Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pasadena

Clean rooms and friendly staff

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Freeway traffic a little loud at times
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you were satisfied with your stay.
3 out of 5
by Michael

NOT RESTFUL

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
my room was located across the hallway from the first floor ice machine. this machine is very loud when ice falls into the basin. also very loud when other patrons were using the machine to gather their ice at 5am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Mimi, Hotel Management
Hi Michael, We truly do apologize to you for the inconveniences of your stay here with us at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pasadena North. Please do come again so that we can make sure you will be in a nice quiet room away from any unhappiness. Best regards, Mimi Brewer
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Mimi, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a rating! We do look forward to seeing you again in your future travels!! Best regards, Mimi Brewer
1 out of 5
by None from Pasadena texas

Downhill

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at this hotel before and it was awesome but this time was ultimately dissatisfying stains on the furniture in the lobby a hole in the ceiling and we found a huge roach in our room when i said something we were accused of bringing it with us......seriously will not be staying here again and will not be recommending this to anyone as someone who travels for a living i am disgusted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Mimi, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing, I am saddened that you did not have the greatest stay. Best regards, Mimi Brewer
5 out of 5
by Micki

Night before cruise

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
was a quick stay but was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Mimi, Hotel Management
Micki, Thank you for letting us know that even if you have a short visit we are doing a good job! Please do come and see us again!! Safe travels. Best regards, Mimi Brewer
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing place! Nice staff and nice room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by Mimi, Hotel Management
We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how you feel!! We want all of our guest to know that we practice the HER FOR YOU motto in everything we do!! Please come back to see us again during your next travels in our area!! Best regards, Mimi Brewer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
Walls are too thin. You are able to hear the next guess talk on the phone & watch TV
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Mimi Brewer, Hotel Management
I truly do apologize for the inconveniences of the loudness through the walls. And I do hope you will give us another opportunity and come see us in the future. Best regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crap

Posted May 20, 2017
Dirty man camp ok if you wear coveralls and oily boots
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Mimi, Hotel Management
I do have a large amount of very hard workers who choose to stay with us, and we do enjoy making them feel like they are home away from home. I truly apologize that you were uncomfortable here as we are Here For You ! Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
My stay was good. Bathroom was a bit small but overall my stay was good. Hotel is right I front of the highway so it was easy to get in and out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Mimi, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, and hope to see you again in the near future!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mishawaka, Indiana

Never again will we stay at this hotel!

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location would have been good. Nothing else.
Cons: I think if you look at my experience you will find several things needing improvement.
We checked in on 4/1/17 around midnight. We're told that the elevator is not working and our room is on the 3rd floor. The clerk told us it should be fixed in the morning. So we lugged our luggage up two flights of stairs. We get in the room and find old bath items left by the previous guests. We tried to get some rest but the refrigerator was not working quietly at all and was moaning the whole night. if it hadn't been for the fact that we had items needing to be cold we would have unplugged it. So needless to say there was not much rest for us. Sunday morning we ran some errands that morning and went to breakfast. Around Noon I went in and talked with the clerk (no manager available) to see if the elevator was fixed and was told would not be fixed to, at the earliest, Monday. I explained about the refrigerator being loud and keeping us up along with the dirty towels and such in the bathroom when we checked in and got no response. I don't expect perfection but there was no way that I was going to traipse up and down 3 flights of stairs, get no rest and have a lack of cleaning in the room for my family on our vacation. I went to a different LaQuinta and talked to them about the problem and got checked in with a room for the remainder of out stay in Texas. Lastly, they wouldn't refund me for the early check out so at this point I have paid for two hotels for 4 of the 5 days of our trip. Also frustrated at Orbitz for their inability to make it right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Mimi Brewer, Hotel Management
Hi Mr. Eric, I truly do apologize for inconvenience of our elevator not working during yours and your family's stay here with us. And I am sorry that you felt we were not refunding you. I absolutely made sure to get your monies back to you upon my findings that you didn't stay due to elevator.I made an exceptions for anyone staying that decided to go elsewhere due to the elevator being out of order Please forgive us and give us another opportunity to be Here For You on your next trip to our city!!