway and pretty grounds but odd sculptures. We were en route to elsewhere in France so did not explore the area itself.
We recently stayed at this hotel and were very disappointed with the restaurant - both the food and the service given the cost of the meal and it prodigy itself on being a superior restaurant. first when we asked if we could order an aperitif we were told not yet as she was busy!, the glass of wine I was eventually bought, I was not offered a choice, was off and we had to aks for it to be changed, our red wine was just opened at the table and left and we were not asked to taste it, when the amuse bouche arrived we asked what it was and as it was shellfish I wasn't able to eat it as I am allergic but they didn't offer anything else or apologise, the bread was stale, and the food when it did arrive was not that good and over fussy. We didn't bother to order a dessert as it was clear that would like take ages as well. very disappointing experience.
4 out of 5
by Philip

Beautiful hotel with a great restaurant

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great location when travelling to France. Good quality rooms, excellent restaurant. Live music in the bar every month
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Ebookers
The member of staff on reception was very kind and helpful. He helped with anything we needed such as an adapter and kettle for the room, and also gave us some very helpful information on events in the hotel as well as the local town. Lovely chateau, have visited before and will go back again. Very nice food in the restaurant. Pretty garden.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - slow dinner.

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Elegant bar area for pre dinner drink. Only issue was speed of service at dinner. Despite having pre booked our meal for 19.30, we were asked at check in to delay our meal to 20:00 - we should have delayed it further as the food was very slow to appear from the kitchen, probably due to a large group eating earlier. The meal was good, though, when it did appear. We did not bother with breakfast (we were still full from a late dinner!) and did not think it was good value at 16 euro each. The heated swimming pool was functional and nice and clean - (but not 'luxury spa' quality), The whole pool area was a bit chilly in November. The pool is more easily accessed from the rooms in the annex than the main hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal situation

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
We picked this hotel by chance, and were very pleased we did. Nice welcome , lovely room, but please remove the cats !! Food good, but we noticed people were asked for their choice of menu, and served before we were, not good, as we were tired and ready to eat. Breakfast very good, everything you could want, different staff, who were very attentive. We asked directions to Dunkirk, and a few minutes later received a print out complete with map, service with a smile
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful building with excellent restaurant. Good swimming pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Southport

Lovely hotel near to channel tunnel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Very quiet and comfortable. Enjoyed the restaurant
Cons: Get rid of the statue of a giant spider on the lawn
Location: Somewhat isolated which was great if you wanted peace and quiet in the countryside. Apart from walking locally you will need a car
Check in was very smooth, quick and effecient with very friendly staff. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Good facilities and a quiet loation
5 out of 5
by Fred

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Wakefield

Superb hotel near to St Omer

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Our first stay here and it certainly won't be our last. A beautiful chateau hotel with excellent facilities. Food in the restaurant was superb as was the service from the staff. Very friendly and helpful who made us feel especially welcome. Highly recommended.